Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Standards Research Guide

This guide provides some of the sources useful in identifying and locating standards. Below you will find a list of print, online, and Internet resources available through MSU Libraries. For further assistance with any of these resources, please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian.

What is a standard?

Standards are detailed instructions about how something is to be manufactured, managed, designed, or otherwise handled. The term "standard" is sometimes used interchangeably with the term "specification," although a specification is usually limited to a certain application, whereas a standard has broader, more universal application. Standards are usually written by an authoritative body such as a professional organization, a government agency, or a manufacturer, as well as by national or international standards agencies (1).

There are over 400 organizations outside the government which prepare standards in the U.S., whereas most other countries have one centralized agency which is principally responsible for generating national standards. In addition, there are international groups which issue standards that are applicable across national boundaries. Often, organizations work together to prepare standards, and many adopt standards originated by others. Adherence to a particular standard is often mandated by law, but a major reason for use of standards is economic. Using standard materials, components, and products saves time, expense, and materials, as well as helping to ensure quality.

The role of standards

Standards and specifications fall into the following categories:

  • Dimensional: assure uniformity and interchangeability of the types and sizes of manufactured components. Facilitate the replacement of worn-out or damaged parts.
  • Materials: specify composition, quality and properties of materials.
  • Performance: specify minimum performance or quality of products or components to assure acceptable levels of efficiency and safety.
  • Test methods: provide uniform procedures for comparing the quality or performance of products.
  • Codes of practice: define procedures for construction, installation, operation, and maintenance to insure uniformity and safety.
  • Standard definitions and symbols: define the use of terminology and symbols for unambiguous communication.
  • Documentation: provide standardized procedures for layout, production, reproduction, distribution, classification, indexing and bibliographic description of documents.

Collections in Mitchell Memorial Library

Print

Index and Directory of Industry Standards. Englewood, CO: Information Handling Services, 1998. Ref TA 368 .I5. U.S. and non-U.S. standards. Includes subject index and numeric listing.

Annual Book of ASTM Standards. Philadelphia, PA: American Society for Testing and Materials, 1994. Ref TA 401 .A653. Consists of 70 volumes, divided among 16 sections. Contains approved ASTM standards, proposals, emergency standards. Search by subject, alphanumeric list, standard number.

Electronic

IEEE - Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers Standards.
From the IEEE page, choose "standards" from the table of contents menu at left. Standards not owned by MSU may be requested through interlibrary loan (ILL) at https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/logon.html. Under "Request Types" choose "Request a Standards Document." Include the title, issuing agency, standard number, and year, as well as the maximum amount you would be willing to pay for your request.

Searching for standards in the library catalog

The library does have some individual standards in hardcopy. Search the catalog by title, subject heading, or keywords.

Title search: Choose "exact search," and type in the standards title.

Keyword search: Choose "keyword search" and search type "keyword." Enter key terms. Example: ANSI wood

Subject search: Same as title search, except choose "subject" and type in the Library of Congress subject heading terms. Example: frequency standards

Collections on the Internet

National Standards

ASTM International Standards Worldwide
http://www.astm.org
One of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world. Search more than 11,000 ASTM standards in industrial, management, and other areas. Search by keyword or standard numbers. See the titles and scopes of all ASTM standards and the documents referenced in each standard. Students can order the document online for a fee, or through document delivery.

American National Standards Institute
www.ansi.org
Administrator and coordinator of the United States private sector voluntary standardization system for more than 80 years. Search by publication number or keyword.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
http://ts.nist.gov/ts/htdocs/210/ssd.htm
NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration. Links to standards, standards background information, and sources for purchasing standards.

ABC's of Standards-Related Activities in the United States
http://ts.nist.gov/ts/htdocs/210/ncsci/stdpmr.htm
Overview of what standards are and how they work.

International Standards

ISO - International organization for standardization
http://www.iso.org/iso/en/ISOOnline.frontpage
The "world's largest developer of standards." Search by ISO keyword or number, or browse by category.

IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission
http://www.iec.ch/
Prepares and publishes international standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies. Search IEC subject codes, or browse by subject name. Search by keyword, committee, date.

Online Gateways to Standards Information

Techstreet http://www.techstreet.com/
Access more than 300,000 industry codes and standards aggregated from over 350 leading Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs). Covers a broad range of disciplines including research, design, manufacturing, testing, and inspection in dozens of industries such as aerospace, petrochemical, information technology, electrical and electronics, food and beverage, construction, and healthcare. Search by keyword, title, or document number.

NSSN
www.nssn.org
Search over a quarter million records of the world's leading commercial and government standards. Includes quicklinks to U.S. federal government standards and regulatory information sites.

Global Engineering Documents
http://global.ihs.com/
Search for popular technical industry standards in areas such as aerospace, automotive, construction, electrical/electronics, government/military, health and safety, medical, petrochemical/utilities, quality, telecommunications.

ASSIST QuickSearch
http://assist.daps.dla.mil/quicksearch/
Provides direct access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository. Search by document ID or number, title, or FSC/standardization area.

WSSN
http://www.wssn.net/WSSN/index.html
Provides information on international, regional and national standardization and related activities and services. Links to international and regional standardizing bodies. Gives a very good overview of general standards.

  1. Ryerson University Library. 17 May 2004. 2 November 2004 [http://www.ryerson.ca/library/subjects/standards.html].
  2. Index and Directory of Industry Standards. Englewood, CO: Information Handling Services, 1998.