Spanish Research Guide
Library Research Guide: Spanish Language and Literature This guide is to introduce students to the essential and useful resources in Spanish language and literature. Below you will find suggestions to locate books and journal articles. The guide also provides a list of print, online, and Web resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or, Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
Finding Journal Articles Indexes/Databases Web Resources E-Journals
Finding Books Linguistics Spanish & Latin American Literature Literary Criticism
Reference Resources Bibliographies
If there is no full-text article available online, you will need to check if the library has the actual journal (physical item) so that you can locate it and read the article. You can find the holding and location information of the journal by typing its title in the search box on the MSU online catalog. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through inter-library loan service (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).
The library's electronic journals also allow you to find full-text articles online. However, you can only search one specific journal title at a time.
Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic subjects, including biological sciences, computer sciences, economics, engineering, arts and literature, medical sciences, and more. Contains a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Covers over 1,140 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and include cited references and related records.
Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on modern fiction and nonfiction writers.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Provides a full-text collection of significant published criticism on the works of contemporary novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other writers. Each entry also includes a listing of principal works and sources for further study.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides complete biographical and critical information on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all genres and time periods.
Dissertation Abstracts
The database provides access to more than 1.6 million dissertations of a complete range of academic subjects.
ERIC (Dept. of Education)
ERIC (EBSCOHost)
Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, standards and guidelines. This database contains information on all aspects of education, including foreign language education.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A bilingual and comprehensive full text database comprised of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. It covers a wide range of current topics.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The searchable bibliography covers topics in humanities and social sciences. The articles are about Latin American life and culture.
Historical Abstract
Indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world as well as books reviewed by history journals. This database is a complete reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Humbul Humanities Hub
Provides an online catalogue of Internet resources relevant to teaching and research in the humanities. The Hub discovers, evaluates, and describes resources for the study of English, French, Japanese, German, Spanish, as well as literature, history, classics and philosophy.
JSTORE
Contains back issues of a wide variety of humanities and social science journals available electronically. For language and literature study, journals include Nineteenth-Century Literature 1986-2001, Nineteenth-Century Fiction 1949-1986, Renaissance Quarterly 1967-2001, Renaissance News 1948-1966, Representations 1983-2001, etc.
MLA Bibliography
Provides bibliographical information for articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations.
PAIS International
A bibliographic index of public and social policy literature of business, law, international relations, public administration, political science, and other social sciences.
Project MUSE
Provides electronic access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many more.
Social Science Citation Index
Provides bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the worlds leading scholarly social sciences journals, covering more than 50 disciplines.
WorldCat
A combined online catalog. Provides records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries.
ABINIA: Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica
(http://abinia.ucol.mx/)
ACEtt: Sección Autónoma de Traductores de Libros de la Asociación Colegial de Escritores de España
(http://www.acett.org/)
Biblioteca Nacional de Espana
(http://www.bne.es/)
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes: La Biblioteca de las culturas hispánicas
(http://www.cervantesvirtual.com/bib_mundo/biblioteca_mundo.shtml)
Centro Virtual Cervantes: Clarín: 100 años después. Un clásico contemporáneo
(http://cvc.cervantes.es/actcult/clarin/catalogo/)
CLNet Research Center: Spanish Language
(http://clnet.ucla.edu/research/spanish.html)
Diccionario Anaya de la Lengua
(http://www.diccionarios.com/)
El Poder de la Palabra
(http://www.epdlp.com/)
Hispanic Studies Resources by Heading
(http://www.humbul.ac.uk/spanish/)
Hispanophone Studies Journals
(http://www.utm.edu/vlibrary/revistas.shtml)
Iberian Language and Literature Web
(http://www.library.yale.edu/wess/iberianlanglit.html)
La Pagina del Idioma Espanol
(http://www.elcastellano.org/index.html)
Latin American Network Information Center (UT-Austin)
(http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/literature/)
LEMIR: Literatura Española Medieval y Renacimiento
(http://parnaseo.uv.es/Lemir.htm)
Learn Spanish
(http://www.studyspanish.com/)
Online Spanish Dictionary
(http://www.wordreference.com/)
Real Academia Española (Spanish-only online dictionary)
(http://www.rae.es/)
Seminario de Estudios Medievales Y Renacentistas
(http://www3.usal.es/~semyr/)
Spanish Grammar Exercises
(http://www.colby.edu/%7Ebknelson/exercises/)
The Internet Public Library Spanish
(http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum40.40.00/)
Voice of the Shuttle: Spanish & Portuguese Literature (UC-Santa Barbara)
(http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2420)
Available through the MSU libraries Web site. To search these e-journals, you can either use the librarys online catalog or click on the E-Journal link on the librarys front page.
