United Nations Research Guide
The Mitchell Memorial Library of Mississippi State University has been a United Nations depository library since July 2001. This is a selective guide designed to assist researchers and students in gaining access to United Nations materials available within the library’s collections and databases, and via the Internet. Please contact the Government Documents and Microforms Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library, call (662) 325-0008, or contact LaDonne Delgado at ldelgado@library.msstate.edu for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions, or for a printed copy of this guide.
Citing United Nations Documents – Rule 20.7 of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Call Number – Ready Reference Ref. KF 245.B58) has rules for citing United Nations documents. Note that there are different rules for citing official records, sales publications, mimeographed documents, and yearbooks or periodicals. The Bluebook has specific rules on citing the Charter (Rule 20.7.5) and UNTS (Rule 20.4.5). T.3 shows which authorities to cite and how to abbreviate properly.
UN
System of Organizations
The United Nations replaced the League of Nations in 1945. The United Nations Charter was signed on June 26, 1945 at San Francisco (3 Bevans 1153, UN Yearbook). The mandate of the United Nations includes peace and security, economic and social development, human rights, decolonization and international law. It is composed of six principal organs and currently there are 189 member nations.
- Official United Nations Home Page (New York)
http://www.un.org/
- A complete UN site, including sections for Conferences and Events, General Information, UN Documents (full-text), Publications & Sales, Databases, UN News (including the UN Journal, Daily Highlights & Press Releases), UN Around the World, and What's New. There are also sections covering the UN's main areas of concern: Peace & Security, International Law, Economic & Social Development, Human Rights, and Humanitarian Affairs. The entire site is searchable. This is an excellent starting point if one has not already identified a more specific information resource.
- About the United Nations: Introduction to the Structure and Work in the UN
http://www.un.org/aboutun/
- Category headings are Background Information, Main Bodies, Main Documents, Guided Tours, UN On-Line Tour, Who’s Who, Member States, Staff Services, and Mailing Address. Also has links to employment opportunities, internships at headquarters, recruitment through competitive examinations, media accreditations and an NGO Section.
- Official Website Locator for the UNITED NATIONS System of Organizations
http://www.unsystem.org/
- A consolidated effort to provide access to official UN web sites by various methods including an alphabetical index of all United Nations Organizations (UNOs); a classified index; a listing of which UNOs have online information for frequently requested items, e.g. conference schedules, library and documentation services, press releases, etc.; and a subject index. Also offers access to UN-related sites, including other international organizations.
- Organization Chart of the UN System
http://www.un.org/aboutun/chart.html
- Excellent printable version of the UN System with hot links to most of the UN organs.
- Principal United Nations Offices Around the World
http://www.un.org/aroundworld/map/
- This map of the world is a handy way to locate other UN web sites, including specialized agencies, programmes, and regional commissions. Has embedded hot links to offices listed.
- United-Nations.start4all.com
http://united-nations.start4all.com/
- Very useful, compact overview directory of information available from the UN and related organizations on the Internet.
Principal Organs of the United Nations
- General Assembly
http://www.un.org/ga/ (Main Site), http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/gasess.htm (Research Guide)
- The General Assembly is the main deliberative organ of the United Nations. It is composed of representatives of all Member States, each of which has one vote. Decisions on important questions, such as those on peace and security, admission of new Members and budgetary matters, require a two-thirds majority. Decisions on other questions are reached by a simple majority. These decisions may be adopted without a vote, or with a vote, which may be recorded, non-recorded or by roll-call.
- Economic and Social Council
http://www.un.org/esa/coordination/ecosoc/ (Main Site), http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/ecsess.htm (Guide)
- The Economic and Social Council was established by the Charter as the principal organ, under the authority of the General Assembly, to promote: (a) higher standards of living, full employment, and conditions of economic and social progress and development; (b) solutions of international economic, social, health, and related problems; and international cultural and educational cooperation; and (c) universal respect for, and observance of, human rights and fundamental freedoms for all without distinction as to race, sex, language, or religion. The council has 54 members who serve three-year terms. Voting in the Council is by simple majority; each member has one vote. Most of the work of the Council is carried out by its various commissions.
- International Court of Justice
http://www.icj-cij.org/
- The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. Its seat is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a dual role: to settle in accordance with international law the legal disputes submitted to it by States, and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized international organs and agencies. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected to nine-year terms of office by the United Nations General Assembly and Security Council sitting independently of each other. It may not include more than one judge of any nationality. Elections are held every three years for one-third of the seats, and retiring judges may be re-elected. The Members of the Court do not represent their governments but are independent magistrates.
