United States Decennial Censuses
United States Decennial Censuses General Research Guide:
Census of Population, Census of Housing
(April 2004)
|
Nobody's an expert on the decennial Census, not even those of us who work for the Census Bureau. The data collection effort is too massive, the methodology too complex, and the publication output too voluminous for any individual to understand every aspect.
Quoted in Levin, Understanding the Census, emphasis mine |
Decennial censuses are those issued every ten years by the US federal government's Census Bureau that more currently cover population and housing statistics. While these censuses originally included various censuses of agriculture, economics, etc., this research guide provides a general overview focusing on those decennial censuses for population and housing. Please contact the Government Documents and Microforms Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library, call 662-325-0008, or contact Christine Fletcher at cfletcher@library.msstate.edu for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions. Note that this guide covers only those statistical volumes released after census data has been compiled. This guide does not cover those older documents that list census participants by name, which are commonly used for tracking family histories. Such documents are released by the National Archives and Records Administration and are kept in MSU Libraries Special Collections Department.
A census is simply a count of a population of a country as of a specified date. The U.S. decennial census was established in 1790 as part of a constitutional mandate to periodically reapportion state representation in the House of Representatives based on state population, and thus the United States was the first country to institute a periodic census. The decennial census proved to be an efficient mechanism for apportionment and reapportionment of political power as more states were incorporated into the union. State and local governments also began to rely on the census to determine their own legislative representation and districting. Many questions on the decennial census are mandated by federal law, and questions will change over time to reflect changes in data needs and national interests. For example, more current census questionnaires no longer ask about household use of electric lights and television ownership, but they do ask about foster children and stepchildren, the presence of solar heat in the home, and most recently, about grandparents as primary caregivers of children. More than just a head count, the decennial census provides us with a decennial snapshot of demographic, social and economic characteristics.
Guides to the Decennial Census |
- Anderson, Margo J., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2000.
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Contains a glossary of terms as part of its appendices (pages 406-410). In addition, various articles in the encyclopedia discuss prominent terms and concepts at length. A detailed index provides listings of terms and concepts discussed as part of or within larger articles. Presents facsimiles of questionnaires from the 2000 census in the section titled "Census 2000 Questionnaires: Short and Long Forms," pages 389-399, including three representative pages from the short form and all pages of the informational copy of the long form.
- Glossary
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/en/epss/glossary_a.html
-
A glossary of terms used in and related to census products. Features an alphabetical index for quick retrieval. Includes links to related terms where relevant
- U.S. Census Bureau Subjects Index
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS677
-
Informative web pages for many concepts can be found in the Subject Index to the Census Bureau web site, and these web pages go beyond simple definitions to provide links to related information or data. For example, searching under M for Metropolitan Statistics Areas brings up a web page with a definition plus links to lists of MS's and maps of MSA's.
Brief glossaries of terms can be found in the appendices of all census reports.
See also Guides to Individual Decennial Censuses.
Histories and General Overviews of the Census |
- Anderson, Margo J. The American Census: A Social History. New Have: Yale UP, 1988
HA 37.U55 A53 1988 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
Anderson's social history explores the influence the decennial census has had on U.S. politics and policymaking as well as the conflicts arising from potential influences from special interest groups outside the Census Bureau. Useful for an overview of issues surrounding previous decennial censuses through the 1980 census. Includes an Appendix listing census cost and population data and apportionment from 1790-1980.
- Anderson, Margo J., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2000.
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. HA 37.U55 C66 2000 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
A core reference work covering both the decennial U.S. census and the various five-year censuses, the one-volume encyclopedia includes articles on concepts, politics, history, methods, public policy, controversies and sensitive issues. Each article is accompanied by a bibliography. An excellent resource for both introductory and more in-depth information.
- Decennial Census: Overview of Historical Census Issues. Washington, D.C.: General Accounting Office: GPO, 1998.
GA 1.13:GGD-98-103 Gov Docs Microfiche, 2nd Floor
ASI 99 26119-710 Microforms, 2nd Floor
http://www.gao.gov/archive/1998/gg98103.pdf
-
"The purpose of this report is to furnish context, background, and a historical perspective for Members of Congress, their staffs, and others interested in the debate on policy and operational questions related to the 2000 Census. It is organized by general decennial census concepts and discusses critical issues that emerged during decennial censuses as far back as the first one on 1790." --preface
- Eckler, A. Ross. The Bureau of the Census. New York: Praeger, 1972.
HA37.U55 E25 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
This general history by a former Director of the Bureau focuses on the Bureau's place as part of the total federal statistical system. Chapters cover history of research and development; bureau administration and organization; and the bureau's relations with congress, the public, and the international community.
- The Story of the Census. 1790-1915. Washington, D.C., GPO, 1915.
HA 37.U4 1915 Circulating Collection, 2nd Floor
-
A brief early history of the decennial census, this book's best feature is the clear indication in the margins noting when particular statistics were first tabulated in the first thirteen decennial censuses. Includes photos of early tabulating machines.
- Uncle Sam: How He Grew. 150 Years of American History as Recorded in the U.S. Census. Washington, D.C., GPO, 1943.
HA37 .U2 1943D Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
An interesting publicity piece published in 1943, this brief monograph depicts how the U.S. census shows trends for the first 150 years of U.S. history, including trends in population, farming, and manufacturing. The first chapter describes how the census helped the U.S. government during World War II.
-
- Anderson, Margo J. and Stephen E. Fienberg. Who Counts? The Politics of Census-Taking in Contemporary America. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1999.
HA 179.A53 1999 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
Gives a history of issues involving the undercount (numbers and percentages of populations left out of a census count due to various factors). Various methodologies for correcting the undercount are discussed, with a focus on the 1990 Census and the upcoming 2000 Census.
- Perlmann, Joel and Mary C. Waters, eds. The New Race Question: How the Census Counts Multiracial Individuals. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 2002.
