Psychology Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the field of Psychology. These areas are closely related to a number of other soc
ial science and education topics. Users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001. 5th edition.
Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001 (Ready Reference Desk)
- One of the most prominent publication style guides used in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes information on: punctuation and abbreviations, construction of tables, selection of headings, citation of references, presentation of statistics, and other formatting elements. The most recent edition is kept at the Ready Reference Desk. Updated information concerning the formatting of electronic information may be found online at: http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV. Washington DC: American Psychiatric Association, 1994.
Ref RC445.2 .C4 D536 1994 (Ready Reference Desk)
- PDSM-IV is used as a diagnostic tool for the most common mental disorders and includes information such as the description, diagnosis, treatment, and research findings. Serves as the main diagnostic reference of mental health professionals in the United States.
-
-
-
- Handbook of Psychological Assessment. New York: Pergamon, 2000.
Ref BF39.H2645 2000
- Contains detailed information on the may ways of evaluating individual differences. The Handbook contains nine parts, including sections on psychometric foundations, assessment of intelligence, achievement and aptitude, neuropsychological assessment, interviews, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, and special topics with applications.
- Graduate Study in Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1998.
Ref BF77 .G73 1998
- Provides assistance to individuals interested in graduate study in psychology. This source lists over 500 graduate departments, programs, and schools of psychology in the United States and Canada.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 2001.14th ed.
Ref BF176 .T45 2001 (Ready Reference Desk)
- Used to locate reviews and descriptions of English language, commercially published tests. Each volume is not cumulative; later volumes do not replace earlier issues. The latest edition is kept behind the Ready Reference Desk; other editions are available in the Reference Collection. Tests In Print may be used as a comprehensive index to the contents of previously published MMY.
- Tests in Print V. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 1999.
Ref BF176 .T45 1999 (Ready Reference Desk)
- Consists of descriptive listings, without reviews, of commercially published tests in print. Also includes a comprehensive index to the contents of previous editions of the Mental Measurements Yearbook. The most recent edition is kept at the Ready Reference Desk; older editions are available in the Reference collection.
- Subject Specific Databases
-
- PsycINFO
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- PsycINFO (1887 - current) contains citations and summaries of international material selected from more than 1,400+ scholarly journals, books chapters in books, and dissertations.
Citation Resources
- Social Science Citation Index (SSCI)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- SSCI is a multidisciplinary citation database. Provides access to cited reference searching for more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines.
General or Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Abstracts and indexes nearly 6,300 scholarly journals and provides full text for over 4,000 journals. Topics covered include the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more.
- ERIC
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Indexes and abstracts thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources in Education Index and more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education.
- MEDLINE Advanced
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Comprehensive index to 3,200 medical journals. MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and includes coverage from 1966 to the present.
- Social Work Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Contains more than 35,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present. Indexes and abstracts social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Sociological Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied.
- World Cat
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Cataloging records on materials owned by many U. S. libraries, including the Library of Congress.
Mississippi State University subscribes to hundreds of psychology related journals, many of which are also available electronically. To identify which journals are available, search the Online Catalog by the title of the journal. Online catalog entrees provide information on the print, microform, and electronic holdings of journal titles.
- Electronic Journals List
http://library.msstate.edu/resources/journals/search.asp
- This comprehensive alphabetical title list provides access to the full text electronic journals owned by the Mississippi State University Libraries. To retrieve the full text, select a title from the list or perform a journal title search. Note that this listing does NOT provide information on print journal holdings.
- Pscyhology Department (MSU)
- http://www.psychology.msstate.edu/
-
-
- Department of Counselor Education/Educational Psychology (MSU)
- http://www.educ.msstate.edu/CEdEPy/cedepy.html
-
- Counseling and School Psychology Lab (MSU)
- http://www.educ.msstate.edu/coun_schoolpsylab/
-
This page created and maintained by Gail Peyton, Coordinator of Reference.
Created 11/6/02.

