Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Wildlife & Fisheries

This guide provides an introduction to resources related to the study of Wildlife & Fisheries.  Listed below are electronic and print sources related to this subject.   Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667 or Email a Librarian, for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


Indexes and Databases Print Sources Web Resources

Indexes and Databases

The indexes and databases listed below can assist in finding journal articles and other research materials.  For additional indexes and databases, see the Mississippi State University Libraries' Indexes and Databases website. If the MSU Libraries does not have access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.

AGRICOLA 

Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.

 

Biological Abstracts

Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
This database provivdes abstracts to journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences, including wildlife and fisheries, back to 1969.

 

CAB Abstracts

Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
CAB Abstracts provides abstracts to research on agriculture, forestry, environment, and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics and rural sociology, aspects of human health, veterinary medicine, crop protection, and biotechnology. The EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.

 

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
This database allows users to access bibliographic records and abstracts of thousands of masters theses and doctoral dissertations in all fields. Most theses and dissertations from 1997 to the present are available in full-text as (very large) pdf files.

 

Web of Science

Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
The Web of Science provides up-to-date coverage of leading journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. In addition to general searching, the Web of Science has a cited reference search, which allows you to find journal articles that have cited a given article or book. The online version provides coverage pack to 2000. Previous years are covered in CDs and print volumes, available in the Reference Department.

 

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
"Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians - nearly 667,375 bibliographic records, many include abstracts." Coverage from 1935. Much of the content up to 1995 is also available in print form in Wildlife Review (Ref SK351 .S58).
 

WorldCat
Available electronically. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
         
WorldCat provides access to the catalog records of libraries throughout the world. Books found on WorldCat that are not owned by the MSU Libraries can be obtained via InterLibrary Loan.

 

Print Sources

 
These resources are located in the Reference Room, on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library.
 
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America. Detroit: Gale, 2001. (Ref QH77.N56 B43 2001)
  This work provides "extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of the more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service."

 

Feldhamer, George A. et al., eds. Wild Mammals of North America: Biology, Management, and Conservation, 2nd ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2003. (Ref QL715 .W56 2003)
  This book provides "the most current and comprehensive data on the distribution, physiology, ecology, behavior, commercial value, and viability of nongame species including bats, woodrats, prairie dogs, and armadillo, the whales, seals, and sireians, as well as carnivores, furbearers, and big game species."

 

Grzimek, Bernhard. Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003-04. (Ref QL7 .G7813)
  This 17 volume set provides "thorough articles [that] familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more."

 

Handbook of the Birds of the World. Barcelona: Lynx Edicions, 1992. (Ref QL673 .H25 1992 )
  This 4 volume set demonstrates "the extraordinary diversity of ... birds, covering aspects such as taxonomic relationship and, to some extent, evolutionary history, ecology, general habits, [and] breeding strategies ..."

 
 

Web Resources

 
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
http://home.mdwfp.com/  
         
This site provides a host of resources pertaining to wildlife and fisheries related topics at the state level.
 
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
http://www.fws.gov  
         
This site provides access to useful research reports, laws and regulations, and grant information.
 
Wildlife Society
http://www.wildlife.org  
         
The Wildlife Society "is an international non-profit scientific and educational association dedicated to excellence in wildlife stewardship through science and education."

 

 

 
This page was created and is maintained by Brad Brazzeal, Assistant Professor/Instructional Services Librarian.