- Secretariat
http://www.un.org/documents/st.htm
- The Secretariat, an international staff working at the United Nations Headquarters in New York and all over the world, carries out the diverse day-to-day work of the Organization. It services the other principal organs of the United Nations and administers the programmes and policies laid down by them. At its head is the Secretary-General, who is appointed by the General Assembly on the recommendation of the Security Council for a five- year, renewable term.
- Security Council
http://www.un.org/Docs/sc (Main Site), http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/scsess.htm (Research Guide)
- The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. It is so organized as to be able to function continuously, and a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council has 15 members-- five permanent members (China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, and United States) and 10 elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms.
- Trusteeship Council
http://www.un.org/documents/tc.htm
- Composed of the permanent Security Council members. In November 1994 the last of the original 11 Trust Territories was removed from its administrative authority. Having completed its original mandate, the Council will meet in the future only as need arises.
Specialized Agencies of the United Nations
The specialized agencies are separate, autonomous organizations related to the UN by special agreements. The following links will give detailed listings of these agencies with links to each agency's web sites and information.
- IGO (International Governmental Organizations) Internet Sites
http://www.stanford.edu/group/Jonsson/igourl.html
- Authored by Chuck Eckman, Jonsson Library of Government Documents, Stanford University.
- International Governmental Organizations
http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govpub/resource/internat/igo.html
- Maintained by Mike McCaffrey-Novis, International Documents Librarian at Northwestern University.
- UN System Sites
http://www.un.org/aroundworld/
- Links to other organizations affiliated with the UN.
- UNDCCP List of United Nations and Other International Organizations’ Web Links
http://www.undcp.org/unlinks.html
- The UN Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention provides various links to UN web sites, Model UN web sites and related Non-UN web sites (grouped by subject).
Background Information and History (Basic Reference Tools)
- Baratta, Joseph Preston. United Nations System, International Organizations Series, volume 10. New Brunswick : Transaction Publishers, 1995.
Ref. JX 1977.B284 1995 Reference, 2nd Floor
- An excellent, selective, annotated, critical bibliography of the United Nations. The lengthy annotations cover books, articles, pamphlets, directories, databases, and theses. Includes subject and author indexes.
- Basic Facts about the United Nations. New York : United Nations Department of Public Information, 2000.
[ST]DPI/2155 UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.un.org/aboutun/basicfacts/ for 2000 edition, only gives summaries of each section.
- The book reflects the wide range of concerns and the multitude of ways in which the United Nations touches the lives of people everywhere. It details efforts of peacekeeping operations to end some of the world's most intractable conflicts; action to assist victims of disaster, protect human rights and advance international law; and the vast work the United Nations system carries out throughout the world to eradicate poverty and foster economic and social development.
- Gorman, Robert F. Great Debates at the United Nations : An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues 1945-2000. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2001.
Ref. KZ 4968.G67 2001 Reference, 2nd Floor
- Perfect for promoting student debate and critical thinking, and ideal for use by Model UN clubs, this ready-reference guide provides information and critical examinations of the 50 most important issues debated in United Nations history. Entries are organized in chronological order based on their first appearance on the UN agenda. Each entry consists of four narrative sections: the significance of the issue; the historical, social and economic background of the issue; the history of the UN debate and intervention on the issue and the positions of various nations; and the outcome of each debate.
- Hajnal, Peter I., ed. International Information: Documents, Publications, and Electronic Information of International Government Organizations, 2nd ed. Englewood, CO : Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1997.
Ref. JZ 4850.I58 1997 Reference, 2nd Floor
JZ 4850.I58 1997eb E-Resource
- The most essential and up-to-date reference work on IGOs from the library and research perspective. This revised work examines the documentation, publications, and computerized information services of major IGOs, such as the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the League of Nations, the International Development Research Center, and the G-7. Special attention is given to the consequences of recent institutional restructuring and retrenchment.
- Matsuura, Kumiko, Joachim W. Müller, and Karl P. Sauvant, eds. Chronology and Fact Book of the United Nations, 8th ed. Dobbs Ferry, NY : Oceana Publications, Inc., 1992.(Ceased with 8th edition)
Ref. JX 1977.H64 1992 Gov Docs Ready Ref, 2nd Floor
- An irregular supplement to the Annual Review of United Nations Affairs, this publication is an especially useful checklist and includes a chronological survey of UN-related events, reproduces the UN Charter, rules of procedure for each organ, and membership tables for each of the UN bodies.
