Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Course support: Chemical Engineering



Chemical Engineering in the Library and Beyond

The resources used by chemical engineers are available in a variety of formats, from print handbooks and encyclopedias that define concepts and explain processes to online databases of chemical names, formulas and properties. Below you will find a list of print, online and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.




Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Directories Handbooks, Manuals and Indexes Locating Books and Journal Articles
Guides to Internet Resources Employment and Associations Patents, Standards and Technical Reports




Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Directories

ChemFinder.com
http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/
Search this database of chemicals to find synonyms, chemical names, CAS Numbers, molecular formulas, and molecular  weights.

Chemical Engineering Buyer's Guide. New York : McGraw-Hill. (1990-1992, 1994, 1998). 
Ref TP158 .C47
This yearly publication provides company, association, product and trade name directories that include contact information as well as web addresses where applicable. Also available online at http://www.che.com/(Registration is required).

Chemical Engineering Faculty Directory. New York : American Institute of Chemical Engineers.
Ref TP165 .C453
This publication includes an international list of Chemical Engineering Faculty organized by country and institution with an alphabetical index by name. Published annually.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. (68 volumes) New York : Marcel Dekker, 1997. 
Ref TP9 .E66
The articles in this encyclopedia include cross references to related topics, tables and diagrams of important concepts. The last volume contains a cumulative index for the entire set.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. (25 volumes) New York : Wiley, 1992. 
Ref TP9 .H685 1992 
The articles in this encyclopedia include photographs, tables and bibliographies of cited works for each article. The last volume contains a supplement to the set as well as the index.

Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names. 10 ed. Brookfield, VT : Gower, 1994.
Ref TP9 .G286 1994
This dictionary of chemical synonyms and trade names includes availability and manufacturer notations for each chemical along with a directory of manufacturers and an appendix of manufacturer successors. There are also cross reference tables for CAS to trade name, CAS to chemical and EINECS to chemical.

Lewis, Grace Ross 1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products. 2nd ed. New York : Wiley, 1999.
Ref TP 200 .L49 1999
This book provides commonly asked consumer chemical questions along with a list of common chemicals found in everyday products. The chemicals are presented alphabetically with a product list, precautions, and synonyms.



Handbooks, Manuals and Indexes

ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors. Washington, DC : American Chemical Society. 
Ref QD8.5 .A25 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk. 
The ACS Style Guide provides the guidelines for ACS style for reference lists and in-text citations, as well as preparing manuscripts for publication in ACS journals.

Ash, Michael. What Every Chemical Technologist Wants to Know About.... (3 volumes) New York : Chemical Publishing Co., 1988.  
Ref TP247 .W42 1988 
Volume 1: Emulsifiers and Wetting Agents
Volume 2: Dispersants, Solvents and Solubilizers
Volume 3: Plasticizers, Stabilizers and Thickeners
This series "...provides the necessary information for making the decision as to which trademark chemical product is most suitable for a particular application." -Preface This information includes structural and/or molecular formulas for generic chemicals as well as possible functions and differences in properties, toxicity, storage and packaging.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Cleveland, OH : CRC Press.
Ref QD65 .H3 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
The CRC Handbook provides basic data on unit conversion, physical constants, compounds, properties, symbols & terminology, mathematical tables, practical laboratory data and much, much more.

Engineered Materials Handbook. Materials Park, OH : ASM International, 1987. 3 vols.
Ref TA403 .E497 1987
The three volumes cover articles on composites, engineering plastics, and adhesives and sealants. All volumes include a glossary of terms and an index.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. New York : McGraw-Hill.
Ref QD65 .L362 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.  
This handbook includes information on 4,300 organic compounds and is your first stop for basic chemistry information. In addition to basic chemical information, such as structural formula, formula weight, Beilstein reference and density, this book also includes sections on topics such as conversion, mathematics, surface tension, and properties of atoms, radicals, and bonds.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook. New York : McGraw-Hill.
Ref TP151 .P45 1997 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
Perry's is one of the most important resources for chemical engineers. It is organized into three sections: Section 1 contains fundamentals, such as conversion charts; Section 2 contains process data, such as solublity and thermodynamic properties; and Section 3 contains auxiliary information, such as materials and process machinery data.

Science Citation Index. Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information. (1970 - 1995)
Ref Q Z7401 .S365
Science Citation Index is "an international multidisciplinary index to the literature of the sciences." 1992 - present, available as an online database. (setup instructions for SCI)
**For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **



Locating Books and Journal Articles

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals
This link to the American Chemical Society's website provides access to full text and abstracts from 30 electronic journals published by ACS.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts provide over 40 databases and subfiles in the areas of aquatic sciences, biological & medical sciences, engineering specialties, and environmental sciences. Useful databases for chemical engineers include: Bioengineering Abstracts, Chemoreception Abstracts, Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts and Water Resources.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

The Chemical Engineers Resource Page
http://www.cheresources.com/
A resources page for chemical engineers that includes articles, discussion forums, a resource center, and book reviews.

