United States Research Guide

The United States Federal Documents Depository of Mississippi State University has served the university and local communities since 1907, when the land grant Mississippi A & M College was granted depository status. The present selective depository collects on an extensive basis, receiving over ninety-five percent of the document series offered by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Service.

This is a selective guide designed to assist researchers and students in gaining access to United States federal information available within the library's collections and databases, and via the Internet. Please contact the Government Documents and Microforms Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library, call 662-325-0008, or contact LaDonne Delgado at ldelgado@library.msstate.edu for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


US System of Organization Background Information and History Current Awareness
Indexes and Databases Directories Statistical Information
Research Guides


U.S. System of Organization

United States Government Manual. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO. Annually.
GS 4.109:1935-36, 1939-40, 1973-85 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
AE 2.108/2: 1985--    Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs Ready Ref. AE 2.108/2: 2000-2001 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. JK 421 .A3  Latest Copy Reference, 2nd Floor
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html     1995 to present
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, this manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; as well as boards, commissions, and committees.

Ben's Guide to the United States Government
http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
Geared towards K-12 students, this site provides useful information about how laws are made, the election process, government branches, and other topics.

Government Information Locator Service (GILS)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gils/index.html
A decentralized collection of agency-based information locators using network technology and international standards to direct users to relevant information resources within the Federal Government. Because this collection is decentralized, the U.S. GPO is attempting to provide a single point of entry to access, or link to, all U.S. Federal GILS databases.

Legislative Branch

Legislative Branch Internet Resources
http://thomas.loc.gov/home/legbranch/legbranch.html
Internet resources for the U.S. Legislative Branch maintained by the U.S. Library of Congress.

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
http://thomas.loc.gov/
Provides full-text web access to current and recent Congressional information in the areas of legislation, the Congressional Record, and committee information. Coverage begins with the 103rd Congress. Selected historical documents, including the U.S. Constitution, are also available.

Congress
http://www.congress.org/
"The Congress of the United States was created by Article I, section 1, of the Constitution, adopted by the Constitutional Convention on September 17, 1787.....The first Congress under the Constitution met on March 4, 1789, in the Federal Hall in New York City. The membership then consisted of 20 Senators and 59 Representatives." - U.S. Government Manual.

U.S. House of Representatives
http://www.house.gov/
"The House of Representatives comprises 435 Representatives. The number representing each State is determined by population, but every State is entitled to at least one Representative. Members are elected by the people for two-year terms, all terms running for the same period. A Representative must be at least 25 years of age, must reside in the State from which they are chosen, and must have been a citizen for at least seven years." - U.S. Government Manual.

U.S. Senate
http://www.senate.gov/
"The Senate is composed of 100 Members, two from each State, who are elected to serve for a term of six years. Senators were originally chosen by the State legislatures. This procedure was changed by the 17th amendment to the Constitution, adopted in 1913, which made the election of Senators a function of the people. There are three classes of Senators, and a new class is elected every two years. Senators must be residents of the State from which they are chosen, must be at least 30 years of age, and must have been a citizen of the United States for at least nine years." - U.S. Government Manual.

Congressional Record
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/crecord/index.html
Historically, the Congressional Record has not been a verbatim transcript of the proceedings of the congress. Now (since 1995), the House uses a different typeface to differentiate statements not actually delivered. The Daily Digest (KF35 .C65, in reference) is a concise factual record of committee and floor proceedings, including action on bills, votes, hearings, meetings, bill status, and, at the end of the week, the agenda for next week.

Records of Congress
www.archives.gov/records_of_congress/index.html
The records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate document the history of the legislative branch beginning with the First Congress in 1789. Although the records remain the legal property of the House and Senate, they are preserved and made available by the Center for Legislative Archives. Other records from legislative branch support organizations, including the Publications of the U.S. Government from the Government Printing Office, are also preserved at the Center.

Judicial Branch

U.S. Courts: The Federal Judiciary
http://www.uscourts.gov/
Clearinghouse for information about U.S. federal courts including news, press releases, publications, directories, long-range planning documents.

SupremeCourt of the United States
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/
"The Supreme Court is comprised of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress, which is currently fixed at eight. The President nominates the Justices with the advice and consent of the Senate." U.S. Government Manual

Executive Branch

Official U.S. Executive Branch Web Sites
http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/fedgov.html
Contains Executive Branch sites only. Strives to be, but may not be, totally comprehensive. Agencies are often included because they requested to be listed.