E 184.A1 M568 2002 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
Essays in this volume provide an overview of the political, legal and social issues surrounding and resulting from the 2000 Census multiracial count.
-
|
Bibliographies and Catalogs |
-
- Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972.Washington: U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Social and Economic Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census, GPO, 1974.
Ref. HA Z1223 .C39CAT 1790-1972 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
1945 and the catalog of publications 1946-1972. The first catalog is comprised of two parts. Part I covers decennial census publications; Part II covers the non-decennial censuses of agriculture, business, government, industry and religious bodies. The second catalog is organized by general topic and lists not only the various decennial and non-decennial censuses but also the more important intercensal surveys, such as Current Population Reports. A core bibliography for historical census research.
- Census and You. Washington, D.C.: The Bureau, G.P.O., 1988- . (published monthly)
C 3.238: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI (year) 2302-3, ASI has 1988-present. Microforms, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1679
-
"The Census Bureau's monthly newsletter with articles summarizing newly issued findings reports and data files. It also discusses new software, data collection efforts being planned, and sources of assistance for data users. The principal emphasis is on demographic, social, housing, and economic data for states and smaller areas. It also publishes key economic indicators (such as housing stats, retail sales, and the Consumer Price Index)." (from the website) Beginning in 1988, this periodical is useful for tracking publications for the 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses.
This publication is preceded by:
Data User News. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975-1988. (published monthly)
ASI (year) 2302-3, ASI has 1975-1987. Microforms, 2nd Floor
Supplement to Data User News: ASI (year) 2302-3. Microforms, 2nd Floor
-
- This periodical is useful for tracking later publications for the 1970 decennial census and publications for the 1980 decennial census.
- Census Catalog and Guide. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, GPO, 1985- . (published annually)
Ready Ref. C 3.163/3: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ref. HA Z7554.U5 U32 Reference, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS3138
-
"Describes data products issued by the Census Bureau. This report also describes programs and services. In addition, it provides abstracts of the publications, maps, CD-ROMs, computer tapes, diskettes, and items online. The abstracts include the data time, the geographic scope, and the subject content, along with ordering information. The report also provides guide features, such as a telephone contact list for data specialists at the Census Bureau, the State Data Centers, and other data processing service centers, as well as a list of Federal and census depository libraries. Other guide features include an overview, detailed subject and title indexes, descriptions of key Federal reports, and special charts--for example, a guide to topics from the Current Population Survey data files." (from the website) This publication existed from 1985 through 1998 and as such serves best as a source for information on publications related to the 1990 decennial census and later publications relating to the 1980 decennial census.
This publication is preceded by:
Bureau of the Census Catalog. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, G.P.O., [1964?-1984].
Ref. HA Z7554.U5 U32 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
- MSU Libraries has scattered holdings for the 1970s and 1980s, making this periodical useful for information on later publications related to the 1970 decennial census and publications related to the 1980 decennial census.
- Census Product Update: Current and Future Data Releases from the U.S. Census Bureau.
http://www.census.gov/mp/www/cpu/
-
A biweekly newsletter from the Census Bureau with timely information on recently released and key upcoming data products. Includes an archive of past issues back to 2001. A source for information on publications related to the 2000 decennial census.
This publication is preceded by:
Monthly Product Announcements. Washington, D.C.: The Bureau, 1981-
C 3.163/7: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/mp/www/mpa.html
-
- The website has archives back to 1997.
- Lunt, Edward Clark. Key to the Publications of the United States Census, 1790-1887. New York: Arno Press, 1976.
Ref. HA Z 7165.U5 L85 1976 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Provides a bibliography of decennial census volumes through the 1880 census. Also includes an index of general subject areas with detailed lists of tables from the census volumes. A very useful volume for subject access to statistics in the early U.S. census.
Back To Top
Guides to Individual Decennial Censuses |
- Bohme, Frederick G.200 Years of U.S. Census Taking: Population and Housing Questions, 1790-1990. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1989.
C 3.2:T 93 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
Presents facsimiles of blank schedules and questionnaires used for households for each decennial census. Its introductory chapter features a brief history of the census as well as U.S. maps for each census from 1790-1900 showing the expansion of census geography.
- Factfinder for the Nation. Washington: Bureau of the Census, 1976- .
C 3.252: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor: MSU Libraries has scattered holdings for the 1990s.
ASI (year) 2326-7 Microforms: ASI has 1976 to 2001.
-
Continuing series of pamphlets providing an overview of coverage, availability, and suggested uses of data collected by the Census Bureau in its censuses of population and housing, the economic censuses, and ongoing surveys. Each pamphlet focuses on a single topic, with subject overview, methodology, data coverage and classification, list of census and survey reports, and data availability; and overview of data use assistance available from the Census Bureau and State data centers.
- Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 2002.
C 3.2:M 46/2 (revised version) Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS19359 (original version)
http://www.census.gov/prod/2002pubs/pol02marv-pt1.pdf (revised version)
-
Facsimiles of decennial census questionnaires with instructions for enumerators for older censuses (prior to mass mailings). Includes brief histories of the individual censuses.
Helpful information can also be found in the introductory material and detailed list of tables at the beginning of each census volume as well as in appendices or appendices volumes accompanying the various sets of census reports.
- Census 2000 Basics . Washington, D.C, Bureau of the Census, 2002.
C 3.2:B 29/2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/mso/www/c2000basics/00Basics.pdf
-
Provides a general introduction to Census 2000 including a listing of 98% and sample characteristics, a glossary of geographic areas and a list of data products.
- Selected Appendices: 2000, Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 2003.
C 3.223/23-3:2000 PHC-2-A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
In prior decennial censuses, these subject appendices (Appendices A-H) were included with the statistical tables. For Census 2000, they are compiled into this single volume. The appendices cover the following areas: geographic terms and concepts, definitions of subject characteristics, data collection and processing procedures, questionnaires, list of data products. The following appendices are still included with the statistical tables, and researchers should consult those reports: maps and information on accuracy and confidentiality (Appendices F and G).