ChemWeb.com
http://www.chemweb.com/
Created by Elsevier Science, ChemWeb.com provides a searchable database of abstracts from a variety of publishers. There is also a separate database of abstracts in the fields of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (CEABA), that contains English-language abstracts for international publications from 1980 to the present.

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
This database represents the works of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.  It provides access to more than 1.6 million entrees.  Full text access is available for dissertations from 1997 to the present.  NOTE: these files are extremely large.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Ei Compendex Web
Ei Compendex Web is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5,000 engineering journals and conferences.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Electronic Journals List
The Electronic Journals List provides the journals that are available online through the MSU Libraries. Journals are organized by title, and dates of availability are provided. 

Online Catalog
The online catalog describes the books, journals, magazines, and other materials in the MSU Library's collections. Use it to find out if the Library holds the sources in the citations collected from the databases above. Need help using the online catalog? An online tutorial is available.

INSPEC
INSPEC covers information concerning physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. The subject heading for chemical engineering is Chemical Technology.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Science Citation Index (SCI)
Cited reference searching for approximately 3,500 of the world's leading scholarly journals in more than 150 science related disciplines. (setup instructions for SCI)
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

SciFinder Scholar
Explore chemical substances by chemical name, chemical structure, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers. Find literature relevant to a topic of interest, written by a specific author, or by CA abstract number or patent number.ATTENTION: Currently, MSU only has TWO (2) access ports to SciFinder Scholar.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

WorldCat
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **



Guides to Internet Resources

Chemical and Process Engineering Links
http://www.englinks.com/
This site contains links to news items, professional organizations, chemical companies and related newsgroups.

Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Engineering
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/engineer.html


Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Scientific Research
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/scirsrch.html
Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.

EEVL: The Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
http://www.eevl.ac.uk/
"This service will facilitate access to Internet resources such as e-journals, databases, training materials, professional societies, university and college departments, research projects, bibliographic databases, software, information services and recruitment agencies, for students, staff and researchers in higher and further education, and anyone else working, studying or looking for information in Engineering, Mathematics and Computing." --EEVL Basics

International Directory of Chemical Engineering URLs
http://www.rccostello.com/links/chem-eng.html
This site provides links to sites with information on academic programs, newsgroups, books and journals, conferences, research organizations, and companies in the field of chemical engineering.

Open Directory Project -- Chemical Engineering
http://dmoz.org/Science/Technology/Chemical_Engineering
A directory of links to sites dealing with chemical engineering topics including jobs, professional organizations, software, journals and magazines, and process equipment.



Employment & Associations

American Institute of Chemical Engineers
http://www.aiche.org/
The American Institute of Chemical Engineers' website provides links to membership information, publication table of contents, career services, education & training information, and a special link to resources for students and young engineers.

Chemical Engineering -- Related Mailing Lists
http://dwb.unl.edu/teacher/nsf/c10/c10links/chemengineer.about.com/msub12.htm
A list of listservs for those interested in a variety of chemical engineering topics including CHEME-L for anything and everything to do with chemical engineering, CMESTUDENT, for chemical engineering students and CHMINF-L for chemistry reference questions.

Job Openings for Chemical Engineers
http://www.engcen.com/chemjobs.htm
A list of current positions available in the field. Maintained by Engineering Central Job Bank.

Chemical Engineering Resume Templates
http://www.collegegrad.com/resumes/quickstart/chemeng.shtml
Provides example resumes in various word processing formats for individuals applying for chemical engineering positions. Maintained by CollegeGrad.com Job Hunter.



Patents, Standards, and Technical Reports

Patents
United States Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov
This website includes a database of full text (starting in 1976) or full-page image (starting in 1790) patent grants, as well as recent patent applications.


Standards
American Society for Testing and Materials. Annual Book of ASTM Standards. (68 volumes) Philadelphia, PA : ASTM, 1994. 
Ref TA401 .A653   
This series "...contains approved ASTM standards, proposals, emergency standards and related material." -Foreword. The material is organized by standard number with a subject index at the end of each volume.

Index and Directory of Industry Standards. (8 volumes) Englewood, CO : Information Handling Services, 1998.
Ref TA368 .I5   
This directory of international standards is indexed by subject and numeric listing as well as being divided up into U.S. and Non-U.S. National Standards.

NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards
http://www.nssn.org/
"'NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards is becoming the World Wide Web's most comprehensive data network on developing and approved national, foreign, regional and international standards and regulatory documents." -- Who We Are. This website provides a search interface for searching standards on a particular topic as well as abstracts for standards and information on the organizations from which they originate.


Technical Reports
GPO on SilverPlatter
GPO on SilverPlatter corresponds to the Monthly Catalog and includes works such as monographs, serials, maps and some audiovisuals. To search for Technical Reports on a specific topic, use the Set Limits button to limit your search to Publication Type: Technical Reports. Once you have set this limit, type in your terms in the search box on the search screen.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

GrayLit Network
http://www.osti.gov/graylit/
"Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), in collaboration with DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects."



This page maintained by Newkirk Barnes, Assistant Professor/Reference Librarian.
Originally created by Beth Ashmore, created 6/20/02