The White House
http://www.whitehouse.gov/
The President is the administrative head of the executive branch of the Government, which includes numerous agencies, both temporary and permanent, as well as fourteen executive departments.

Federal Register. Washington, DC : [Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration] : U.S. GPO. Published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.
AE 2.106: Latest Two Years     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1756 (1995 to present), http://www.gpoaccess.gov/multidb.html (1994 to present)
The official publication for Presidential Documents and Executive Orders, as well as Notices, Rules and Proposed Rules from Federal agencies and organizations.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO.
J 80.A283 1930- (with gaps)              Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
J 80 .A283 Indexes for 1945-1974     Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
1993 to present http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pubpapers/search.html
Each volume in the series contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period.
SEE ALSO: Roosevelt, Franklin. The Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt with a Special Introduction and Explanatory Notes by President Roosevelt. 13 volumes. New York : Random House, 1938.
E 806 .R749     Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
A compilation of the public papers and addresses of President Roosevelt.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO. Published every Monday.
v.1 (1965) to present     MSU Bound Journals, 1st Floor
Most Current Issues        MSU Current Journals, 2nd Floor
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html
1993 to present
Contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. Most documents are eventually included in Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States.

Background Information and History  (Basic Reference Tools)

A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html
In order to make these records more easily accessible to students, scholars, and interested citizens, this online site brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Journals of the Continental Congress through The Congressional Globe, which ceased publication with the 42nd Congress in 1873.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.html
Free, permanent, public access is being made available to a core group of current and historical government publications via the GPO Access service to provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define this democratic society.

A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/
A listing of pre-Colonial era documents (e.g., the Magna Carta) to the present with Internet links when possible.

Kurian, George Thomas, editor in chief. A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Ref. JK 9 .H57 1998 Reference, 2nd Floor
Presents a profile of the U.S. government through a composite history of the various departments and agencies that constitute it. ...Arranged by entry term alphabetically, letter by letter rather than word by word. ...Following most entries readers will find selected bibliographies of works that will be helpful if they wish to learn more about the subject of the entry.--preface

Current Awareness (News Sources)

Bills in the News
http://thomas.loc.gov/home/textonly.html
Current bills (and public laws from several previous Congresses) recently receiving coverage in newspapers and in TV and radio news. Bills are from the 106th Congress unless otherwise noted; Public laws show the Congress of their passage in their title: i.e. P.L. 104-95 was passed into law in the 104th Congress.

C-SPAN
http://www.c-span.org/
Information about the program, plus current events, and discussions of public affairs.

Documents in the News
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/docnews.html
Links to resources about government issues making headlines in the news. Maintained by the University of Michigan Library.

Roll Call
http://www.rollcall.com
Roll Call is widely considered the leading source for Congressional news and information both inside the Beltway and beyond. In 1996, building on the solid reputation of the newsprint version, Roll Call launched a companion Web edition. The leading stories from the newspaper are posted every Monday and Thursday, along with editorials, election news, commentary, cartoons and classifieds.

Various National Newspapers
The New York Times
http://www.nytimes.com/

The Christian Science Monitor
http://csmonitor.com/

The Washington Post
http://www.washingtonpost.com/

The Los Angeles Times
http://www.latimes.com/

Back issues filed alphabetically by place of publication     MSU Microforms, 2nd Floor
Latest hardcopies kept until microfilm is received           MSU Current Journals, 2nd Floor
There is no better source for current, up-to-date news than newspapers. The above four titles are only a few of the titles held in the MSU Library. Also consult the Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe database which contains full-text of these and other national newspapers, some going back as far as twenty years.
** In order to remotely access Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Indexes and Databases (Searching Tools)

Because only some of the U.S. documents collection has been cataloged and can be found by using the Library's online catalog, the following major indexes to federal government documents must be used in order to access older documents.

Current Searching Tools

CIS Index to Congressional Publications and Public Laws. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service. Monthly with annual cumulations.
Microforms Ref. KF 49 .C62 1970 to date     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Contains abstracts, legislative histories and indexes for Congressional hearings, committee prints and public laws as well as the numbered House and Senate reports and documents contained in the Serial Set. For the most part, CIS has superseded the Monthly Catalog as THE index for Congressional materials issued since 1970. The MSU Library houses the complete CIS Microfiche Collection therefore everything listed in this index is available to patrons.