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. 1990 Census Questionnaires and Other Public-Use Forms. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1993.
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-5 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"This report provides facsimiles of the questionnaires and other 'public use' forms used for the 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Along with the facsimiles is a brief description of the use of the form in the census and production information such as number of forms printed and schedule dates . . . All of the stateside public-use forms are illustrated in this report." -- introduction
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Guide. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: G.P.O., [1992- .]
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R 1 A/GUIDE Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R 1 B/GUIDE Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
Part A. Text provides information on procedures, geography and data products. This volume also covers questions asked and includes facsimiles of the 1990 Long-Form questionnaire. Part B. Glossary "is divided into four sections containing definitions and explanations of geographic area classifications, population characteristics, housing characteristics, and other technical terms associated with the census and its data products." - introduction. Also includes facsimiles of the Long-Form questionnaire.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. History. [Washington, DC] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: GPO, [1993- .]
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 C Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:1990 CPH-R-2 D Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"This report describes in detail most aspects of the 1990 census, from its early stages of research and planning through the tabulation, publication, and dissemination of the final results . . . this report discusses, where appropriate, some of the forces--litigation, legislation, perceived user needs, public perception, budgetary constraints, and the like--that shaped the 1990 census and its outcome." - preface Parts A, C and D contain facsimiles of questionnaires.
- A Guide to State and Local Census Geography. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1993
C 3.6/2:G 29/3 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ref. HA201 1990 .A355X 1993 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
"'Census geography' refers to all the geographic entities used by the Census Bureau in its data collection and tabulation operations, including their designations, definitions, purpose, and relationships to one another . . . Some of these geographic entities are legally defined, while others are established specifically for statistical purposes . . . The individual State texts describe how these entities relate to each state. The level of information provided for area varies by profile and reports specific idiosyncrasies that exist for a State." -- introduction
- Lavin, Michael R. Understanding the Census: A Guide for Marketers, Planners, Grant Writers and Other Data Users. Kenmore: Epoch Books, 1996
Ref. HA 201 1990ar Reference, 2nd Floor
-
"The purpose of this book is threefold: to explain Census concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources in an understandable manner; to assist Census users in locating needed Census data; and to impress upon readers how easy it is to use inappropriate figures, or to interpret appropriate numbers incorrectly . . . [the book] assumes no prior knowledge on the part of its readers . . . this is a guide to the 1990 Census . . ." - preface. Includes a bibliography of resources for further reading.
- Lavin, Michael R., Jane Weintrop, Cynthia Cornelius. Subject Index to the 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Kenmore: Epoch Books, 1997.
Ready Ref. HA201 1990.F3x 1997 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
A detailed subject guide to the major print series and CD ROM publications of the 1990 U.S. Census. The composite subject index to the table finding guides of the print volumes covers the following series: CP 1 thru 3, CH 1 thru 4, CPH 1 thru 6, and the supplementary reports (CP-S, CH-S, CPH-S) of all three series. The CD ROM subject index covers STF 1, 98% data from the Short-Form, and STF 3, sample data from the Long-Form. Includes the "Glossary of Commonly Misunderstood Census Terms."
- 1980 Census of Population and Housing: History. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1986- .
Part A: ASI 1986 2555-2.1 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Part B: ASI 1987 2555-2.2 Microforms, 2nd Floor
-
- C 3.223/22:80-R-2B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Part C: ASI 1987 2555-2.3 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Part D: ASI 1989 2555-2.4 Microforms, 2nd Floor
-
- C 3.223/22:80-R-2D Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Part E: ASI 1989 2555-2.5 Microforms, 2nd Floor
-
- C 3.223/22:80-R-2E Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"This report describes in detail most aspects of the 1980 census, from its early stages of research and planning through the tabulation, publication, and dissemination of the final results." - preface. Parts B and E contain facsimiles of promotional materials and of blank schedules and questionnaires.
- Allard, Patsy Bailey. Making Sense of Census '80: A Marketer's Guide. New York: AMA Membership Publications Division, American Management Associations, 1983.
HA 201 1980M Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
This brief book covers how to use demographic data from the 1980 decennial census for marketing analysis. Its most useful feature is its appendix of subject lists for all Summary Tape Files.
- Kaplan, Charles P. and Thomas L. Van Valey. Census '80: Continuing the Factfinder Tradition. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census GPO,1980.
HA 210 1980 K36 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
Published on the eve of the 1980 decennial census, Parts I and II of this guide provide a general overview of the decennial census and current methodology and concepts. The authors note how these methods and concepts will be used in the 1980 census. Part III focuses on the 1980 census itself covering planning, data collection and tabulation, and the products and services that will be available for the 1980 census. Part IV discusses uses for census data, especially in relation to data that will be available from the 1980 census. Changes in the data collected in the 1980 census (as opposed to earlier decennial censuses) are noted in the text. Chapters on data usage include the following areas: urban and rural planning, business, geography, and social demography. Appendices include a guide to reading statistical tables as they appear in printed volumes of 1980 census data and facsimiles of the 1980 census questionnaires (short and long forms). Appendix A will be useful to researchers who wish to compare census data over decades. The appendix features checklists tracking population and housing items counted in each decennial census back to 1790.
- User's Guide: 1980 Census of Population and Housing . [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: G.P.O., 1982-1983.
C 3.223/22:80-R1-A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R1-B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.223/22:80-R1-C Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
Part A. Text provides information on procedures, geography, data products and data limitations. This volume also covers questions asked and includes facsimiles of the 1980 Long-Form questionnaire. Part B. Glossary "provides a comprehensive, cross-referenced listing of the definitions of population, housing, geography, and technical terms associated with the 1980 Census of Population and Housing." - introduction. Also includes facsimiles of the Long-Form questionnaire. Part C Index to Summary Tape Files 1 to 4 "shows you what data are available from the 1980 census in four series of computer tapes -- these files present data for States, SMSA's, counties, places, census tracts, and other small areas." - introduction.
