Mississippi Statistical Resources
|
Mississippi Statistical Resources Guide |
This guide provides an overview of some of the Mississippi statistical resources available. For additional assistance, please contact either the Corporate and Statistical Research Center at (662) 325-0810 or dlee@library.msstate.edu; or the Reference Department at (662) 325-7667 or Email a Librarian. Additional statistical resources may also be found in the Special Collections Department.
-
General Guides
-
Agriculture
-
Crime
-
Demographic and Health
-
Education
-
Economics and Business
Related Research Guides: US Census Data (coming soon!); United States Government Documents
- American FactFinder
- http://factfinder.census.gov
- The Census Bureau's web portal to the 1990 and 2000 Decennial Census, as well as the 1997 and 2002 Economic Census, and the American Housing Surveys. Some Census data can be taken down to the county, city, and even track level.
- Blue Book: 2000-2004: Mississippi Official & Statistical Register
- http://www.sos.state.ms.us/ed_pubs/BlueBook/
- Provides online access to the official "Blue Book" data, with information about various branches of Mississippi government and useful statistical data. All files are available as PDF files. Users may view a portion of the report or download the entire (large!) report.
-
- FedStats
- http://www.fedstats.gov/
- Provides an online gateway to statistics published by Federal agencies reporting expenditures of at least $500,000 per year. All of the statistical information available through FedStats is maintained and updated by the individual federal agency.
- Guide to State Statistical Abstracts
- http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/st_abstracts.html
- Provides access to an online bibliography of the most recent statistical abstracts published by the individual states since 1995. Each entry includes the name of the statistical abstract and contact information for the agency responsible for the statistical abstract's publication.
-
- Mississippi MapSTATS
- http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/states/28000.html
- Published as a subset of FedStats, MapStats provides access to a hyper-linked map of the United States. The Mississippi entree includes summary statistics for the state, with some country level data available.
-
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
- Provides online access to the classic statistical reference source, Statistical Abstract of the United States. The most recent edition is available via html web charts; access to prior years (back to 1995) is available as pdf files.
-
- State Date Center of Mississippi
- http://www.olemiss.edu/depts/sdc/
- Online access to the web page of the State Data Center of Mississippi, located at the University of Mississippi. Selected Census materials are available online, as well as contact information for the State Data Center staff.
- Mississippi Almanac. Yazoo City, MS: Computer Search & Research, 2002.
- REF F 339.M57 2001-2002 [Ready Reference]
- Although dated, this almanac contains weather, historical, and demographic data for the state and counties.
-
- Mississippi Statistical Abstract. Mississippi State, MS: Division of Research, College of Business & Industry. Annual.
- REF HC 107 .M7 M45 [Ready Reference]
- Annual compilation of a broad range of Mississippi statistics, including demographic, business, and economic topics. Additional copies are available in Special Collections.
- Mississippi Agricultural Statistics Service
- http://www.nass.usda.gov/ms/
- The Mississippi Agricultural Statistics Service (MASS) is one of 45 state offices of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS). The primary mission of MASS is to provide farmers, ranchers, and others with unbiased information for use in making production and marketing decisions. Farmers, ranchers and agribusinesses are the main sources of information. Published estimates are issued on scheduled dates throughout the year.
- Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce Publications
- http://www.mdac.state.ms.us/n_library/pub_form/publications/index_publications.html
- Provides online access to the publications of the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce. Publications include: Mississippi Market Bulletin, Produce Availability and Planting Guide, Department Annual Report, Export Directory, Ag Commodity Directory, BQI Quarterly Newsletter, and other statistical publications documenting the agricultural output of Mississippi.
-
-
Mississippi State Fact Sheet (Economic Research Service/U.S. Department of Agriculture)
- http://www.ers.usda.gov/StateFacts/MS.HTM
- Produced by the Economic Research Service, this web site provides basic demographic and agricultural statistics. A downloadable state facts database is also available.
-
- MSUCares: Mississippi State University Extension Service/Mississippi Agriculture and Forestry Experiment Station Publications
- http://msucares.com/pubs/index.html
- Provides access to the publications of the Mississippi Extension Service, many of which include agricultural statistical data.