FedWorld
http://www.fedworld.gov/
A central access point for searching, locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information. Many specific government databases can be searched from this page. It includes a rather eclectic selection of resources, and by no means does it demonstrate the entire breadth of government resources. The difficulty with FedWorld is knowing what data and resources are available from it as opposed to other sites.

USA.gov
http://www.usa.gov/
The official U.S. gateway to all government information and is the catalyst for a growing electronic government. Users can search more than 51 million web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. USA.gov has the most comprehensive searching capabilities of government information anywhere on the Internet.

GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. GPO that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version. Information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. Most documents are full-text. GPO Access is a part of Keeping America Informed which has even more federal government information.

GPO on SilverPlatter. Available electronically. 1976 to date.
** In order to remotely access GPO on SilverPlatter, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
This database corresponds to the Monthly Catalog and includes citations from the annual Periodicals Supplement and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set Supplement. It indexes documents from 1976 to the current and is updated quarterly.

InfoMine
http://infomine.ucr.edu/search/govpubsearch.phtml
INFOMINE is a database developed by the librarians at the University of California, Riverside. It is easy to use and currently contains over 9,500 records covering most academic disciplines with a large section devoted to government information. It is known globally for its high quality scholarly and educational collection. Allows searching and browsing by subject, keyword, or title.

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Washington, DC: U.S. GPO. Monthly with semi-annual and annual cumulations. [Title varies throughout the years.]
Gov Docs Index Area, 1895 to date     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://catalog.gpo.gov/F (only covers Jan. 1994 to present)
This is THE BASIC INDEX for government publications. Titles are arranged by classification number under issuing agency. Periodicals and various other series. are listed annually in the Serials supplement. Indexing is by subject, title, keyword, author, series number and various other access points.



Retrospective Searching Tools

1941-1974     Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Cumulative and Decennial Cumulative Indexes. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO, 1953-1981. (5 volumes in 9 volumes)
Gov Docs Index Area Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Five and ten year cumulative subject indexes to the Monthly Catalog. Conveniently merged the indexing from multiple annual indexes and added original indexing for thirty issues of the Monthly Catalog that were never indexed by subject.

1900-1971     Buchanan, William W. and Edna M Kanely, comp. Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications 1900-1971. Washington, DC: Carrolton Press, 1973. (15 volumes)
Gov Docs Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A16 1900-71     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
A fifteen-volume, single alphabet index. The BEST subject index for this time period.

1895-1933     Index to the Reports and Documents of the 54th Congress, 1st Session to 73rd Congress, 2nd Session, December 2, 1895-March 4, 1933; with Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO, 1897-1933. (43 volumes) [Commonly known as the Documents Catalogue]
Gov Docs Index Area     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
An alphabetical subject (or inverted title) listing for congressional documents and reports contained in the Serial Set.

1893-1940     Catalog of the Public Documents of the 53rd to 76th Congress and All Departments of the Government of the United States for the Period from March 4, 1893 to December 31, 1940. . Washington, DC: U.S. GPO, 1896-1945. [Commonly known as the Documents Catalogue]
Gov Docs Index Area     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
A dictionary catalog listing publications by agency, subject, title, and author. The Documents Catalogue provides the best subject approach to government publication for the period covered. Each volume of the title covers approximately two years of government publishing activity. Gives Serial Set numbers, but not SuDoc call numbers.

1881-1893     Ames, John G. Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO, 1905. (2 volumes) [Commonly known as Ames for the author, John Griffith Ames]
Gov Docs Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A1905     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Originally issues as Serial Set 4745-4746 (58th Congress, 2nd Session, House Document 754). The arrangement is alphabetical by subject and includes a personal author index. No SuDoc call numbers and Serial Set numbers are under Congressional Documents

1833-1969     CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index. Washington, DC: Congressional Information Service, 1981-1985. (8 parts in 42 volumes)
Microforms Ref. KF 40 .C56     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Covers published hearings from the earliest years (early 1800s) through 1969. Provides comprehensive index access to the subject matter and issues covered in all hearings held during this period, including bills and laws discussed, the Federal agencies concerned, the witnesses who testified and the organizations they represented.

1789-1976     Lester, Daniel W., Sandra K. Faull and Lorraine E. Lester, comp. Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976. Arlington, VA: U.S. Historical Documents Institute, 1979-1982. (16 volumes)
Gov Docs Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A12 C85     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
A single alphabet listing of document titles compiled from the shelflist of the Public Documents Library of the Government Printing Office. Unfortunately it includes only those titles which have been assigned a documents classification number, thus excluding the numbered reports and documents of Congress which are included in the Serial Set.

