U.S. History Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the field of United States history. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
- Benjamin, Jules R. A Student's Guide to History.
- http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/history/benjamin/index.htm
- This online version of Benjamin's A Student Guide to History provides an introduction to the various aspects of writing a history research paper.
- How and Where to Find History Book Reviews (PDF File)
- http://library.msstate.edu/resources/guides/bookreview.pdf
- This guide covers how to use America: History and Life, Book Review Index, and Book Review Digest to find scholarly book reviews covering American history.
-
-
- Real, Patrick. Reading, Writing, and Researching for History.
- http://academic.bowdoin.edu/WritingGuides/
- Created by the Bowdoin College History Department, this is a valuable site for the novice and experienced history student. Included on the website are guides for writing book reviews, essays, take home tests, and, of course, research papers.
-
- Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
- Ref LB 2369 .T8 1996 (Located behind the Reference Desk in the Ready Reference Collection.)
- This writing manual is considered the authority for those working in the history discipline.
Historical encyclopedias give general overviews of concepts just like a traditional encyclopedia. In addition to the concise explanations of important historical terminology, a historical encyclopedia includes a bibliography. The bibliography, although short, contains the most important works covering the subject at the time of publication. Historical dictionaries usually do not have a bibliography but do have very brief entries on a historical topic.
- Cayton, Mary Kupiec, and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of American Culture and Intellectual History. New York: Scribner, 2001.
Ref E169.1 .E624 2001
- Arranged chronologically and topically, this encyclopedia details events, ideas, and institutions that helped create the modern American cultural and intellectual identity.
- Cayton, Mary Kupiec, Elliot J. Gorn, and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of American Social History. New York: Scribner, 1993.
Ref HN57 .E58 1993
- Social history, now a popular area of historical study, is chronicled in brief topical essays in this three volume set.
- Cooke, Jacob Ernest, ed. Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies. New York: Scribner, 1993.
Ref E45 .E53 1993
- Issues covering the colonial experience in North America are covered in this work. The three volume work is arranged mostly by topic and not geographically.
- Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. New York: Scribner, 2001.
Ref E169.1 .E626 2001
- Included in this three volume set are the events, people, and issues that impacted an important century in the history of the United States.
- Heidler, David S. and Jeanne T. Heidler, eds. Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Ref E468 .E53 2000
- Unlike many of the reference books covering the Civil War, this book goes beyond the traditional topics of politics and military, including such topics as women and slaves. The maps of civil war battles are of particular interest as they are easy to read and understand.
- Jentleson, Bruce W. and Thomas G. Paterson, eds. Encyclopedia of United States Foreign Relations. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Ref E183.7 .E53 1997
- While many of the encyclopedias focus on activities within the boarders of the United States, this work focuses on any issue that involved other nations.
- Kutler, Stanley I. Dictionary of American History. New York: Thompson Learning, 2003.
Ref E174 .D52 2003
- This ten volume set has very brief entries of important events and concepts in American history. While the entries are not long, they are long enough to understand an historical event, person, or idea.
-
-
- Kutler, Stanley I., ed., Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century. New York: Scribner, 1996.
Ref E470.7 .E53 1996
- Like the Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, this volume includes the people, places, and issues that shaped our most recently concluded century.
- Morris, Richard B. and Jeffrey B. Morris, eds. Encyclopedia of American History. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1996.
Ref E174.5 .E52 1996
- This brief one volume has a deceptive title. The entries are brief and more like a dictionary. There is also a chronological list of important American events.
- Pendergast, Tom and Sara Pendergast, eds., St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.
Ref E169.1 .S764 2000
- The topics covered in this multi-volume work are more modern and far more social topics than the other encyclopedias. Among the entries are topics such as the hamburger, tanning, and Elvis.
-
- America: History & Life
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- America: History & Life is the core database for American history. This database covers all historical topics for the United States and Canada. In addition to indexing scholarly articles, it includes book reviews, dissertations, and media reviews published after 1964.
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. Boston: J.R. Osgood & Company.
Ref AI 3 .P7 1882
- Poole's indexes materials from 1802 to 1906. It is an excellent index for locating primary source material.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. New York: H. W. Wilson Company.