- Osmańczyk, Edmund Jan. The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, 3rd ed. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Ref. KZ4968.084 2003, 4 vols., Microforms Reference, 2nd Floor
- A unique compendium of political, economic and social information in one volume. It contains data on the structure of the UN, its specialized agencies, and the many intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations, international and regional, which cooperate with the United Nations.
- Everyman’s United Nations: A Complete Handbook of the Activities and Evolution of the United Nations During its First Twenty Years, 1945-1965, 8th ed. New York : United Nations, 1968.
Ref. JX 1977.A37E9 8th ed. 1968 Reference, 2nd Floor
- This guide gives a detailed account of the activities and evolution of the United Nations during its first twenty years, 1945 through 1965. It covers political and security questions, economic and social questions, human rights questions, trust and non-self-governing territories questions, legal questions, and administrative and budgetary questions.
- Everyone’s United Nations, 9th ed. New York : United Nations, 1979.
Ref. JX 1977.A37E9 9th ed. 1979 Reference, 2nd Floor
- A compact reference book on the United Nations and its family of organizations. It describes the structure and activities of the United Nations and the 17 intergovernmental agencies related to it, concentrating on their work during the 12 years up to 1977-1978. If forms a companion volume to the eighth edition of Everyman’s United Nations.
- A Guide to Information at the United Nations. New York : United Nations, 1995.
Ref. JX 1977.U42 1995 Reference, 2nd Floor
- Guide to the activities and publications of each of the principal organizations and bodies within the United Nations system. Each organizational entry describes the following: mandates; major programs; recent expenditures; publications; and information contacts.
- United Nations Handbook, 39th ed. Wellington, New Zealand : Ministry of External Relations and Trade. 2001.
Ref. JX 1977.2 .N5 U55 Gov Docs Ready Ref, 2nd Floor
- An excellent source. A clearly ordered guide to the UN, covering the six principal organs, subsidiary bodies and associated bodies. Provides up-to-date information on the structure, aims and membership of UN bodies and is a useful reference tool for delegates, diplomats, foreign ministry officials, academics, media, other interested groups and members of the public. Published annually since 1961.
- United States Participation in the UN : A Report by the President to the Congress for the Year...Washington, DC : Government Printing Office. Annually.
S 1.49:7 1946 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
S 1.70/3: 1947-1957 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
S 1.70: 1959-1983 Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
S 1.70/8:1984 to present Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.state.gov/www/issues/ioparticipation.html
- Describes the participation of the United States in the UN.
Current Awareness (News Sources)
Newspapers and periodicals are excellent sources of information about the United Nations, its current developments and its activities in New York and abroad. The New York Times, the Times (London), Le Monde (Paris), and the Economist include significant coverage of the United Nations.
- Annual Review of United Nations Affairs. Dobbs Ferry, NY : Oceana Publications, Inc. Annually.
JX 1977.A1 A5 1949, 1967 to present Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor
- An expanded and detailed privately published accounting of the work of the United Nations. Although “solely official UN documentation is used in compiling this review.” The work of numerous bodies and sections within the UN and the specialized agencies is described in a detailed chronological listing which explains what actions were taken and gives the related documents text (many in full-text).
- CyberSchoolBus
http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/
- The CyberSchoolBus is the United Nation’s global teaching and learning project. It contains a great deal of information about global trends, information about UN Member States, country and city profiles, statistics, photographs, and educational modules and activities. A recent addition is the UN Core Treaties page. This page provides "student-friendly versions" of "the world's most important agreements". Available in English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian and Chinese.
- Daily Highlights: United Nations Brief Press Summaries, United Nations Department of Public Information, Central News Service.
http://www.un.org/News/ (1996 to present)
- Daily press summary listing key events at UN Headquarters in New York with reference to key documents.
- UN Pulse
http://unhq-appspub-01.un.org/lib/dhlrefweblog.nsf
- UN Pulse, a blog highlighting slected UN online information, major reports, publications, and documents.
- A Global Agenda: Issues before the....General Assembly of the United Nations: An annual publication of the United Nations Association of the United States of America. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc. Annually.