1789-1969     CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1780-1969. Washington, DC : Congressional Information Service, 1975-1998. (13 parts in 40 volumes)
Gov Docs Ready Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 C26     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Includes indexing for the American State Papers and Index by Reported Bill Numbers. Has Subject Indexes and Finding Lists for each group of years. Contains an on-going collection of the basic publications of Congress, i.e., reports of private and public bills, as well as a variety of documentation which Congress has decided to incorporate. The collection is particularly important in the 18th and 19th centuries when most government publications were either originally published as part of the Serial Set or were reprinted in it. Access to the Serial Set volumes appearing after 1969 is found in CIS, the Monthly Catalog, and other tools.

1789-1816     American State Papers. [1st 14th Congresses, 1789-1816]
Ref. H 33 .A 48 1832     MSU Special Collections, 3rd Floor
Some consider this the predecessor to, others consider it a part of, the Serial Set. It is a separate 38-volume set with publication categories such as Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Public Lands, and Miscellaneous Documents.

1817--     United States Congressional Serial Set. 15th Congress--, 1817.
Gov Docs Serial Set     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
The longest-running series in the United States. Sequentially numbered bound volumes of congressional reports and documents. Besides committee reports relating to pending legislation, the Serial Set includes the House and Senate Journals from 1818-1954. In the 19th century, approximately fifty-percent of Senate and House Documents were reprints of executive branch or departmental publications. It is worth considering the Serial Set as a source of all types of government publications into the first quarter of the 20th century.

1774-1881     Poore, Ben Perley. A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO, 1885. [Commonly known as Poores for the author]
Gov Docs Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A1885     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Originally issued as Serial Set 2268 (48th Congress, 2nd Session, Senate Misc. Document 67). A chronological list which gives author, title, and date for each document. The subject and name index in the rear of the volume refers the user to the page on which the document is listed. The page must then be scanned to locate one or more entries on the subject being researched. No class numbers for executive department documents and no Serial Set numbers for congressional publications are given.



Classification System Outline Tools

For locating SuDoc numbers not given in indexes.

Current.     List of Classes of United States Government Publications Available for Selection by Depository Libraries. Updated monthly.
http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/loc/index.html
The official listing of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program. Arranged by SuDoc number and designed to group together publications by the same government author. Also accessible from this web site are Inactive or Discontinued Items, List of Active Items and Class Stems, Classes No Longer Active, and an Alphabetic Listing of Government Authors.

1976 --     Batten, Donna, ed. Guide to U.S. Government Publications. Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group. Revised annually. [Commonly known as Andriot after the original editor and publisher]
Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 A574 1976, 1977, 1989     Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 A574 1990--                       Reference, 2nd Floor
Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 A574 Latest Copy              Gov Docs Ready Reference, 2nd Floor
An excellent guide to document series and periodicals (not monographs), tracing changes in SuDocs classes. Not the source to use if looking for individual Congressional documents, reports, etc. Supplements and complements the Lists of Classes. Includes annotations, title index, more complete agency index, and an agency class chronology.

1933-1971     Numerical List and Schedule of Volumes of the Reports and Documents of the Congress, 73rd Congress 91st Congress. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO, 1934-1972.
Gov Docs Index Area     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Provides access to the Congressional Serial Set for this period.

1789-1909     Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909, Third Edition, revised and enlarged. Washington, DC: U.S. GPO, 1911. [Commonly known as the 1909 Checklist]
Gov Docs Index Area Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Arranged by SuDoc class with agency index. This title is the basic source for SuDoc numbers prior to the 20th century. Although there is no subject approach to documents, the volume is useful for scanning the publishing output of governmental agencies and for identifying various editions of the same document. Lists individual titles as well as series.



Additional Indexes and Databases

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Available electronically.
** In order to remotely access Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Lexis-Nexis is the world's largest provider of credible, in-depth legal, government, business, and high-tech information.

Historical Statistics of the US. Available electronically.
** In order to remotely access Historical Statistics of the US, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
This database is a reputable source for essays and quantitative data on American history, covering a wide variety of topics. It allows users to download informative data tables and customize them to their individual areas of interest.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International. Available electronically.
** In order to remotely access PAIS International, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
A bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.

