Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Mathematics and Statistics Research Guide

This guide is to introduce MSU students to the essential and useful resources in mathematics and statistics. Below you will find suggestions to locate books and journal articles. The guide also provides a list of print, online, and Web resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library at (662) 325-7667, or, ask-a-librarian for further assistance with any questions.

Finding Journal Articles      Indexes and Databases       Web Resources  

E-Journals       Finding Books      Reference Resources

Finding Journal Articles


To find individual journal articles, you will primarily use electronic indexes/databases to do your searching. With such indexes/databases, you can find article abstracts and even full-text articles by conducting an author, title, keyword(s), or subject searching. 
If there is no full-text article available online, you will need to check if the library has the actual journal (physical item) so that you can locate it and read the article. You can find the holding and location information of the journal by typing its title in the search box on the MSU online catalog. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through inter-library loan service (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).


Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic subjects, including arts and humanities,  biological sciences, computer sciences, economics, engineering, mathematics,  medical sciences, and more. Contains a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text  journals.

Current Index to Statistics
Provides comprehensive indexing for statistics and related fields, including  probability, modeling, and survey methodology

Dissertation Abstracts
Provides access to more than 1.6 million dissertations of a complete range of academic subjects, including mathematics and statistics.

Inspec
Provides abstracts and indexing to scientific and technical articles and conference proceedings in mathematical physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and more.

JSTOR
Contains back issues of a wide variety of science and social science journals available electronically. For mathematics, journals include American Journal of Mathematics, American Mathematical Monthly, College Mathematics Journal, etc.

LexisNexis Statistical Universe
Provides detailed abstracts and indexing information for all statistical reports  issued by the federal government. This database also contains international  statistics information.

Mathematics Preprints
Allows the researcher to search mathematics preprints in the field of pure and  applied mathematics, statistics and probability.

MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews)
Covers leading publications and review research literature in all areas of  mathematics. Related fields such as physics and statistics are also covered in  this database. This is the online version of the printed indexes, Mathematical  Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications

Proceedings
Provides worldwide conference proceedings.

Stat-USA
Provides various financial and economic data from the federal government, such  as economic indicators, manufacturing and industry, monetary statistics, and  economic policy.

Web of Science
Indexes more than five thousand science and engineering journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. This multidisciplinary database also provides cited reference search by author, work, and year.


Algebra, Calculus, Complex Numbers & Symbols
( http://www.scenta.co.uk/tcaep/maths/index.htm )

AMS Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers
(http://www.ams.org/global-preprints/)

arXiv
(http://arxiv.org/)

EiNet - Mathematics
(http://www.einet.net/directory/14816/Mathematics.htm)

The Electronic Library of Mathematics
(http://www.emis.ams.org/ELibM.html)

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence - Mathematics
(http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/cfapps/free/displaysubject.cfm?sid=6)

FedStats
(http://www.fedstats.gov/)

Finite Mathematics & Applied Calculus Resource Page
(http://people.hofstra.edu/faculty/Stefan_Waner/RealWorld/index.html)

The Geometry Center
(http://www.geom.uiuc.edu/)

Internet Mathematics Library
(http://mathforum.org/library/)

The Intute Mathematics Gateway
(http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/mathematics/)

Math Archives
(http://archives.math.utk.edu/tutorials.html)

MathSearch
(http://www.maths.usyd.edu.au/MathSearch.html)

Math2.org
(http://math2.org/)

National Science Foundation - Mathematical & Physical Sciences
(http://www.nsf.gov/div/index.jsp?div=DMS)

The Probability Web
(http://www.mathcs.carleton.edu/probweb/)

Statistics and Statistical Graphics Resources
(http://www.math.yorku.ca/SCS/StatResource.html)

Statistical Science
(http://www.statsci.org/)

Topology Atlas
(http://at.yorku.ca/topology/


The e-journals are available through the MSU libraries' Web site. To search these journals, you can either use the library's online catalog or click on the "E-Journal" hyper link on the library's front page. The library's electronic journals allow you to find full-text articles online. However, you can only search one specific journal title at a time. 
Selected e-journals:

ACM journal of experimental algorithmics 
Acta mathematica 
Advances in applied mathematics 
American journal of mathematics
Annals of applied probability 
Annals of statistics 
Applied mathematical modeling 
Communications in contemporary mathematics 
Communications on pure and applied mathematics 
Educational studies in mathematics 
European journal of applied mathematics 
Journal of computational mathematics 
Journal of mathematics and statistics 
Journal of statistical computation and simulation 
Journal of the European Mathematical Society: JEMS 
Proceedings/annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science  
Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society 


To locate books of a particular topic, you can try the searching below:

1. MSU Libraries' Online Catalog. Searching by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., you will find the call number, location, and check-out status of any book owned by the Golden Triangle Regional Library Consortium.

2. Using bibliographies to find books.

3. Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If MSU libraries do not own a particular book, you may want to borrow it from another library. To do so, simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Reference Resources


A Dictionary of Statistic Terms. New York ; Wiley, 1990.
Call Number: HA17 .K4 1990
Lists common and unusual terms with definitions and mathematical formulas.

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. 2nd ed. Boca Raton: Chapman & Hall/CRC, 2003.
Call Number: QA5 .W45 2003
Contains formulas, derivations, figures, tabulations extensive; the entries provide  both standard and popular references.

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae.  Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2003.
Call Number: QA47 .M316 2003
Chemical Rubber Company standard mathematical tables and formulae  Standard mathematical tables and formulae

Dictionary of Mathematics. London : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.
Call Number: QA5 .D5 1999 Encyclopaedia of Mathematics. Reading, Mass.: Addison-Wesley Pub. Co.,1988.
Call Number: QA5 .M3713
Includes material for non-specialists, definitions, biographies, and articles on  results or problems

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education. New York: Routledge, 2001. 
Call Number: QA11 .E665 2001
Covers all major areas of mathematics education, including content and  instructional procedures, curriculum, assessment, and psychology of learning  and instruction

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences. New York: Wiley, 1982.
Call Number: QA276.14 .E5
Provides reference of choice for those working in statistics, biostatistics, quality control, economics, probability theory, computer science, biomedicine, and many other areas.

Statistical Techniques in Business and Economics. Homewood, IL: Irwin, 1993.
Call Number: HA29. M268
Illustrates methods and tools using step-by-step examples.


                                    This guide was created by Li Zhang and updated on November 7, 2007.