The events of September 11, 2001 will continue to be debated and discussed for decades to come. This guide provides access to some of the resources available, both in the Mississippi State University Libraries and on the Internet. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
- Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Academic Search Elite (ASE) provides access to a broad range of resources which cover the events of September 11, including newspaper accounts, popular journals, and scholar or academic journals. Many of these resources are supported by full-text access. ASE supports a number of subject headings related to this event, including "September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001".
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Indexes news and journal articles, many of which are available full-text within the database.
- PAIS International
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Provides coverage of the broad area of environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 5980 journals including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publication. Coverage includes 1981 to the present.
These are just a few of the books and videos available in the Mississippi State University Libraries' collections. Books are located in the circulating collection unless otherwise indicated. All videos are located in the Instructional Media Center on the first floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library.
Videos
- Faith and Doubt at Ground Zero (Frontline). New York: PBS Video, 2002.
VCX HV6432.7 .F36 2002
-
-
- The Man Who Knew (Frontline). Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 2002.
VCX HV6432 .M352 2002
- Target America (Frontline). Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 2001.
VCX HV6432 .T37 2001
Why the Towers Fell (NOVA). Boston : WGBH Boston Video, 2002.
VCX TA656 .W48 2002
Books
The 9/11 Commission Report, Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States. Also available online at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/911/index.html.
Government Documents: Y3.2:T 27/2/FINAL
After September 11: New York and the World. Upper Saddle, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2002.
HV6432.7 .A38 2002
Alexander, Dean C. Terrorism and Business: the Impact of September 11, 2001. Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, 2002.
HV6432 .A435 2002
Baer, Ulrich (ed.) 110 Stories: New York Writes After September 11. New York: New York University Press, 2002.
PS549 .N5 A13 2002
Goodman, Robin F. The Day Our World Changed: Children's Art of 9/11. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2002.
HV6432.7 .G66 2002
Here is New York: A Democracy of Photographs. New York: DAP, 2002.
HV6432 .H47 2002
Meyerowitz, Joanne (ed). History and September 11. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2003.
HV 6432.7 .H57 2003
Miller, John. The Cell: Inside the 9/11 Plot and Why the FBI and CIA Failed to Stop It. New York: Hyperion, 2002.
HF6432 .M54 2002
September 11, 2001. Kansas City: Andrews McNeel Pub., 2001.
HV6432 .S43 2001 (Note: this is a collection of newspaper headlines and lead stories.)
Williams, Mary E. (ed.) Terrorist Attack on America. San Diego: Greenhaven, 2003.
Ref HV6432 .T4735 2003 [Located in the Undergraduate Research Center/Reference]
9-11 News and Legal Resources, Information, and Related Services
http://www.llrx.com/newstand/wtc.htm
- Provides access to a comprehensive listing of Internet Resources related to the events of September 11, 2001 and subsequent events.
Faith and Doubt at Ground Zero
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/faith/
- Website developed to accompany the FrontLine show by the same name, this resource augments the videorecording (listed above and available in the MSU Libraries' collection).
Inside 9/11
http://www9.nationalgeographic.com/channel/inside911/
- Website developed to accompany the National Geographic program by the same name. Provides a detailed look at the events surrounding the September 11, 2001 attack and includes biographies of key figures, photographs, timelines, interviews and an extensive bibliography.
Maps Relating to September 11, 2001 and Later Events
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/wtc.html
- Developed as part of the Perry Castaneda Map Collection, this online resource provides access to maps and building schematics.
-
-
-
- September 11 Digital Archive
http://911digitalarchive.org/
- THE place to start research on September 11, 2001. A joint project of the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the American Social History Project at the City University of New York, this digital archive provides comprehensive access to both primary and secondary sources on 9/11. Includes online access to documents, audio clips, photographs, and a comprehensive listing of related web resources.
-
-
-
- September 11: Lessons and Resources for Classroom Teachers
http://www.education-world.com/a_lesson/lesson244.shtml
- Includes information and resources to assist teachers in dealing with the events of September 11 in the classroom. Includes lesson plans and related classroom activities.
Target America
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/target/
- Website accompanying the FrontLine program with the same name. This videorecording is available in the MSU Libraries' collection.
Teaching 9-11
http://www.teaching9-11.org/
Online resources for teachers. Materials are nicely organized by subject or topic.
Understanding America After 9/11: A Public Radio Collaboration
http://understandingamerica.publicradio.org/
Includes texts and audio transcripts of radio programs related to the aftermath of the September 11, 2001 attacks broadcast on public radio stations nationwide between September 3 and September 10, 2002.
This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee.
Created 8/18/03.