Bulletin of Spanish Studies
Bulletin of Hispanic Studies
Comparative Literature
Hispanic
Hispanic Research Journal
Hispanic Review
Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies
Journal of Iberian and Latin-American Studies
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
Language Teaching
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
To locate books of a particular topic, you can try the searching below:
1. MSU Libraries Online Catalog. Searching by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., you will find the call number, location, and check-out status of any book owned by the Golden Triangle Regional Library Consortium.
2. Using bibliographies to find information.
3. Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If MSU libraries do not own a particular book, you may want to borrow it from another library. To do so, simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).
A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics. 4th ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003.
Call Number: Ref P29 .C65
Contains various aspects of linguistic theory and research, including the developing terminology of principles in syntax, contemporary semantics; and speech recognition and synthesis.
Consultas Lingüísticas
(http://cronos.rae.es/cgi-bin/consulta_form.pl)
Enciclopedia Linguística Hispánica. 3 volumes. Madrid, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cienti´ficas, 1960-
Call Number: Ref PC45 .E5
Provides a scholarly treatment of peninsular Spanish. Bibliographic footnotes are included.
Humbul Humanities Hub -- Hispanic Studies: Spanish Linguistics
(http://www.humbul.ac.uk/output/headlist.php?code=FN.349002&sub=spanish)
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Call Number: Ref P29 .I58
Includes articles on specific languages or language families. Describes many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts.
Introducción a la Linguística Hispánica. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
Call Number: PC4073 .H83
Covers the structure, history, and dialects of the Spanish language. The text is clear and accessible with exercises accompanying each chapter.
Linguística iIbero-Románica; Crítica Retrospective. Madrid, Editorial Gredos, 1974.
Call Number: PC4097 .C357
Reviews work done since 1870 and also evaluates the contributions of major scholars in the field.
The LINGUIST List -- Learn Spanish
(http://www.lingolex.com/spanish.htm)
The Syntax of Spanish. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Call Number: PC4361 .Z34
An introduction to Spanish syntax. Following a descriptive overview of the major characteristics of the grammar, the book describes facts about Spanish, such as its word order, notions of "subject," "direct object," "auxiliary verb" and so forth.
From Romanticism to Modernism in Latin America. New York: Garland Pub., 1997.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 F76
Collects essays on the series of revolutions and long military struggles for the formation of independent Latin nation-states.
Theoretical Debates in Spanish American Literature. New York: Garland Pub., 1997.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 T44
Provides varying perspectives to colonial culture, testimonial writing, gender studies, postmodernism, ethnic issues, politics and nationalism, and other important subjects.
Twentieth-Century Spanish American Literature since 1960. New York: Garland Pub., 1997.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 T84
Covers Latin American literature of the second half of the 20th century. Focuses on individuals who have transcended the boundaries of national literatures and achieved a certain international recognition.
Twentieth-Century Spanish American Literature to 1960. New York: Garland Pub., 1997.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 T842
Covers writers whose reputations were established prior to the l960s.
U.S. Latino Literature: A Critical Guide for Students and Teachers. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Call Number: PS153.H56 U7
Provides 18 essays on Latino writers' work. Includes biographical information on an author, cultural significance of the work, and critical essays addressing thematic concerns raised by the work. Also includes abundant bibliographies of criticism and further reading.
Writers of the Spanish Colonial Period. New York: Garland Pub., 1997.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 W75
Collects essays on the experiences of the discovery, the conquest, and the colonization of the new territories. Examines texts from the Baroque period, especially those of the central figure of the Mexican nun poet and intellectual, Sor Juana In s de la Cruz. There are some essays on representative texts of the latter part of the colonial period.
Contemporary Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1983-present
Call Number: Ref PN771.C59
Provides biographical introductions to major living authors and those who died after December 31, 1959. Includes critical essays taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholar journals. Suggestions for further reading and research are listed.