- 1970 Census User's Guide. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1970.
Part I: ASI 1973 2308-8 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Part 2: C 3.6/2:C 33/2/970-2/PT.2 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
ASI 1973 2308-9 Microforms, 2nd Floor
Guide to data collection procedures, and uses and content of data. Topics include 1970 census products and services, user education tools, data delivery facilities, dimensions and uses of census data, concept definitions for geographic areas, population and housing characteristics, comparative information on printed reports and summary tapes. Includes a glossary of technical terms and abbreviations.
- Langham, Charles G. and Carol F. Donnelly. 1970 Census of Population and Housing: Data-Collection Forms and Procedures.Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1971.
C 3.223:F76/970 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"The principal enumeration forms used in the 1970 Census of Population and Housing are presented here, together with a brief description of the census field procedures. Only data-collection forms and procedures used in the main census enumeration are included in this report." -- preface
- Reference Manual on Population and Housing Statistics from the Census Bureau. Washington, D.C., The Bureau: GPO, 1977.
Ref. HA37.U55 Z44 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
"This Reference Manual is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to 'demographic' data from the Census Bureau, or more specifically, data about the population of the U.S. and their housing. The purpose of this manual is to provide an appropriate and up-to-date starting point for the new or prospective user, and a handy reference for the experienced data user. It presents those facts or principles most relevant to understanding the 1970 census and related data from current programs, being able to find desired data, and appreciating the definitions and limitations of those data." --preface
- Censuses of Population and Housing, 1960: Procedural History. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1966.
Ref.HA201 1960 .A55 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- "This is a comprehensive procedural report on the methodology of the 1960 Censuses of Population and Housing of the United States. It covers procedures from the early stages of planning and pre-testing through the tabulation and publication of final reports." --preface
- United States Censuses of Population and Housing, 1960: Principal Data-Collection Forms and Procedures. Washington, D.C.: GPO.
C 3.223:F 76 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"The principal enumeration forms used in the 1960 Censuses of Population and Housing are presented here together with a brief description of the census field procedures. Only data-collection forms and procedures used in the 50 states and the District of Columbia are included in this report." --preface.
- Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000
C 3.2:M 46/2 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"A reference guide for this decennial census is not available. Researchers should consult the introductions and appendices of the population and housing reports for this census..
- Jenkins, Robert M. Procedural History of the 1940 Census of Population and Housing. Madison: U. of Wisconsin P., 1985.
HA 201 1940 Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
-
"Illuminates the census data by explaining the design of the questionnaire, the rationale of the questions asked, and the procedures for administering the census. The result is an essential companion piece to the 1940 census and a practical research tool for demographers, historians, economists, political scientists, and statisticians." -- front matter
Procedural guides for individual decennial censuses were not produced prior to 1940. The following works may be helpful in using pre-1940 census volumes:
- Bohme, Frederick G. 200 Years of U.S. Census Taking: Population and Housing Questions, 1790-1990. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1989.
C 3.2:T 93 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
Presents facsimiles of blank schedules and questionnaires used for households for each decennial census. Its introductory chapter features a brief history of the census as well as U.S. maps for each census from 1790-1900 showing the expansion of census geography.
- Lunt, Edward Clark. Key to the Publications of the United States Census, 1790-1887. New York: Arno Press, 1976.
Ref. HA Z 7165.U5 L85 1976 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Provides a bibliography of decennial census volumes through the 1880 census. Also includes an index of general subject areas with detailed lists of tables from the census volumes. A very useful volume for subject access to statistics in the early U.S. census.
- Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 2002.
C 3.2:M 46/2 (revised version) Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS19359 (original version)
http://www.census.gov/prod/2002pubs/pol02marv-pt1.pdf (revised version)
-
Facsimiles of decennial census questionnaires with instructions for enumerators for older censuses (prior to mass mailings). Includes brief histories of the individual censuses.
- Shulz, Suzanne. Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes. Pheonix: Oryx Press, 1983.
Ref. HA Z 7164.D3 S44 1983 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Contains a summary of subjects of census inquiries from 1790 thru 1890. Also lists states and territories as they appear in the 1790 thru 1890 censuses and lists Serial Set volumes which include census data.
- Thorndale, William and William Dollarhide. Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920. Baltimore, Genealogical Publishing, 1987.
Ref. G 1201.F7 T5 1987 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Shows county outline maps at ten-year intervals with old county boundaries superimposed over modern boundary lines. The guide also contains background information on the censuses.
- Topical Index of Population Census Reports, 1900-1930. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1934.
Ref. HA201 1930 .Z2 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
-
Topical index of volumes of the regular census reports on population from 1900 thru 1930. Coverage includes data at the national, state, metropolitan area and county levels.
See also Histories and General Overviews of the Decennial Census
Back To Top
Decennial Census on The World Wide Web |
- Census 2000 Gateway
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS31412
-
The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to its 2000 decennial census web resources. Includes the American Factfinder database of 2000 census data and includes links to data from all four Summary Files. Highlights of the gateway include State & County QuickFacts, a database of summaries of the most requested data for states and counties; a database for retrieving Census 2000 data by entering a street address; Census 2000 Briefs and Special Reports which provide informative statistics on particular subjects and demographic groups; and Census 2000 volumes in PDF format, which is currently comprised of the Geographic Area Series for the Census of Population and Housing (PHC).
