Water Resources Engineering Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the area of water resources and engineering. This multidisciplinary field draws upon several disciplines; users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
- Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (ASFA 3)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. Coverage is from 1990 to the present.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are indexed and abstracted, with over 2,500 additional resources (such as proceedings and selected monographs) also abstracted. Coverage includes 1990 to the present.
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Provides coverage of the broad area of environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 5980 journals including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publication. Coverage includes 1981 to the present.
-
-
-
- GeoRef
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- The premier database from the American Geological institute, this resource provides indexing and abstracting for all areas in the geosciences.
- Pollution Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Combines information on scientific research and governmental policies into a single resource, with indexing and abstracting of both journal articles and selected conference proceedings. Coverage dates back to 1981.
-
-
-
- Water Resources Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Also includes access to CSA's Water Resources Netsites, which provides links to other web resources. Dates of coverage are 1967 to the present.
- Aqualine Abstracts. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
Ref TD201 .A78
- Provides indexing and abstracting services for the trade, technical, and scientific literature on water resources. Includes such topics as water resource and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, and water treatment technologies. Published monthly
These resources are located in the Reference Room, on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library.
- Corbitt, Robert A. Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998. 2nd ed.
Ref TD145 .S72 1998
- Includes water resource management topics, with chapters on environmental engineering, legislation and regulations, air and water quality standards, water supply, wastewater disposal and storm water management.
- Giefer, Gerald J. Sources of Information in Water Resources: An Annotated Guide to Printed Materials. Port Washington: Water Information Center, 1976.
Ref Z7935 .G53
- While dated, this bibliography provides good coverage of older materials in the field of water resources. Entries include experiment station publications, technical reports, monographs and journal articles.
-
-
-
- Montgomery, John H. Groundwater Chemicals Desk Reference. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers, 1990.
Ref TD426 .M66 1990
- Covers common groundwater contaminants. Each entry includes synonyms, structural formulas, CAS registry numbers, DOT designations, empirical formulas and formula weights, physical and chemical properties, health hazard data, and related references to other literature.
- Newton, David E. Encyclopedia of Water. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
Ref GB 655 .N48 2003
- Contains over 200 entries on topics related to water and hydrology. Entries range from a short paragraph to several pages and most contain references to additional resources. Coverage includes the physical and chemical properties of water, steam and ice; uses of water and steam, and water rights/policies.
-
- Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater. Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, 1998. 20th edition.
Ref QD142 .A2 20th 1998
- Standard reference work covering standards for the examination of water, including quality (for domestic and industrial use), surface water, ground water, cooling/circulating water, boiler and boiler feed water, treated and untreated industrial waste, and saline water. Each section includes references and a short bibliography.
-
-
-
- Van der Leeden, Frits. The Water Encyclopedia. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers, 1990. 2nd ed.
Ref TD351 .V36 1990
- Provides comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of topics related to water and water management. Topics include hydrologic elements, climate data, surface and ground water, water use and quality, environmental challenges, water resource management, and water laws and regulations. The chapter on constants and conversion factors is particularly helpful.
- Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Engineering
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/engineer.html
- Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.
- Mississippi Ports On Line
http://www.gomdot.com/Home/ports/default.htm
- Provides information concerning Mississippi's sixteen public ports.
- Water Resources of Mississippi
http://ms.water.usgs.gov/
- Supported by the USGS, this site provides extensive information on water resources in Mississippi. Includes online access to Water Resources Data, online reports, and local precipitation data.
Water Resources of the United States
http://water.usgs.gov/
Companion site by the USGS for the United States as a whole, this invaluable resource provides access to water data, research and technical reports, online fact sheet, and water programs supported by the USGS.
The Mississippi State University Libraries supports a significant collection of journals in both print and electronic formats. The following titles are offered as an example of relevant resources in the area of water resource management. To search the Libraries' holdings for specific titles and volumes, consult the Galaxy Online Catalog. To search for electronic Journals, try the Electronic Journals service.
-
- Engineer Research and Development Center
http://libweb.wes.army.mil/index.htm
- Web portal for the library supporting the Waterways Experiment Station in Vicksburg, MS. Included on the web site is the digital archive of ERDC publications, providing online access to the pdf documents.
- Environmental Protection Agency Office of Water
http://www.epa.gov/OW/index.html
- Provides information on EPA's water related programs and access to data on water quality across the United States.
- GeoResources Institute (MSU)
http://www.gri.msstate.edu/gri-lr.php
- The GeoResources Institute at Mississippi State University provides access to online publications and useful links to other water resources. Includes material that used to be housed under the Water Resources Research Institute (WRRI).
-
-
-
- Marine Administration
http://www.marad.dot.gov/
- Department of Transportation's MARAD home page has online publications, data, and links to marine transportation sites.
- National Center for Intermodal Transportation (NCIT)
http://www.ie.msstate.edu/ncit/
- US-DOT sponsored research center devoted to intermodal transportation research. Provides access to online publications and ongoing research abstracts.
-
-
-
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
http://www.noaa.gov/
- Home page for all of NOAA's climatic and oceanographic information.
-
-
-
- National Sea Grant Library
http://nsgd.gso.uri.edu/
- Provides access to documents related to the Sea Grant program. Includes access to a number of "digital libraries" with online access to agency documents and reports.
- Navigation Data Center
http://www.iwr.usace.army.mil/ndc/
- A service of the US Army Corps of Engineers, this web resource provides data on ports, waterways, and waterborne commerce in the United States.
-
-
-
- Water Quality Information Center
http://www.nal.usda.gov/wqic/
- Supported by the National Agriculture Library, this resource provides access to a broad range of water resources. Includes a searchable interface to 42 free databases (most developed and made available by government agencies or universities.) Also includes an extensive list of bibliographies covering all facets of water research. Highly recommended.
-
- Water Resources Center Archives
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/WRCA/
- A service of the UC Berkeley Libraries, the WRCA is both a physical archive of materials as well as a virtual library supporting water research. Online resources include relevant research guides, an extensive listing of internet resources (by topic and by agency.)
- Water Resources Library (University of Wisconsin)
http://www.wri.wisc.edu/library/
- Web site supporting the Water Resources Library located at the University of Wisconsin. In addition to a description about the library and its services, this web resource provides access to related links and finding aids.
- American Institute of Hydrology
http://www.aihydro.org/
- Professional organization for students and researchers in the field of hydrology. Provides online access to the Bulletin and table of contents for other institute publications.
- American Society of Civil Engineers
http://www.asce.org/
- Major professional organization for civil engineers and related professions.
-
-
- American Water Resources Association
http://www.awra.org
- One of the major professional organizations dedicated to water resources and management students and researchers.
-
-
- Estuarine Research Federation
http://erf.org/
- A multidisciplinary organization dedicated to the study and management of the structure and functions of estuaries and the effects of human activities on these fragile environments.
- International Navigation Association (PIANC)
http://www.pianc-aipcn.org/
- Professional international association for marine transportation.
-
-
-
- National Ground Water Association
http://www.ngwa.org/index.html
- Membership based organization. This site provides information on industry publications as well as an excellent section on water resource materials for educators.
-
-
-
- Water Environment Federation
http://www.wef.org/Home
- Not-for-profit technical and educational organization dedicated to the preservation and enhancement of global water resources.
This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Coordinator of Library Instructional Services.
Created 7/22/03.