Dissidences (Hispanic Journal of Theory and Criticism)
(http://www.dissidences.org/)
Espéculo: Revista de Estudios Literarios
(http://www.ucm.es/info/especulo/)
Laberinto: Early Modern Hispanic Literatures and Culture
(http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/laberinto/welcome.htm)
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1981-present
Call Number: Ref PN761.N5
Presents overviews of poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Each entry includes an introduction to an author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of further reading sources.
Revista de Libros
(http://www.revistadelibros.com/)
Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1978-present
Call Number: Ref PN771 .G27
Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers who died between 1900and 1999. Each excerpt is prefaced by an annotation that explains the critic's reputation and critical philosophy and providing a synopsis of the excerpt.
Vanderbilt e-Journal of Luso-Hispanic Studies (Online Resource)
(http://sitemason.vanderbilt.edu/spanport/eJournal_index)
Reference books are good places to stimulate ideas and obtain background information on a research topic or question. Below are selected reference books in MSU libraries. For more book titles, search the librarys online catalog.
Dictionaries
Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary: Unabridged. New York: HarperCollins, 1996.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .S595
Diccionario de Autoridades. 3 volumes. Madrid, Editorial Gredos, 1964.
Call Number: Ref PC4625 .A3
The first dictionary of the Real Academia Espan~ol. One of the comprehensive dictionaries that cites important authors.
Diccionario de uso del Español. 2 volumes. Madrid, Editorial Gredos, 1975.
Call Number: Ref PC4625 .M6
Provides instructions on proper usage of troublesome expressions. Synonyms are listed.
Grijalbo: Diccionario del Español Actual. Barcelona: Ediciones Grijalbo, 1988.
Call Number: Ref PC4625 .G75
Includes the vocabulary of the second half of the twentieth-century using real records. All the information has been compiled from books of all genres and thousands of periodic publications.
Larousse Diccionario Compact: Español Inglés, Ingle´s Español. Paris: Larousse/VUEF, 2002.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .L38
Provides extensive, up-to-date vocabulary in all subject areas. Idioms, grammatical constructions, abbreviations, acronyms, proper nouns, and a supplement on life and culture in Latin America are included.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 3 volumes. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 C35
A comprehensive and authoritative information resource. Provides historical and literary review of particular periods and genres.
The Oxford Spanish Desk Dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .O83
Includes over 80,000 words and phrases and 115,000 translations.
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary and Grammar. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: Ref PC4640 .L45
Provides detailed coverage of every language field from general to specialist vocabulary. The Grammar section offers a comprehensive and easy-to-use guide covering the construction of the language.
Encyclopedia for Culture & Literature
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture. London; New York: Routledge, 1999
Call Number: Ref DP233.5 .E63
Includes both specific and general topics. All articles are signed and a subject listing and suggestions for further reading are included.
Encyclopedia of Latin American literature. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
Available online (Electronic Book).
Collects essays on authors, books, and themes related to the literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. Focuses on important novels, historical authors, literature from smaller Latin American countries, and more material on non-Hispanic Caribbean authors.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: C. Scribner's Sons; London: Simon & Schuster: Prentice Hall International, 1996.
Call Number: Ref F1406 .E53
Cover the history, culture, related persons, and places broadly to reflect the experience and understanding of Latin Americans of all classes.
Call Number: Ref PQ Z1609.L7 F55
Lists 200 authors, indexing editions of collected and single works, bibliographies, and critical publications.
Bibliografía de la Literatura Hispánica. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cienti´ficas, 1983.
Call Number: Ref Z2691.S5
The book comprises on title entries of monographs, journals and newspapers. Supplements in the Revista de Literatura.
Compludoc: Base de datos de Artículos de Revistas (Online resource)
(http://europa.sim.ucm.es/compludoc/)
Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. New York, N.Y.: Modern Language Association of America, 1987.
Call Number: Ref Z2695.A2 W66
A comprehensive annotated listing of sources. Includes an index of authors, editors, and compilers.
LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online
(http://libro.uca.edu/)
Manual de Bibliografía de la Literatura Española. 3ed. Madrid: Gredos, 1980.
Call Number: Ref Z2691.S54
Covers literature from the earliest times up to 1976 and in the Empire until emancipation.
Spanish literature, 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish and English, 1925-1980. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
Call Number: Ref Z2692.M67
Provides references to materials on a broad range of topics. Lists critical studies on individual authors.
This guide created and maintained by Li Zhang. Created on February 2, 2006.