- United States Census 2000: PUBLICATIONS LIBRARY: Census 2000
http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html
-
Direct link to the Census Bureau's online library of Census 2000 volumes in PDF format, which mirrors those volumes currently available in print format. Currently, only the Census of Population and Housing (PHC) Geographic Area Series are available. The following Census Bureau web page also provides access to Census 2000 volumes in PDF format: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS24037
- CENSUS '90
http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen1990.html
-
The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to its 1990 decennial census web resources. Includes the American Factfinder database of 1990 census data, which is primarily made up of Summary File 1 (98%) and Summary File 3 (sample data) data. Drop-down menus include bulletins of small data sets from the 1990 census and the "We the Americans" reports on various demographic groups. Other major areas of the web site include links to 1990 census data on congressional apportionment, resources for selected topics from the 1990 census and PDF files of previously published 1990 census volumes (all of the CP, CH and CPH series).
- CENSUS '90: PUBLICATIONS LIBRARY: 1990 Decennial Census
http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/90pubs/decenial.html
-
Direct link to the Census Bureau's online library of 1990 census volumes in PDF format. Previously published in print, these volumes cover the majority of data released for the three decennial censuses (Census of Population, Census of Housing and Census of Population and Housing), including the Geographic Area Series for the fifty states and U.S. territories. The site includes all reports, including subject reports, for the CP, CH and CPH series. An excellent resource for finding census statistics at the national, state, county, and city levels. The following Census Bureau web page also provides access to 1990 census volumes in PDF format: http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/decenial.html
- Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/
-
Compiled by the University of Virginia Library Geostat Center, this web site provides access to data from the 1790 through 1960 decennial censuses. "The original source of each decade's data is the decennial census conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The electronic data collection presented here was compiled by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). The available data differ somewhat from decade to decade, according to what was collected in the census and the items chosen for transcription to electronic form. For the early decades, most of the enumerated items are included. For later decades, only a portion of characteristics have been transcribed. No information is available below the county level, and only states are included (no information on western territories before statehood, or for the District of Columbia). In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. This site allows users to browse the data files for each decade and choose from the lists of variables. Users can produce lists of data by state or county that can be sorted, calculate proportions, or graph any of the variables. The site is not intended as a tool for downloading data for further research or more involved manipulation." --the web site. Includes links to methodology and the codebook for the data sets.
- Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html
-
Presents various sets of decennial census data from as early as 1790. The content of each data set varies with some sets comprised of national level data only while others present data at the county and place level. The majority of the data sets allow for comparisons across varying ranges of decades. Most documents are in PDF format.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2878 , 1995-present
-
Population tables contain comparative population data at the national level for varying ranges of decades, with some tables going back to the 1800's and even back to 1790. Users should choose a particular year to browse then select Section I Population.
See also CD/DVD-ROM Decennial Census Products at MSU Libraries
Back To Top
Statistical Compilations That Use Decennial Census Data |
- County and City Data Book. Washington, D.C., Census Bureau: GPO. Published about every five years.
C 3.134/2:C 83/2/ 1947-present, noncirculating Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS29932
- Includes social and economic data for states, counties, cities, and census regions and divisions.
- Hobbs, Frank and Nicole Stoops. Demographic Trends in the 20th Century. U.S. Census Bureau Census 2000 Special Reports 4. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 2002.
C 3.2:D 39/3 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
This report highlights the broad demographic trends of the 20th century. Consolidating information from the decennial censuses from 1900 to 2000, the report includes only those subject areas covered by the census on a 100 percent basis (data from those census questionnaires given to the entire population).
- Dodd, Donald B. Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of The Census, 1790-1990. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Ref. Ha214.D63 1993 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
A compilation of state-level general population, agriculture and manufacturing data from 1790-1990. Also traces the population of the largest cities in 1990 form 1790-1990. Includes a glossary of terms and the Census Bureau's analysis of the compatibility of such a wide range of data. The book's purpose is to fill in the gap in historical statistics between Historical Statistics of The United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1975) and the county-level data compiled by the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
- Forstall, Ruchard L., editor. Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990. Washington, DC: Springfield, Va.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Population Division; Reproduced by N.T.I.S., 1996.
C 3.2:P 81/26 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
-
"This publication provides the population of States and their counties according to the twenty-one U.S. decennial censuses conducted from 1790-1990 . . . Part I provides and introduction and explanation of the information contained in the report. Part II is a single table giving the populations of States, for the censuses taken since they were established as Territories or States . . . Part III consists of tables for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia, with populations for counties or equivalent areas at each census . . . Following the population tables, Part IV gives for each State the date of the first census for each county, the date of the census since which the county has not had any significant alterations in boundaries, and the Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code for the county." -- introduction
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970, Bicentennial Edition. Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1975.
Ready Ref. HA202.A385 1975 Pts. 1 and 2 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
See also the same work distributed by Kraus International, 1989.
Ref HA 202.H57 1989 Pts. 1 and 2 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
A core reference work for U.S. historical statistics, these two volumes present statistics from 1610-1970 covering a wide variety of topics including population, vital statistics, labor, income, housing, etc.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Washington, D.C.: GPO. Published about every five years.
Ref. HA202.U5724 Reference, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/smadb.html
-
As a supplement to the Statistical Abstract (see below), this publication includes social and economic data at the state and metropolitan area levels, including metropolitan counties.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, D.C., Census Bureau: GPO. Annual.
C 3.134: print, 1890 - present, noncirculating Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.134/7: CD-ROM, 1993-2001 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2878 , 1995-present
-
Statistical Abstract is an excellent starting point when looking for any U.S. statistic, current or historical. Most of the data presented is at the national level, though some tables do include state level data. Data include tables on population, education, employment, income, housing, and other subjects covering the wide range of government agencies. Each table cites the source of the data to enable users to locate the entire source survey or publication for further research. Older volumes provide a detailed resource for historical statistics, including historical census statistics in the population data sections. Users should note that the date on the cover of each volume is the year in which that volume is published, and so that volume will only include data through the previous year. For example, to find data for the year 2001, users should browse volumes dated/published in 2002 or later.
-
CD-ROM: Contains all content available in the print version plus some additional content such as extra tables or maps. The discs are designed for ease of use. While software specifics change over time, users should have Adobe Acrobat for viewing PDF files and Excel or Lotus for downloading data in spreadsheet format.