Ref AI 3 .R47
- Before there were computers, there was Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. The Readers' Guide indexes popular magazines from 1890 to the present. In addition there are a number of scholarly journals includes as well. Overall this source can be used to find both primary and secondary sources.
- WorldCat
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- WorldCat is an excellent database to locate books and other materials not included in the Mississippi State University Libraries collection. In addition to books the database also includes archival collections.
- Writings on American History. Millwood, NY: KTO Press, 1902-1978.
Ref Z1236 .L331
- This print index served as the pre-curser to America: History and Life. It indexes selective historical journals covering American history.
Understanding the changing ideas of historians overtime is an important aspect in the discipline of history. These books provide information dealing with different interpretations of historical topics as well as the individuals sharing their ideas with the world.
- Boyd, Kelly, ed. Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writings. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.
Ref D14 .E53 1999
- Covering all areas of history, this two volume set provides criticism about historians as well as historiographical essays on selected topics.
- Directory of American Scholars. Lancaster, PA: Gale Group,
Ref LA2311 .C32
- This frequently published work provides biographical information on scholars in the humanities and social sciences.
- Messenger, Charles. Readers Guide to Military History. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
Ref D25 .R35 2001
- International in scope, this volume contains historiographical essays on a variety of military history topics.
-
- Parish, Peter J., eds. Readers Guide to American History. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
Ref E178 .R43 1997
- Arranged topically this work provides brief historiographical essays on important topics in American history.
-
-
- Scanlon, Jennifer and Shaaron Cosner, eds. American Women Historians, 1700s - 1900s: A Biographical Dictionary Westpoint, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Ref E175.45 .S27 1996
- Arranged in dictionary format. This volume covers historians whose information is likely to be missing from other sources.
- Wilson, Clyde N., ed. American Historians 1607-1865. Detroit: Gale, 1984..
Ref E175.45 .A48 1984
- This edition of the Dictionary of Literary Biography provides biographical as well as critical information about early American historians.
- Wilson, Clyde N., ed. American Historians 1866-1912. Detroit: Gale, 1986..
Ref E175.45 .A483 1986
- Like the other editions of the Dictionary of Literary Biography covering historians, this title includes information about important historians from America.
- Wilson, Clyde N., ed. Twentieth Century American Historians Detroit: Gale, 1984..
Ref E175.45 .T85 1983
- Printed in 1983, this work does not cover all the American historians of the twentieth century, but does have biographical and critical interpretations for those who are included.
- American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html
- Hosted by the Library of Congress, American Memory is a searchable collection of more than seven million digital items. Besides written documents, there are photographs and audio files.
-
- Best of History Web Sites
http://www.besthistorysites.net/
- There are millions of web sites devoted to different historical events and issues, but how do you know which are the best. Best of History Web Sites is a list of valuable and reputable web sites reviewed by authorities. This site can serve as a portal to numerous useful sites.
- Bureau of the Census. Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. White Plains, NY: Kraus International Publications, 1989.
Ref HA 202 .H57 1989
- Historical statistics can be difficult to find, but the Historical Statistics of the United States, is an excellent place to start.
-
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
http://chla.library.cornell.edu/
- Created to preserve important texts of American agriculture, CHLA also contains many primary sources about rural life and sociology.
- Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/
- Created Items from the University of North Carolina's amazing Southern History Collection are available to distance users through this site. Among the topics covered are North Carolina during the Civil War and Southern literature.
- Guide to History on the Web
http://chnm.gmu.edu/assets/historyweb/historyweb.php
- Maintained by the Center for New History, the Guide to History on the Web is a search engine to quality history web sites. This is an excellent place to start looking for history web sites..
-
- Historical Text Archives
http://historicaltextarchive.com/
- Created and maintained by MSU's own Don Mabry, the Historical Text Archives is a portal to countless text files of historical information. In addition to primary sources, there are a number links to secondary historical works as well.
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/
- A collection of approximately 8,500 digitized books and 50,000 from the antebellum through reconstruction. While navigating and sometimes searching the site can be difficult, the wealth of information is amazing.
- Making of America (Cornell University)
http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/
- Set up almost exactly as the MOA site at the University of Michigan, Cornell provides access to 267 monographs and over 100,000 journal articles.
- Originally created by Sara Morris, created 08/14/02.
- This page is maintained by the Reference Department.