Directories

Browse Topics
http://browsetopics.gov/
Browse Topics is your pathway to Federal Web sites. Professional librarians from the Federal depository library community have created a browseable list of Federal Web sites based off broad subject areas. Choose a category and then click on a listing to read a detailed description of the services provided by a site.
Federal Resources Organized by Topic
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/topics/index.html
This service arranges U.S. Government information by topic and allows researchers to choose from three different sources. The Federal Publications for Sale list is also know as The Subject Bibliography Index.

Frequently Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government Information
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/romans/fdtf/
This is a directory of links to popular government documents on the Internet. These links are organized by topics including major government indexes, business, crime, census, congress, consumer information, copyright, education, foreign countries, health, impeachment, natural resources, law, scientific reports, and tax forms. From the Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF) and the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT).

Government Periodicals on the Web
http://library.louisville.edu/government/periodicals/periodall.html
An extensive directory of U.S. government periodicals which are now full-text on the Internet.

Official Congressional Directory. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO. Annually.
Y 4.P 93/1: 54thC, 2ndS. (1896) to present     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
CIS (year) J872-#                                              Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html (1995 to present)
One of the oldest working handbooks in the United States government. While there have been directories of one form or another since the First Congress of the United States convened in 1789, the Congressional Directory for the first session of the 30th Congress (1847) is considered by scholars and historians to be the first official edition because if was the first to be ordered and paid for by the Congress. With the addition of biographical sketches of legislators in 1867, the Congressional Directory attained its modern format.

Uncle Sam Migrating Government Publications
http://exlibris.memphis.edu/resource/unclesam/migrating/mig.html
This site attempts to track printed government publications that are migrating to the Internet by identifying URLs and linking them directly to the electronic documents. The scope of this list is limited to serials and periodicals and includes those publications in dual format and in electronic (Internet) format only. It is arranged both alphabetically by title and by Superintendent of Documents classification number. Links are to the exact location of the publication whenever possible. If not, the link is to the nearest search screen.

U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/gov/fedgov.html
An exhaustive directory to the web pages of current, active, existing U.S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual. Listed in both hierarchical and alphabetical order. Smaller breakdowns for Legislative, Judicial, Executive, Independent, Quasi-Official, and Boards Commissions and Committees.

U.S. Government Information
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/govpubs/us/federal.htm
A directory by subject and each topic then gives information by government site.

Statistical Information

American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/BasicFactsServlet
The source for population, housing, economic and geographic data from Census 2000, the 1990 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the Census 2000 Supplementary Survey, and the American Community Survey.

American Statistics Index: A Comprehensive Guide to the Statistical Publications of the U.S. Government. Bethesda, MD : Congressional Information Service. Monthly with annual cumulations.
Microforms Ref. Z 7554 .U5 A46 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Coverage is comprehensive for statistical publications issued since January 1, 1973, and the 1970 edition also includes all significant publications issued since the early 1960s. NOTE that if a governmental periodical contains statistics, it is included in ASI and the individual articles are indexed making ASI an indirect access point for this information. The MSU Library houses the complete ASI Microfiche Collection, therefore everything listed in the index is available to patrons.

Budget of the United States Government. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO. Annually.
T 51.5: 1934-1937                Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
PR 33.107: 1949-1961          Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
PREX 2.8: 1962”                   Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
PREX 2.8-1: 1996”                Gov Docs, 2ndFloor CD-ROM version
CIS (year) H180-# 1971”       Gov Docs, 2nd Floor Microfiche
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS17351          (1996 to present)
Statistics given for actual expenditures of the previous budget year, estimated expenditures for the current budget year, and estimated proposed expenditures for the forthcoming budget year.

FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/
The gateway to the full range of official statistical information available to the public from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. Information can be searched through an A to Z index or by keyword. Also contains "Statistical reference shelf" with links to tables from the Statistical Abstract; and Federal Statistical Briefing Rooms; links to agency contacts; press releases; and additional links.

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970, Bicentennial Edition. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO, 1975. (2 volumes)
Gov Docs Ready Ref. HA 202 .A385 1975          Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
ASI 1976 2328-2                                                 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Also issued as Serial Set 13051-2 (93rd Congress, 1st Session, House Document 93-78). Reproduces historical statistics that measure all aspects of American society from colonial times through 1970. Narrative sections describe the data and cite sources from which the numbers were extracted. The subject index is very comprehensive. The Statistical Abstract of the United States should be used to update this information.