- USA Counties. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1992- . Published biannually.
C 3.134/6: (1992-1998, CD-ROM) Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
- Martis, Kenneth C and Gregory A. Elmes. The Historical Atlas of State Power in Congress, 1790-1990. Washington D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1993.
Ref. G1201.F7 M3 1993 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Presents maps of apportionment changes in the U.S. House of Representatives for all states and regions from 1790-1990 as determined by the decennial census. The book also features tabular representations of apportionment data.
- Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity. Census 2000 Special Reports, CENSR/01-1. Washington, D.C., Census Bureau: GPO, 2001.
C 3.2:M 32 (print) Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
C 3.2:M 32/2002 CD (CD-ROM) Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
http://www.census.gov/population/www/cen2000/atlas.html
-
Map depictions of changes in race comparing 1990 and 2000 census data, taking into account race/ethnicity reporting on the 2000 Census (the first census in which participants could indicate more than one race). Maps are at the county level with smaller state level maps on each page. The CD-ROM (mini CD) version contains the same content as the print document.
- Mattson, Mark T. Atlas of the 1990 Census. New York: Macmillan, 1992.
Ref. G 1201.E2 M3 1992 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Provides a graphic representation of data from the 100-percent questions (short-form questions asked of everyone, SF-1A) of the 1990 Census. Includes data on population, households, housing, race and ethnicity, economics and education.
- Portfolio of United States Census Maps, 1950. Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Census: GPO, 1953.
Ref. G1201.E2 U45 1953 Reference, 2nd Floor
-
Depicts various population characteristics and agricultural data from the 1950 Census at the national level. Population data includes change in population, centers of population and median income. Also includes agricultural data.
See also CD/DVD-ROM Decennial Census Products at MSU Libraries for Mapping Software
Back To Top
Print Decennial Population and Housing Census Volumes in MSU Libraries |
|
2000 Census of Population and Census of Housing |
For the 2000 Census, the Census Bureau is relying heavily upon its web resources to disseminate 2000 decennial statistics. Researchers should use American Factfinder and other resources in the Bureau's Census 2000 Gateway (http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS31412) to access statistics that are a part of these two census series. Currently, print publications are available for the Census of Population and Housing only.
|
2000 Census of Population and Housing |
- Summary Population and Housing Characteristics
C 3.223/18:2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics
C 3.223/23:2000 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1990 Census of Population |
- Characteristics of the Population: General Population Characteristics
C 3.223/6:990 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Characteristics of the Population: Social and Economic Characteristics
C 3.223/7:990 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Chapter 1: General Housing Characteristics
C 3.224/3:990 CH-1- Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Chapter 2: Detailed Housing Characteristics
C 3.224/3:990 CH-2- Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1990 Census of Population and Housing |
- Census Tracts
C 3.223/11:990 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Includes maps for Mississippi census tracts only.
- Population and Housing Unit Counts
C 3.223/5:990 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics
C 3.223/23:990 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Summary Housing and Population Statistics
C 3.223/18:990 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1980 Census of Population |
- Characteristics of the Population: Detailed Population Characteristics
C 3.223/8:980 D Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI 1983 thru 1985, 2531-4 Microforms 2nd Floor
- Holdings are scattered and may be supplemented with ASI microfiche.
- Characteristics of the Population: General Population Characteristics
C 3.223/6:980 B Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI 1982 and 1983, 2531-2 Microforms, 2nd Floor
- Holdings are scattered and may be supplemented with ASI microfiche.
- Characteristics of the Population: General Social and Economic Characteristics
C 3.223/7:980 C Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI 1983 thru 1985, 2531-3 Microforms, 2nd Floor
- Holdings are scattered and may be supplemented with ASI microfiche.
- Characteristics of the Population: Number of Inhabitants
C 3.223/5:980 A Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI 1981 thru 1983, 2531-1 Microforms, 2nd Floor
- Holdings are scattered and may be supplemented with ASI microfiche.
- Metropolitan Housing Characteristics
C 3.224/4:980 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1980 Census of Population and Housing |
- Block Statistics
C 3.224/5:980 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Text booklets accompanying block maps are in microfiche format and are shelved in boxes in this area of the Gov Docs Stacks next to the block maps in paper format.
- Census Tracts
C 3.223/11:980 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Includes maps for all census tracts.
|
1970 Census of Population |
- Census of Population: Characteristics of the Population
C 3.223/9: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- All data from the various characteristics of the population volumes have been cumulated into a single hardbound volume for each state and a U.S. summary.
- Block Statistics
C 3.224/5:970 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Includes block maps for all areas.
Housing Characteristics for States, Cities, and Counties
C 3.224/3:970 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Metropolitan Housing Characteristics
C 3.223/4:970 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1970 Census of Population and Housing |
- Census Tracts
Ref. HA 201 1970.A542 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- Employment Profiles of Selected Low Income Areas
C 3.223/17:970 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1960 Census of Population |
- Census of Population:1960
Ref. HA 201 1960.P82 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vol. 1 Characteristics of the Population
- Organized into volumes for each state.
- Metropolitan Housing
C 3.224/4:960 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- United States Census of Housing,1960. State and Small Areas
C 3.224/3:960 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
|
1960 Census of Population and Housing |
- Census Tracts
C 3.223/11:960 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Census of Housing: 1950
C 3.950-8/5: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Organized into volumes for each state.
- Census of Population: 1950
Ref. HA 201 1950.A2 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vol. 1 Number of Inhabitants
Vol. 2 Characteristics of the Population
- Organized into volumes for each state.
|
1940: Sixteenth Census of The U.S. |
- Sixteenth Census of the United States: 1940. Housing
C 3.940-5:H 81/ Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Housing . . . Block Statistics
C 3.940-31: Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Sixteenth Census of the United States: 1940. Population
Ref. HA 201 1940.A44 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- Four volumes with multiple parts.