JX 1977.A1 U52442 2000-2001 Circulating Stacks, 3rd Floor
JX 1977.A1 U52442 2001-2002 Circulating Stacks, 3rd Floor
- Designed to serve international affairs scholars and concerned citizens alike, each volume of this title offers a comprehensive overview of the many and disparate activities of the entire UN system over the course of a year, placing them in the context of ongoing events.
- Continues: Issues Before the....General Assembly of the United Nations. Lexington, Mass. : Lexington Books. Annually.
JX 1977.A1 U5244a 42nd Circulating Stacks, 3rd Floor
JX 1977.A1 U5244a 44th Circulating Stacks, 3rd Floor
- Global Policy Forum
http://www.globalpolicy.org/
- GPF monitors the global policy making process at the United Nations. It has addressed issues primarily in three areas: the UN Security Council and Council reform, the UN financial crisis, and social and economic policy at the global level.
- Journal of the United Nations, New York, United Nations, 1996-
http://www.un.org/Docs/journal/En/lateste.pdf
- The Journal is an often underutilized resource which serves two key purposes: (1) It informs individuals of meetings of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and other bodies scheduled to take place on a given day, as well as identifies the symbols of ajor documents to be considered at the meetings -- even when the documents may not yet have been officially released; and (2) It summarizes actions taken at the previous day's meetings and can be used by researchers who have a basic familiarity with the UN's document series symbol system to project symbols of meeting records and resolutions even before they are officially issued.
- United Nations Chronicle
http://www.un.org/Pubs/chronicle/
ST/OPI(05)C3/2001 to present MSU UN Gov Docs 2nd Floor
v.1(1964) to v.37(2000) MSU Bound Journals 1st Floor
- Quarterly magazine containing updates on the latest activities at the United Nations. Web site has only selected articles from recent issues. The Chronicle is also offered in full-text through Academic Search Premier.
- United Nations Foundation
http://www.unfoundation.org/
- The United Nations Foundation seeks to support the goals and objectives of the United Nations and its Charter in order to promote a more peaceful, prosperous, and just world - with special emphasis on the UN's work, especially on behalf of economic, social, environmental and humanitarian causes.
- UN News Center
http://www.un.org/News/
- Maintained by the United Nation’s Department of Public Information. Includes searchable press releases via three different options: the thirty latest press releases, search the latest thirty days of press releases, or search the press releases archive. Also includes full-text access to some of the UN’s web periodicals and documents about current world events.
- UN Wire
http://www.unfoundation.org/unwire/
- Free service sponsored by the United Nations Foundation and Smart Brief, featuring daily summaries of key news stories from around the world. Has direct links to full-text, audio, video and additional sources of information on the Internet. Starts from January 1999.
- Yearbook of the United Nations. New York : United Nations Department of Public Information (co-published by Martinus Nijhoff since 1989). Annually.
Ref. JX 1977.A37 Y4 1946-1973 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Ref. JX 1977.A37 Y4 v.28(1974) to present Reference, 2nd Floor
ST/DPI(05)Y3/ v.53(1999) to present UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- Annual authoritative publication on the activities of the organization during a particular year. Includes extensive surveys of the activities of the principal organs with reference to resolutions, decisions, and major reports. Includes full-text of the Secretary General's Report on the Activities of the Organization and key resolutions. Extensive subject index. Includes summaries of activities of the major IGOs. Excellent place to begin research if interested in a specific time period. Indexing is clear and comprehensible and document symbols are given to facilitate retrieval of actual documentation.
Indexes and Databases (Searching Tools)
Official Indexes and Databases
- Index to the Proceedings of the...
...Economic and Social Council (2000- ) ST/LIB/SER.B/E UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
...General Assembly (1999-) ST/LIB/SER.B/A UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
...Security Council (none yet) ST/LIB/SER.B/S UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
...Trusteeship Council (none yet) ST/LIB/SER.B/T UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- There are indexes to the "proceedings" of each of four principal organs. These are detailed indexes to the Official Records for each organ, including subject, speaker, and country/corporate name indexes. Most recent years of the GA and ECOSOC indexes also include voting tables.
- Official Document System (ODS)
** In order to remotely access Official Document System, you must be affiliated with
Mississippi State University. **
- The United Nations Official Document System is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full-text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations—Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. Documents are stored in two databases: UN documentation with comprehensive coverage beginning in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and UN Resolutions, which includes the official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946.