STAT-USA
** In order to remotely access STAT-USA, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
This database service of the U.S. Department of Commerce is the site for the U.S. business, economic, and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government. ATTENTION: In order to access STAT-USA, you must contact the Reference Desk for a user name and password.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC : U.S. GPO. Annually.
C 3.134: 1886--                                                  GovDocs, 2nd Floor
C 3.134/7: CD-ROM version 1993"                     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs Ready Ref. C 3.134: Latest Copy       Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. HS 202 .U82 Latest Copy                Reference, 2nd Floor
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2878 (1995 to present)
The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference and as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. The index is very comprehensive. CD-ROM version covers longer time periods than the printed format.

City and County Data Book
http://www.census.gov/stat_abstract/ccdb.html
Supplement to Statistical Abstract of the United States. Consists of statistical information on states, counties, cities, and places in the United States. Demographic, economic, governmental, and geographic data is included.

Statistical Universe
** In order to remotely access STAT-USA, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.

Research Guides

Congressional and Political Research Center
http://library.msstate.edu/congressional/
The purpose of the Center is to provide research material and information on individual U.S. senators and representatives, the U.S. Congress, and politics at all levels of government. This is accomplished via in-house holdings and Internet links to pertinent sites.

Gstalder, Steven, editor. Government Information on the Internet, Fourth Edition. Lanham, MD : Bernan. Irregular, almost yearly.
Ref, ZA 5075 .G68 2001     Reference, 2nd Floor
A complete directory of 1,400 federal, 150 state, and more than 2,500 county and municipal government websites on the Internet. Information includes online addresses and descriptions of agency sites.

Herman, Edward. Locating United States Government Information: A Guide to Sources, Second Edition. Buffalo, NY : William S. Hein & Co., Inc., 1997.
Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 H47 1997 text               Reference, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. ZA 5005 .U6 H47 1997 Suppl.1999    Reference, 2nd Floor
Provides a practical how-to guide for locating United States government publications. Emphasis on the integration of traditional library resources with electronic ones, providing the researcher with a balanced view of government information in multiple formats.

Morehead, Joseph H. Introduction to United States Government Information Sources, Sixth Edition. Englewood, CO : Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1999.
Gov Docs Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 M67 1999     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 M 67 1999                   Reference, 2nd Floor
ZA 5055 .U6 M67 1999eb                                  E-Resource
The purpose of this text is to provide an account of the general and specialized sources, in print and non-print formats, that make up the bibliographic and textual structure of federal government information. --preface

Robinson, Judith Schiek. Tapping the Government Grapevine: The User-Friendly Guide to U.S. Government Information Sources, Third Edition. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1998.
Gov Docs Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 R63 1998     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
Updated and expanded this popular guide offers an expert, thorough, and sometimes humorous tour of government information sources. Highly readable text explains the intricacies of government information and how to find sources that meet specific research needs. New features in this edition include detailed coverage of Internet resources, directories of World Wide Web addresses, and completely updated bibliographic information for print, online, and electronic resources. Helpful guides to government abbreviations and citations are also included, as are numerous new tables, user guides, exercises, and illustrations.

Sears, Jean L. and Marilyn K. Moody. Using Government Information Sources: Electronic and Print, Third Edition. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 2001.
Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 S4 2001     Reference, 2nd Floor
A basic reference guide to U.S. government publications and information. This book not only lists sources for information on specific topics but also suggests general and specific strategies for finding additional information or for finding information on topics not covered. These source listings and search strategies make it easier for users to organize research and identify information sources. --preface

Subject Bibliographies. Washington, DC: U.S. GPO. Irregular.
Gov Docs Ready Ref. GP 3.22/2:     Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://bookstore.gpo.gov/subjects/index.jsp
Bibliographies list more than 12,000 different books, periodicals, posters, pamphlets, and subscription services for sale from the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. GPO. Divided into approximately 150 broad areas of interest, from accounting and auditing to worker's compensation. Most subjects updated yearly.

University of Michigan's Documents Center
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/
The Documents Center is a central reference and referral point for government information, whether local, state, federal, foreign or international. Its web pages are a reference and instructional tool for government, political science, statistical data, and news web site. This is simply one of the best sites for locating government information. The information is current, well organized, and easy to retrieve. A great starting place for beginners and experienced users alike.

There are many additional publications and resources on all aspects of the United States Government which are accessible via the MSU Library's online catalog, databases and the Internet. Search the catalog using keywords or the subject heading United States to locate additional materials. Citing U.S. Government information, including the Internet -- see GODORT Manual, DocsCite, or MLA Style.

This page is created and maintained by LaDonne Delgado, Professor/Coordinator of Government Documents, Microforms, and Current Journals.