- Sixteenth Census of the United States, 1940. Population and Housing
Ref. HA 201 1940.A437 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- Fifteenth Census of the United States: 1930: Population
Ref. HA 201 1930.A3 P6 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- Fourteenth Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1920
Ref. HA 201 1920.A15 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vols. 1-4 Population
- Thirteenth Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1910
Ref. HA 201 1910.A15 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vols. 1-4 Population
- Twelfth Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1900
Ref. HA 201 1900.B1 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vols. 1-2 Population
Vols. 3-4 Vital Statistics
- Eleventh Census: 1890
Ref. HA 201 1890.B1 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vol. 1 Population
Vol. 4 Vital Statistics
- Tenth Census of the United States
Ref.HA 201 1880 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- The Library is missing the first two volumes covering population. Researchers should refer to population statistics in the Compendium of the Tenth Census.
- Compendium of the Tenth Census
Ref. HA 201 1880 Special Collections, 3rd Floor
- Ninth Census of the United States: 1870
Ref. HA 201 1870 .B1 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Vol. 1 Population and Social Statistics
Vol. 2 Vital Statistics
- Population of the United States in 1860
Ref. HA 201 1860.B1 Special Collections, 3rd Floor
- The Seventh Census of the United States: 1850
Ref. HA 201 1850.B1 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- Primarily contains population data.
- Sixth Census, or Enumeration of the Inhabitants of the United States: 1840
HA 201 1840.C645 Special Collections [oversize, WV], 3rd Floor
- Population statistics for the 1840 decennial census.
- HA 201 1840.E1 Special Collections [oversize, WV], 3rd Floor
- An abstract of statistics from the 1840 decennial census.
- Fifth Census, or Enumeration of the Inhabitants of the United States. 1830
HA 201 1830.C45 1832 Special Collections [oversize, DV], 3rd Floor
- An abstract of statistics from the 1830 decennial census.
- Abstract of the Returns of the Fifth Census
Ref. HA 201 1830.D2 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- An abstract of the 1830 decennial census including the number of free people and slaves, and aggregates of each county in each state.
- Census for 1820
HA 201 1820.B1-1 Special Collections, 3rd Floor
- An abstract of statistics from the 1820 decennial census.
- Aggregate Amount of Each Description of Persons Within the United States of America
HA 201 1810.B1 Special Collections, 3rd Floor
- An abstract of statistics from the 1810 decennial census.
- Return of the Whole Number of Persons Within the Several Districts of the United States
HA 201 1800A Special Collections, 3rd Floor
- An abstract of statistics from the 1800 decennial census.
- Return of the Whole Number of Persons Within the Several Districts of the United States
Ref HA 201 1790 Special Collections, 3rd Floor
- Contains basic population counts and number of houses for thirteen states.
Back To Top
Accessing 1960-2000 Decennial Census Reports in ASI and Statistical Universe |
- American Statistics Index : A Comprehensive Guide to the Statistical Publications of the U.S. Government.
Bethesda, MD : Congressional Information Service. Monthly with annual cumulations.
Microforms Ref. Z 7554 .U5 A46 Gov Docs, 2 nd Floor
-
ASI is made up of annual index volumes providing title, subject and Su Doc number access to full text documents in the ASI Microfiche Collection. Coverage is comprehensive for statistical publications issued since January 1, 1973, and the 1970 edition also includes all significant publications issued since the early 1960s, including reports from the 1960 decennial census. The MSU Library houses the complete ASI Microfiche Collection, therefore everything listed in the index is available to patrons. Researchers may also use the annual abstract volumes to browse bibliographies of publications from the Census Bureau, including sections listing decennial census reports.
- Statistical Universe
** In order to access remotely, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
-
Access to statistical information from the federal government and an online index to documents included in the ASI Microfiche Collection. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites. Abstracts include ASI fiche numbers for access to full text in the ASI Microfiche Collection.
Back To Top
CD/DVD-ROM Decennial Census Products at MSU Libraries |
The following brief glossary is provided to assist researchers in choosing the summary file on disc that best suits their needs. This information is taken from: http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/glossary.html.
-
Summary File 1 (SF 1)
This file presents 98% population and housing figures for the total population, for 63 race categories, and for many other race and Hispanic or Latino categories. This includes age, sex, households, household relationship, housing units, and tenure (whether the residence is owned or rented). Also included are selected characteristics for a limited number of race and Hispanic or Latino categories. The data are available for the U.S., regions, divisions, states, counties, county subdivisions, places, census tracts, block groups, blocks, metropolitan areas, American Indian and Alaska Native areas, tribal subdivisions, Hawaiian home lands, congressional districts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas. Data are available down to the block level for many tabulations, but only to the census-tract level for others. SF 1 is available on CD-ROM, DVD, and American Factfinder.
-
Summary File 2 (SF 2)
This file presents data similar to the information included in Summary File 1. These data are shown down to the census tract level for 250 race, Hispanic or Latino, and American Indian and Alaska Native tribe categories. For data to be shown in SF 2, a population category must meet a population size threshold of 100 or more people of that specific population category in a specific geographic area. SF 2 is available on CD-ROM, DVD, and American FactFinder.
-
Summary File 3 (SF 3)
This file presents data on the population and housing long form subjects such as income and education. It includes population totals for ancestry groups. It also includes selected characteristics for a limited number of race and Hispanic or Latino categories. The data are available for the U.S., regions, divisions, states, counties, county subdivisions, places, census tracts, block groups, metropolitan areas, American Indian and Alaska Native areas, tribal subdivisions, Hawaiian home lands, congressional districts, and Zip Code Tabulation Areas. SF 3 is available on CD-ROM, DVD, and American FactFinder.
|
2000 Census DVD-ROM Data Products |
- Census 2000. Summary File 1: Census of Population and Housing . Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2001].