-
- Mississippi Crime Rates
- http://www.disastercenter.com/crime/mscrimn.htm
- Provides access to summary statistics on Mississippi Crime Rates, as reported by the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports. Includes data from 1960 to the present. Types of crimes covered include property crimes, murder, rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, larceny-theft, and vehicle theft. Also includes links to other state crime reports.
-
- Mississippi Crime Statistics
- http://www.wireless-home-security-system.net/home_security_mississippi_crime_statistics.html
- Provides access to Mississippi Crime Statistics from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
-
- Mississippi Statistical Analysis Center (USM)
- http://www.usm.edu/mssac/mississippi_population_statistic.htm
- Developed by the University of Southern Mississippi's Statistical Analysis Center, this website provides basic demographic and crime data.
- Mississippi State Department of Health
- http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/
- Main website of the Mississippi State Department of Health. Includes access to the annual report. The "MS Health Facts" section includes access to numerous data sources, including information on health coverage, demographics, health status of various groups, and useful health related web sites. (Note that this portion of the website is maintained by Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.
-
- Mississippi Vital Statistics
- http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/phs/statisti.htm
- Maintained by the Mississippi Department of Health, this web site provides vital and health statistics back to 1995. Most tables are available in either PDF or HTML versions. Other useful statistical publications developed by the MSDH are also available.
-
- Mississippi Report Card (Education Data)
- http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/account/ors/
- Maintained by the Office of Research and Statistics in the Mississippi Department of Education, the Mississippi Report Card is published annually (since 1993) with data about schools and school districts throughout the state. Includes data at the state, district and school level. Files are viewable online or available as FTP down-loadable files.
-
- Selected Statistics on Mississippi Public Education
- http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/extrel/pub/stat.htm
- Also maintained by the Mississippi Department of Education, this website provides "quick" educational facts and statistics on the K-12 school systems in the state. Useful for ready-reference types of questions, more in-depth data is available through the Mississippi Report Card and other areas of the Office of Research's web page.
- Enrollment Factbook (Selected Enrollment Statistics Profiling Mississippi's Universities)
- http://www.ihl.state.ms.us/research/facbk.pdf
- The Fall Enrollment Factbook includes data back to 1998 as PDF files. Includes statistics on all eight public institutions of higher learning in Mississippi, including enrollment data on gender, race, program, and student origin. Other useful resources are also available on this page.
- There are a number of resources available in both the Reference and Government Documents Collections that provide economic, labor, and business data down to the state (or even county) level. Other guides cover Census materials well, so the emphasis in this section is on data and statistical specific to Mississippi. See also the Mississippi Business Corner for additional information and resources.
- Mississippi Commodity Reports
- http://www.bts.gov/transborder/reports/annual02/stcomm/com_MS2002.html
-
-
Mississippi Economy at a Glance
- http://www.bls.gov/eag/eag.MS.htm
- Developed by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this web site provides an overview of key economic and labor data for the state of Mississippi. The website focuses on current data for labor force data, nonfarm wage and salary employment, and layoff data. Retrospective data for the state may be graphed online.
Mississippi Economic Development Council (MEDC)
http://www.medc.ms/
MEDC serves as the voice of economic and community development and chamber of commerce professionals in the state of Mississippi.
- Mississippi Employment Security Commission
- http://www.mesc.state.ms.us/
- Provides employment data and searchable job databases. Most economic/labor data is available under the "Labor Market Information" link.
-
- Mississippi State Tax Commission
- http://www.mstc.state.ms.us/
- Includes information on tax legislation, tax forms and selected tax collections data. Most statistical data is located under the "Statistics" link, including the annual reports and PDF versions of the tax diversions to cities.
-
-
-
- Regional Economic Accounts (BEA)
- http://www.bea.gov/regional/index.htm
- The best source for regional, state, and (sometimes) county level economic data. Includes such items as Gross State Product and regional fact sheets. Tables may be viewed online or downloaded in a variety of formats to facilitate further statistical analysis.
-
- Small Business Association (MS)
- http://www.sba.gov/ms/
- The SBA website for Mississippi includes local office information, SBA publications, and online access to the Mississippi Small Business Resource Guide.
-
-
- Southern Rural Development Center
- http://srdc.msstate.edu/
- The SRDC is a non-profit think tank dedicated to the economic development of the rural south. The website includes conference and workshop information, as well as access to online publications and reports, many of which contain useful economic data (summary) related to Mississippi and the south.

