Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Poultry Science Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources for Poultry Science.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Indexes and Databases Reference Books
Web Resources

AGRICOLA (available through ebscohost or SilverPlatter)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.  NAL also provides free access to AGRICOLA.
AGRIS/CARIS
http://www.fao.org/agris/  
AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology and contains references from over 240 different nations.
CAB Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources.
MEDLINE Advanced
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations to articles dealing not only with health, but animal health and other medically related topics.
Herenda, Drago Carl.  Poultry Diseases and Meat Hygiene: A Color Atlas.  Ames: Iowa State, 1996.
Ref SF995 .H44 1996 
This atlas contains over 405 photographs to help identify and diagnose pathological problems and evaluate the suitability of poultry carcasses.
Roberts, Victoria.  British Poultry Standards : Complete Specifications and Judging Points of all Standardized Breeds and Varieties of Poultry as Compiled by the Specialist Breed Clubs and Recognized by the Poultry Club of Great Britain.  Cambridge, Massachusetts: Blackwell Science, 1997.
Ref SF485 .B75 1997 
Filled with over 200 color photos, British Poultry Standards, contains complete specifications together with judging points for all the standardised breeds and varieties
General Resources
MSU Library's Poultry Science Web Resources
http://library.msstate.edu/content/templates/?a=1054
MSU Department of Poultry Science
http://www.msstate.edu/dept/poultry/
NetVet, Birds
http://netvet.wustl.edu/birds.htm  
A collection of links to other resources, this page covers information for the scientist and for those with birds as pets. 
Poultry Breeds
http://www.ansi.okstate.edu/poultry/  
Created and maintained by the Department of Animal Science at Oklahoma State University, this site provides basic information and photos about a variety of different kinds of Poultry.  While most of the information is related to chickens, geese, ducks, turkeys and other types of poultry are included in this site.
Poultry Science Virtual Library
http://posc.tamu.edu/library/dother.html  
This resource has links to a variety of sites covering all aspects of poultry science.
Associations
American Association of Avian Pathologists
http://www.aaap.info/
American Egg Board
http://www.aeb.org/
American Poultry Association
http://www.ampltya.com/
International HACCP Alliance
http://haccpalliance.org/
Poultry Science Association
http://www.poultryscience.org/
U.S. Poultry & Egg Association
http://www.poultryegg.org/
World's Poultry Science Association
http://www.wpsa.com/wpsa2/ 
 
Genome Research
ChickMaP
http://www.projects.roslin.ac.uk/chickmap/  
One of the many international sites working on genome research, this site is housed at Roslin Institute in Scotland. 
UD Chick EST
http://www.chickest.udel.edu/    
Created by the University of Delaware this site contains over 40,000 searchable EST sequences from the Chicken cDNA database.
US Poultry Genome Project 
http://poultry.mph.msu.edu/  
Part of the USDA-CSREES National Animal Genome Research Program, this site is hosted by Michigan State University.  The site contains a number of different resources related to genome research including extensive bibliographies. 
Research
Mississippi State Extension Service
http://msucares.com/poultry/index.html  
This page contains a listing of all MSU Extension Service publications covering the area of poultry.
Statistics
National Agricultural Statistics Service: Poultry
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/reports/nassr/poultry/poultryrr.html  
Combined on this page are a variety of USDA statistics covering such topics as egg production, poultry slaughter, and a variety of others including data about turkeys.  Most reports date back to 1995.
Mississippi Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/ms/  
Find recent and historical data concerning Mississippi Agriculture including the Mississippi Weekly Broiler Report.   
 
US Poultry Charts
http://www.usda.gov/nass/aggraphs/poultry.htm  
Created by USDA, this charts are visual representations of the data collected by the federal agency on a number of topic related to poultry.
 
Originally created by Sara Morris, created 04/29/04.
This page is maintained by the Reference Department.