C 3.275:F 48/DVD Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
- [National File] Census 2000. Census of Population and Housing: National File. Summary File 1. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2003
C 3.282:2000/NAT. Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
"The Census 2000 Summary File 1 data are released in three stages. Individual state files and two national files are released. The state-level data are released first, followed by the Advance National File, which covers the same data subjects, but includes national level summary data such as ZCTAs, whole metropolitan areas, whole American Indian areas, etc. The Final National File contains the same data subjects and geographic areas as the Advance National File, but adds the first available urban/rural and urbanized area data" (from http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/glossary.html). Discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation. Technical Documentation is also available at http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2001/sumfile1.html .
- Census 2000 Summary File 2,Census of Population and Housing, 2000. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2003.
C 3.282/2-3:2000/DVD Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Technical documentation and a link to FTP data downloading can be found at http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2001/sumfile2.html.
-
Provides census data for U.S. congressional districts. Summary tape file 1D provides complete population data by age, race, and sex and housing data by occupancy/vacancy status, tenure, units in structure, contract rent, meals included in rent, value, and number of rooms in housing unit. Summary tape file 3D contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. Disc contains data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- Census 2000. Census of Population and Housing: National File. Summary File 3. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2003.
C 3.282/2:V 1 D00S 3 ST 08 NAT 1 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
Technical documentation and a link to FTP data downloading is available at http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2002/sumfile3.html.
-
"Summary File 3 consists of 813 detailed tables of Census 2000 social, economic and housing characteristics compiled from a sample of approximately 19 million housing units (about 1 in 6 households) that received the Census 2000 long-form questionnaire. Fifty-one tables are repeated for nine major race and Hispanic or Latino groups: White alone; Black or African American alone; American Indian and Alaska Native alone; Asian alone; Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander alone; Some other race alone; Two or more races; Hispanic or Latino; and White alone, not Hispanic or Latino. Summary File 3 presents data for the United States, the 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico in a hierarchical sequence down to the block group for many tabulations, but only to the census tract levels for others. Summaries are included for other geographic areas such as Zip Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs TM) and Congressional districts (106th Congress). Summary File 3 includes 484 population tables and 329 housing tables that are identified according to geographic coverage" (from the website). Disc contains data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- TIGER/line: Redistricting Census 2000 on DVD. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economic and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census, [2001].
C 3.279/3:2000 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
Technical documentation and links for data downloading can be found at http://www.census.gov/geo/www/tiger/rd_2ktiger/tgr2kweb.html.
-
"Files are a digital database of geographic features, such as roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, legal boundaries, and census statistical boundaries covering the entire United States" (from the disc case). Disc contains data retrieval software and technical documentation.
See also Decennial Census on The World Wide Web.
|
1990 Census CD-ROM Data Products |
Users should note that the majority of 1990 census data products were programmed to run on MS-DOS and on dBase software. Users may need to perform appropriate conversions to more current software and data retrieval products suitable for "ISO 9660" or "IBM compatible" CD-ROMs.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Block Statistics. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1992-
C 3.282/3:CD 90-1 B Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing Public Law 94-171 Data. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1991.
C 3.281: Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
Enacted in 1975, Public Law 94-171 requires the Census Bureau provide data needed by the states to redraw districts for both state legislatures and the U.S. Congress. This data is also known as "Redistricting Data." All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Public Use Microdata Samples. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1993- .
C 3.285:CD 90-PUMS Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
Contains records representing 5% or 1% samples of the housing units in the U.S. and the persons in them. Selected group quarters persons are also included. The file contains individual weights for each person and housing unit which, when applied to the individual records, expand the sample to the total population. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Tape File 1A. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1991- .
C 3.282:990/ Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
Provides data for states and their sub-areas in hierarchical sequence down to the block group level. Summary Tape File 1A has inventory (complete) summaries for place, census tract/BNA, block group, congressional district (101st Congress), and consolidated cities. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Tape File 3A. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1993.
C 3.282/2:CD 90-3 A- Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
Provides census data for states and their sub-areas down to the block level, as well as inventory (complete) summaries for the following geographic areas: census tract/block numbering area (BNA), block group, place, and consolidated city. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Tape File 3B. Washington DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1993- .
C 3.282/2:CD 90-3 B- Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- Census of Population and Housing (1990). Special Tabulation on Aging. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1994.
C 3.281/2:CD-90-AOA Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
Contains aging-related population and housing data from the 1990 census, including sample data weighted to represent the total population, as well as 98% counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and housing units. Data is arranged hierarchically by state down to the census tract/block numbering level. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- Census of Population and Housing (1990). Subject Summary Tape File (SSTF). Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Administrative and Customer Services Division,1996.
C 3.286:CD 90 SSTF Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
Subject data at the state and metropolitan (MSA/PSA) level. Each disc covers a specific subject area. Subject areas include the following: mobility and journey to work; housing characteristics including condominiums and mobile homes; characteristics of the Black, Hispanic, Asian, and American Indian populations; occupation and education; the elderly; fertility; poverty; foreign born and ancestry; and characteristics of adults with work disabilities. All discs contain data retrieval software and technical documentation.
- LandView Mapping Software: LandView 5 (2002, 2 DVDs)
C 3.301:L 23/2 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
-
LandView is a desktop mapping system that includes extracts from the Environmental Protection Agency, Bureau of the Census and the U.S. Geological Survey. These databases are presented in a geographic context on maps that show jurisdictional boundaries, detailed networks of roads, rivers and railroads, census block group and tract polygons, schools, hospitals, churches, cemeteries, airports, dams, and other landmark features. More information about LandView software can be found online at http://www.census.gov/geo/landview/.
- TIGER/line: Redistricting Census 2000 on DVD. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economic and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census, [2001].
C 3.279/3:2000 Gov Docs Multimedia, 2nd Floor
- "Files are a digital database of geographic features, such as roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, legal boundaries, and census statistical boundaries covering the entire United States" (from the disc