- UNBISnet
http://unbisnet.un.org/
- Catalog of UN publications and documentation (including the Voting Records and Index to Speeches) indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office of Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 forward, however, indexing for resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council are included back to 1945. See also UNBIS Thesaurus.
- UN Documentation Centre
http://www.un.org/documents/
- Full-text, PDF files of recent major documents produced by the six principal organs of the UN, including resolutions of the General Assembly and the Security Council and Reports of the Secretary-General. Also includes a link to the UN Cartographic Section which comprises map and geographic information resources.
- UN Publications Catalogue
http://www.un.org/Pubs/update/update.htm
- Includes titles published by the United Nations. Entries refer to the English editions, but indications are also given as to the availability in Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian or Spanish. The catalogue also includes a selection of best-selling and important titles from prior years.
- UN-I-QUE : United Nations Info Quest
http://lib-unique.un.org/lib/unique.nsf
- UN-I-QUE is a ready-reference file created by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library to respond to frequently asked questions, and is designed to provide quick access to document symbols/sales numbers for UN materials (1946 onwards). It focuses upon documents and publications of a recurrent nature. Information within each record is presented in reverse chronological order to facilitate identification of the most recent data.
- United
Nations Treaty Collection
** In order to remotely access United Nations Treaty Collection, you must be
affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
This Collection comprises the following eleven databases as well as technical assistance:
- Status of Multilateral Treaties
Deposited with the Secretary-General
ST/LEG/SER.E/ 2001 to present UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- This database contains the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General. Links to the full-texts are provided. For the texts of these agreements, refer to the United Nations Treaty Series.
- Also available on this site are:
Summary of Practice of the Secretary-General as Depositary of Multilateral Treaties
- This on-line publication prepared by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs highlights the main features of the practice followed by the Secretary-General in the daily exercise of depositary functions. Contains models of instruments, depositary notifications, etc.
- Treaty Handbook
ST/LEG(09)T84 UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://untreaty.un.org/English/TreatyHandbook/hbframeset.htm
- This publication has been prepared by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs as a guide to the Secretary-General's practice as a depositary of multilateral treaties and the Secretariat's practice in relation to the registration and publication functions.
- Depositary Notification (CNs) by the Secretary-General
- The depositary is required to provide treaty related information to all interested parties on the treaties deposited with him. The Secretary-General, as depositary of multilateral treaties, provides this information by issuing depositary notifications.
- Notes Verbales from the Legal Counsel Relating to the Depositary Practice and the Registrations of Treaties Pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter
- To facilitate access by Member States, international organizations and other interested entities to notes verbales issued by the Legal Counsel on matters concerning the registration and publication of treaties and depositary requirements, the relevant notes are made available on-line.
- Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements
- This publication is issued monthly by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs pursuant to article 13 of the Regulations prior to their publication in the UNTS pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. It contains detailed record of treaties and related subsequent treaty actions which were registered or filed and recorded with the Secretariat on a given month.
- UN Treaty Series Cumulative Index
- In order to facilitate reference to the United Nations Treaty Series, the Secretariat publishes a Cumulative Index (in English and French). This continues the practice of the League of Nations, which published a similar index to its Treaty Series. A volume of the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index is issued for every fifty volumes of the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS).
- Photographs – Treaty Actions
- This collection consists of photographs taken at signature ceremonies relating to multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General.
- Titles in the UN Official Languages
- This collection consists of the titles of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
- United Nations Treaty Series(UNTS)
- A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. The UNTS includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate.
- Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties
- This collection consists of the texts of multilateral treaties recently deposited with the Secretary-General that have not yet been published in the United Nations Treaty Series.
-
The next four printed indexes are listed chronologically superseding each previous title.
United Nations Documents Index (UNDI), 1950-1973. New York : United Nations.
Ref. JX Z 6482.U45 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Ref. JX Z 6482.K7 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- First general index covering UN documents and publications other than restricted and internal material. The main parts include a checklist arranged by document series symbol and giving full bibliographic information and author-title-subject index. MSU’s holdings include some cumulative volumes.
- UNDEX : United Nations Document Index, 1974-1978. New York : United Nations.
Series A: Subject Index. Ref.
JX Z 6481.U4 v.5(1974)-v.9(1978) Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Series B: Country Index. Ref.
