Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Philosophy & Religion Research Guide

Philosophy and Religion Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the print and electronic resources in Philosophy and Religion.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


Online Databases     E-Journals     Internet Resources    Reference Books

Online Databases 

Academic Search Premier

Available electronically. 
Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes nearly 3,000 scholarly journals and provides full text for over 1,200 journals. This database covers the social sciences, humanities, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.

ATLA with ATLA Serials
Available electronically.
This database covers such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, church history and religious perspectives on social issues.

Humbul Humanities Hub
Available electronically.
Published by the Resource Discovery Network, Humbul is a subject gateway that specializes in online humanities resources.  Its subject categories include historical and philosophical studies, which include subcategories for philosophy, history and philosophy of science, and religion and theology.

JSTOR
Available electronically.
JSTOR specializes in making back issues of a wide variety of humanities and social sciences journals available electronically, including those for the study of philosophy.

Philosopher’s Index
Available electronically.
This database provides informative abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940.

Project Muse
Available electronically.
Project MUSE provides electronic access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, including the fields of philosophy, religion, literature, history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

SocIndex with Full Text
Available electronically.
This sociology research database provides informative abstracts for more than 620 core journals dating back to 1895, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources.  SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, social structure, sociological theory, urban studies, and many others.

British Journal for the Philosophy of Science

Consciousness & Emotion

Contemporary Buddhism

Ethical Theory & Moral Practice

Ethics & Behavior

Ethics in Science & Environmental Politics

Hindu

Hinduism Today

International Journal of Philosophical Studies

The Jewish Quarterly Review

Journal for Cultural & Religious Theory

Journal for the Study of Religions & Ideologies

Journal for the Study of the New Testament

Journal for the Study of the Old Testament

Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Religions

Journal of Applied Philosophy

Journal of Arabic & Islamic Studies

Journal of Global Buddhism

Journal of Modern Jewish Studies

Journal of Religion & Society

The Journal of Religious Ethics

Metaphilosophy

The Muslim World

Philosophy & Public Affairs

Philosophy & Rhetoric

Religion, State & Society

Religious Studies Review

Social epistemology

Sociology of Religion

Studies in World Christianity

Internet Resources

Philosophy


Aesthetics Online
http://aesthetics-online.org/

American Legal Ethics Library
www.law.cornell.edu/ethics/

American Philosophy
http://radicalacademy.com/amphindex.htm

Association for Symbolic Logic
www.aslonline.org/index.htm 

BioethicsWeb
http://bioethicsweb.ac.uk/

Center for Environmental Ethics
www.cep.unt.edu/

The Center for Process Studies
http://ctr4process.org/

Centre of Medical Law & Ethics
www.kcl.ac.uk/depsta/law/research/cmle/

Classical Utilitarianism
www.la.utexas.edu/cuws/index.html

Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory, and Postmodern Thought
http://carbon.cudenver.edu/~mryder/itc_data/postmodern.html

Cyberspace, Hypertext, & Critical Theory
www.cyberartsweb.org/cpace/

Great Voyages: The History of Western Philosophy from 1492 to 1776
www.orst.edu/instruct/phl302/

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
http://www.earlham.edu/%7Epeters/philinks.htm

International Association for Philosophy of Law & Social Philosophy
www.cirfid.unibo.it/ivr/

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/

Integrity in Science Project
www.cspinet.org/integrity/

Logical Fallacies: The Fallacy Files
www.fallacyfiles.org/

Meta-Encyclopedia of Philosophy
www.ditext.com/encyc/frame.html

Multinational Monitor
http://multinationalmonitor.org/

Philosophy Departments: Worldwide Index
www.erraticimpact.com/~schools/philosophy_departments_index.htm

Philosophy Forums
http://forums.philosophyforums.com/

Philosophy Since the Enlightenment
http://www.philosopher.org.uk/

Privacy Foundation
www.privacyfoundation.org/

Society of Phenomenology & Existential Philosophy
www.spep.org/

Religion


Adherents.com: Religion Statistics                                                      
www.adherents.com/

American Religion Data Archive
http://www.thearda.com/

Association for the Sociology of Religion
www.sociologyofreligion.com/

A-Z of Religions & Beliefs
www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/index.shtml

Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Religion
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/religion.html

Exploring Religions
http://uwacadweb.uwyo.edu/religionet/er/default.htm

Faith & Reason
www.pbs.org/faithandreason/stdweb/info.html

Internet Sacred Text Archive                                                                                    
www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm

MultiFaith Net
www.multifaithnet.org/

Online Resources Related to Church-State Matters
www.baylor.edu/church_state/

Overview of World Religions
http://philtar.ucsm.ac.uk/encyclopedia/

Philosophy & Religion
www.philosophy-religion.org/

Pluralism Project
www.pluralism.org/index.php

Religion Explorer – Religion Search Engine
http://www.religionexplorer.com/

ReligionFacts.com
www.religionfacts.com/

Religion Online                                                                                                            
www.religion-online.org/

The Religious Movements Page
http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu/

Religious Research Association                                                         
http://rra.hartsem.edu/

Religious Studies Web Guide
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/

U.S. Department of State: International Religious Freedom                 
www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/irf/

Virtual Religion Index
http://virtualreligion.net/vri/ 

World Council of Churches
www.oikoumene.org/en/home.html

World Prayers: Multicultural Prayer Collective
www.worldprayers.org/index.html

World Scripture                                                                                             
www.unification.net/ws/

World Treasures of the Library of Congress: Beginnings
www.loc.gov/exhibits/world/

Reference Books

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy.  New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995. 
Ref B41 .C35 1995 
This comprehensive reference source contains over 4,000 entries on technical terms and key concepts in philosophy, as well as major contributors to this field.  The dictionary covers sub-disciplines of philosophy such as ethics, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of the mind, and logic, as well as related subjects like cognitive science, linguistics, theology, and law.

A Companion to World Philosophies.  Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1997.
Ref B121 .C664 1997
This work is a collection of essays from leading authors in the fields of Chinese, Indian, Buddhist, Islamic, Polynesian, and African philosophy.  The 45 essays address concepts of reality and divinity, causality, truth, the nature of rationality, selfhood, humankind and nature, aesthetic values, and social and political values. The text is divided into three parts: Part 1 provides an historical background for each philosophical tradition; Part 2 deals with major topics in each; Part 3 gives an overview of the state of contemporary philosophy in each genre. 

A Dictionary of All Religions and Religious Denominations: Jewish, Heathen, Mahometan, Christian, Ancient and Modern.  Atlanta: Scholars Press, 1992.
Ref BL31 .A3 1992
As its title indicates, this dictionary covers a diverse array of religious affiliations, including Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Heathenism, Zoroastrianism, non-literate religions, Asian religions, and ancient religions.  It also includes an appendix that discusses the state of religion worldwide.

Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals & Festivals.  New York: Routledge, 2004.
Ref BL31 .E47 2004
This reference book contains 130 entries that provide a strong interdisciplinary and global approach to the study of religious celebrations and ceremonies. The encyclopedia provides extensive bibliographies at the end of each entry, as well as an index at the end of the volume. 

Contemporary American Religion.  2 volumes.  New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
Ref BL2525 .C65 2000
This encyclopedia explores the evolving religious landscape of the U.S.  It contains an alphabetical list of articles, detailed entries, and extensive bibliographies.

The History of Science & Religion in the Western Tradition: an Encyclopedia.
New York:Garland Publishing, 2000.
Ref BL245 .H57 2000 c.1
The entries in this reference source cover topics ranging from alchemy and chemistry to materialism and spiritualism, and address the relationship of science and religion to the approaches taken by specific religious traditions.

The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Ref BL31 .O84 1997
This dictionary provides an overview to the major faiths around the globe.  It contains over 8,200 entries written by leading international contributors.  Each religion is represented by vivid illustrations.

The Philosophy of Law: an Encyclopedia.  2 volumes.  New York: Garland Publishing, 1999.
Ref K204 .P49 1999
The articles in this encyclopedia, written by over 300 international experts in legal philosophy, cover such topics as international, constitutional, criminal, administrative,  contracts and tort law; current legal cultures; and the practice of legal philosophy today.

Religion and American Cultures: An Encyclopedia of Traditions, Diversity & Popular Expressions.  3 volumes.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Ref BL2525 .R448 2003
This set contains nearly 200 articles that cover specific religious and ethnic traditions in the U.S., including Protestant, Islamic, Hindu, and Native American.  It also addresses numerous topics in comparative religious studies, including regionalism and popular culture.

Religion and American Law: an Encyclopedia.  New York : Garland Publishing, 2000.
Ref KF4783.A68 R45 2000
This encyclopedia includes topical essays and discussions of major Supreme Court decisions dealing with church and state.


This guide updated by Newkirk Barnes on May 12, 2006.