This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources available for research into various types of tests and measurement tools. Other guides in the area of education, sociology, and psychology may also be of use. Users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
These are a few of the broad (Library of Congress) subject headings you can use to locate books in the Online Catalog:
- Psychological Tests
- Educational Tests and Measurements
- Psychometrics
- Personality Tests
- Intelligence Tests
- Aptitude Tests
- [Specific Test Name]
The following Library of Congress call numbers cover the area of psychological or educational testing and measurement.
- BF39 - BF 39.2 (Psychometrics)
- BF176 - BF 176.5 (Psychological Tests)
- LB1762 (Teaching Exams)
- LB3051 - LB3060 (Educational Tests and Measurements)
- RA408.5 (Health Surveys)
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Volumes 1-7.
Ref BF 431 .G625
- Identifies and describes non-commercial experimental mental measures from the fields of psychology, sociology, and education.
-
- ETS Test Collection Catalog. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1992.
Ref LB 3051 E79 1992
- Describes tests and evaluation tools covering all age and grade levels and a wide range of disciplines.
-
- Mental Measurements Yearbook. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements.
- Ref LB Z 5814 .P8 B932 [Latest edition located at the Ready Reference Desk]
- Provides descriptive information, references, and critical reviews of commercially published tests in English. Note that each volume is supplemental and users may need to consult older editions to locate a given test description. Older editions are available in the Reference Room.
-
- Test Critiques. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed. Volumes 1-10.
Ref BF 176 .T419 [Volumes 1-10 are also available in the circulating collection.]
- Provides descriptive and evaluative information on some of the most often used tests in the area of psychology, education and business.
-
- Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 1997. 4th ed.
- Ref BF 176 .T43 1997
- Provides descriptive entries for over 1,000 English language tests in the fields of psychology, education, and business.
-
-
- Tests in Print VI. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 2002.
Ref Z 5814 .E9 T47 14th ed. 2002 [Located at the Ready Reference Desk]
- A comprehensive bibliography of commercially-available English language tests. The most recent edition is available at the Ready Reference desk; older editions are available in the Reference Room.
The following databases index articles of interest to researchers in the areas of testing and measurement.
-
- Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
-
-
- ERIC
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- PsycINFO
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
-
- SocIndex with Full Text
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
-
-
|
Selected Internet Resources |
- Applied Psychometric Society
- http://www.fordham.edu/aps/
- Professional organization devoted to the study of the design and analysis of research and measurement of human characteristics. Provides organizational information and links to other resources of interest.
-
-
- Buros Institute of Mental Measures
- http://www.unl.edu/buros/
- Home page of the Buros Institute of Mental Measures, one of the major publishers of mental measurements and evaluations directories. Addition options on the web page are available in the pull-out menu on the left-hand side of the web page.
-
- Code of Fair Testing Practices in Education
- http://www.apa.org/science/fairtestcode.html
- Developed by the American Psychological Association, the code lays out the responsibilities and obligations to test takers by professional administering psychological testing instruments.
-
-
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation
- http://ericae.net/
- Provides information on educational assessment, evaluation, and research methodology. Note that the Test Locator is no longer supported by ERIC (users are referred to the Test Reviews Online, listed below.) This site was ceased as of August 2006 but some material may still be useful.
-
- ETS: Educational Testing Service
- http://www.ets.org/
- Website of the world's largest private educational testing and measurement organization.
-
- FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests
- http://www.apa.org/science/faq-findtests.html
- FAQ maintained by the American Psychological Association on finding and using psychological tests.
-
- Rights and Responsibilities of Test Takers: Guidelines and Expectations
- http://www.apa.org/science/ttrr.html
- Document developed by the American Psychological Association which explicitly states the rights and responsibilities of "test takers".
- Test Reviews Online
- http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp
- Sponsored by the Buros Institute, this online service permits searching of the Buros test database. The database supports searching by title, subject or keyword. Permits searching of all entries in the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Entries provide basic information; more in-depth information is available in the print volumes or may be purchased online.
-
-
-
- Association of Test Publishers
- http://www.testpublishers.org/
-
-
- EdITS (Educational and Industrial Testing Service)
- http://www.edits.net/
-
-
-
- Harcourt Assessment
- http://harcourtassessment.com/HAIWEB/Cultures/en-us/default
-
- PAR (Pscyhological Assessment Resources, Inc)
- http://www.parinc.com/
-
-
- Pro-Ed, Inc.
- http://www.proedinc.com/
-
- WPS (Western Psychological Services)
- http://www.wpspublish.com
-
These are just a few of the journals available in the Mississippi State University Libraries' collection.
- Applied Measurement in Education
Applied Psychological Measurement
Assessment
Assessment for Effective Intervention
Assessment in Education: Principles, Policy & Practice
Educational and Psychological Measurement (EPM)
Educational Measurement, Issues and Practice
Journal of Educational Measurement
Journal of Psychoeducational Assessment
Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development
Psychological Assessment
Review of Educational Research
- Most resources in this area will use APA or the American Psychological Association citation style. The following resources may assist you in properly citing your material.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington DC: American Psychological Association, 2001. 5th ed.
- Ref BF 76.7 .P83 2001 [Latest edition located at the Ready Reference Desk]
- Classic manual for citing materials with the APA style.
- Electronic References (APA)
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html
- Developed by the APA to provide the latest information on citing electronic resources using the APA style guide.
- APA Citation Style
http://campusgw.library.cornell.edu/newhelp/res_strategy/citing/apa.html
- Online guide to citing materials using APA's citation style.
-
This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee.
Created 8/26/03.