JX Z 6841.U42 v.5(1974)-v.9(1978) Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Series C: List of Documents Issued. Ref. JX Z 6841.U425 v.1(1974)-v.5(1978) Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
- Second general index to UN masthead documents, sales publications and official records.
- UNDOC, 1979-1997. New York : United Nations.
Ref. JX Z 6481.U43 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
NHX JX Z 6481.U43 Microforms Collection, 2nd Floor
- Provides
access by subject, author, and title. Provides comprehensive bibliographic
information for documents; a list of Official Records and sales
publications; a list of documents republished in the Official Records;
and a list of new document series symbols. (Issued quarterly in paper format
and cumulated annually on fiche of which MSU has 1992-1994).
- United Nations Documents Index, 1998--. New York : United Nations, Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Quarterly.
ST/LIN/SER.N/ 2000 to present
UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- The United Nations Documents Index covers documents and publications issued by United Nations offices worldwide. The publication indexes a wide variety of documentation such as major reports and studies, resolutions and decisions, draft resolutions and meeting records, including documents of restricted distribution. The information in this publication is arranged in the following nine sections: documents and publications; official records; sales publications; United Nations maps included in UN documents; United Nations sheet maps; United Nations document series symbols; author index; title index and subject index.
Additional Indexes and Databases
- Academic Search Premier
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes nearly 3,000 scholarly journals and provides full-text for over 1,700 journals. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. This database covers the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Covers over 500 sources published by more than 100 organizations around the world from 1992 to present. Full-text access to women's issues related to health and reproductive rights, development, human rights, and legal issues drawn from the alternative press, government reports, proceedings, and other sources.
- Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Lexis-Nexis is the world's largest provider of credible, in-depth legal, government, business, and high-tech information. Access to full-text newspapers, periodicals, and wire service articles.
- Newspaper Source
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Newspaper Source provides selected full-text coverage for more than 200 U.S. and international newspapers, newswires and other sources.
- PAIS International
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Web and print-based index to English and foreign language books, pamphlets, journal articles, and government publications in the area of public affairs and public policy.
- SocIndex with Full Text
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Database that provides comprehensive coverage of all sub-disciplines of sociology, including criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, religion, social structure, and anthropology.
Directories
- Europa World Year Book. London : Europa. Annually.
Ref. JN 1.E85 1964-1980 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Ref. JN 1.E85 22nd ed.(1981) to present Reference, 2nd Floor
- Extensive descriptions of the United Nations principal organs, related and autonomous agencies, and a large number of regional and functional IGOs. Descriptions include addresses, phone and fax numbers, organizational histories and goals, and major publications.
- Permanent Missions to the United Nations. New York : United Nations. Semiannual with daily updates.
ST/SG/SER.A/ UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
http://www.un.int/index-en/index.html
- Semiannual publication listing members of permanent missions to UN Headquarters, including member countries, countries with observer status, and other international governmental organizations. Also includes listing of current membership of the Security Council, Economic and Social Council, International Court of Justice, and the Trusteeship Council.
- Greenfield, Stanley R., ed. Who’s Who in the United Nations and Related Agencies, 2nd ed. Detroit : Omnigraphics, 1992.
Ref. JX 1977.W467 1992 Gov Docs Ready Reference, 2nd Floor
- Biographies of high administrative officers of the United Nations and ambassadors to the United Nations and related agencies in New York, Geneva, and Vienna during 1991. Includes indexes by nationality and organization.
Statistical Information
- Demographic Yearbook : Annuaire Démographique. New York : United Nations. Annually.
Ref. HA 17.D45 1st Issue(1948)-26th Issue(1974) Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Ref. HA 17.D45 27th Issue(1975) to present Reference, 2nd Floor
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.R/ 51st Issue(1999) to present UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- An international source of statistics that contains basic statistical data for over 200 countries or areas to meet the needs of demographers, economists, public-health workers and sociologists, among others. It presents general tables giving a world summary of basic demographic statistics, followed by tables on the size, distribution and trends in population, fertility, mortality, marriage and divorce, international migration and population census data.
- Monthly Bulletin of Statistics. New York : United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Monthly.
v.2(1948) to v.54(2000) Bound Journals, 1st Floor
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.Q/ v.55(2001) to present UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- This publication presents current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and territories of the world. In addition, each month a selection of special tables shows annual and/or quarterly data on subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments. Most of these special tables are also published annually in the United Nations Statistical Yearbook.
- Statistical
Universe
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites. Statistical Universe also serves as the index for ASI (American Statistics Index) which is a microfiche collection housed in the Library’s Microforms Area.
- Statistical Yearbook. New York : United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Annually.
Ref. HA 12.5.U63 24th Issue (1972) to present Reference, 2nd Floor
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.S/ 45th Issue (1998) to present UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- A comprehensive compendium of vital internationally comparable data for the analysis of socio-economic development at the world, regional and national levels. The Yearbook provides data on the world economy, its structure, major trends and current performance, as well as on issues such as population and social statistics, economic activity and international economic relations. Updated monthly by the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics.
- Statistical Yearbook, (UNESCO). Paris : United Nations Educations, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Annually.
Ref. AZ 361.U45 1970-1983 Inactive Reference, 4th Floor
Ref. AZ 361.U45 1984 to present Reference, 2nd Floor
- The data contained in this Yearbook is gathered from official replies to UNESCO questionnaires and special surveys but also from official reports and publications, and are then processed and compiled by staff of the UNESCO Division of Statistics.
- UN Statistics Division
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/
- Compendium of selected UN economic, demographic and social statistics available free or by subscription. Also includes references and direct links to national and international statistical publications.
- United Nations UNSTATS Common Database
** In order to remotely access Academic Search Elite, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Full-text global statistical database providing selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. A guide for using UNSTATS is also available.
- World Statistics Pocketbook. New York : United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Annually.
ST/ESA/STAT/SER.V/ 2000 to present UN Gov Docs, 2nd Floor
- This handy statistical pocketbook provides an easy-to-use international compilation of basic economic, social and environmental indicators for 209 countries and areas worldwide. It covers 57 key indicators in the areas of population, health, surface area, refugees, national accounts, currency, international trade, communications, education, culture, labor force, industrial production, environment and United Nations membership based on over 20 international statistical sources. The layout provides an easy-to-view comprehensive statistical profile of each country or area; and the notes on sources and definitions on indicators provide a valuable guide for further research.
Research Guides
- Global Issues on the UN Agenda
http://www.un.org/partners/civil_society/agenda.htm
- A truly excellent UN source by subject. After choosing a subject, it is broken down into Events, Document Resources, Learning and Multimedia Resources, Partners, Speeches and starts with a home page which serves as a guide through the UN system for that particular subject.
- Model UN Research
http://www.libraries.psu.edu/socialsciences/modelun/index.htm
- This guide is intended to help Model United Nations (MUN) students and other researchers locate information on countries in UN publications and related library resources. A suggested research strategy is outlined along with the most commonly used sources for obtaining background information on the UN and your country, text of debate, resolutions, and voting records. Created by Chuck Eckman, Principal Government Documents Librarian, Jonsson Library, Stanford University.
- Research Guide: The United Nations
http://www.law.columbia.edu/library/research_guides/internat_law/un
- A detailed guide to conducting research on the UN, including descriptions of the UN structure and its publishing system, research strategies, and how to locate UN documents. It is directed to the researcher working at the Columbia Law Library and on the internet.
- Research: International
http://www.bu.edu/lawlibrary/training/classes/introfcil.html
- Research Guide from Boston University’s Law Library. Gives a tremendous amount of information by branching into sub-web sites.
- United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library Reference Guides
http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/subjectguides.htm
- This page includes links to bibliographies on UN reform, the Security Council, the UN Charter, peace-keeping operations, major UN conferences, and the UN Secretary-General.
- United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/
- Also produced by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library, this guide is designed for researchers and information professionals new to United Nations documentation. It provides an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g., reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance on how to work with them. A detailed description of the structure of UN document symbols is included.
- United Nations Scholars’ Workstation at Yale University
http://www.library.yale.edu/un/
- Although intended for Yale researchers, this guide is an excellent collection of texts, finding aids, data sets, maps, and pointers to print and electronic information. Web links are organized by UN organizational structure, research topic, geographic area, biographical information and current U.S. legislation.
- United Nations System Pathfinder
http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/pathfind/frame/start.htm
- Tool to aid in the identification of major publications
printed and electronic of the organizations of the United Nations system. It
attempts to cover the full spectrum of United Nations system activities but
focuses primarily on current issues.
There are many additional
publications and resources on all aspects of the United Nations system which
are accessible via the MSU Library’s online catalog, databases and the
Internet. Search the online catalog using keywords
or the subject heading United Nations to locate additional materials.