Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Library Science Research Guide

This guide provides an overview of resources useful to librarians and others interested in the field of library science. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Note that some resources are restricted to users affiliated with Mississippi State University.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


Indexes/Databases Directories and Handbooks Journals
Funding MSU Library Faculty Publications Related Internet Resources


Electronic Indexes
Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Provides access to a select number of library science journals, some with full text access.
Emerald Fulltext
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Provides access to MCB Press titles, including over a dozen library science titles.  Includes titles such as Reference Services Review and Library Hi Tech.
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Indexes and abstracts over 550 journals from more than 60 countries.  Coverage includes journal articles, book reviews, and technical reports in library and information science.  Coverage dates back to 1969.
Library Literature
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Indexes articles and book reviews published in 234 "key" library and information science journals.  Indexing coverage dates back to 1980. 
Print Indexes
Library Literature.   Bronx, NY: H. W. Wilson Co., 1933-1995.
Ref Z666 .S211
Classic print index for library science research.  Print volumes are continued by the electronic version.
Writing Guides and Directories
Becker, Howard S. Writing for Social Scientists:  How to Start and Finish Your Thesis, Book or Article.   Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1986.
H91 .B4 1986
Classic text on the process of writing scholarly material in the social sciences, with an emphasis on the revision process.
Livingston, Lynn W. (ed.) InPrint:  Publishing Opportunities for College Librarians.  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, 1997.
REF 675 .U5 B264 1997
Directory of journals in library science, with an emphasis on titles related to issues in college libraries.  Entries include information on acceptance rates, response time, editorial information and submission guidelines.
Schroeder, Carole F. and Roberson, Gloria G. (ed.) Guide to Publishing Opportunities for Librarians.   New York: Haworth Press, 1995.
REF Z665.2 .U6 S37 1995
Directory of journals in library and information science.  Includes short descriptions of journal content, indexing information, editor contact and manuscript submission guidelines.  Also includes information on acceptance rates.
Thyer, Bruce A. Successful Publishing in Scholarly Journals.   Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1994.
Z479 .T55 1994
Published in Sage's "Survival Skills for Scholar's Series" , this work provides advice on how to approach the publishing process.  Topics covered include manuscript preparation, suggestions for working with editors, and strategies for developing a productive publishing and research agenda.
 
Style Guides
Chicago Manual of Style.   Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003. 15th ed.
Ref Z253 .U69 2003 [Located at Ready Reference]
Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.   New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1999. 5th ed..
Ref LB2369 .G53 1999 [Located at Ready Reference]
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.   Washington, DC:  American Psychological Association, 2001. 5th ed.
Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001 [Located at Ready Reference
Reference and Statistical Sources
Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification.  Associate of Arts Colleges.   Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2001.
Ref Z675 .U5 A36 2001
Provides statistical data on two year college libraries.  Includes data on collections, expenditures, personnel and public services, and institutional demographics.
Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification.  Doctoral Granting Institutions.   Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries,2001.
Ref Z675 .U5 A3545 2001
Provides statistical data on doctoral granting institutions and their libraries.  Includes data on collections, expenditures, personnel and public services, and institutional demographics.
Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification.  Master's Colleges and Universities, Baccalaureate Colleges.   Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2001.
Ref Z675 .U5 A3546 2001
Provides statistical data on four year and master's granting institutions and their libraries.  Includes data on collections, expenditures, personnel and public services, and institutional demographics.
 
Bowker Annual of Library and Book Trade Information.   New York: Bowker.  Annual.
Ref Z731 .47
Compilation of information related to library science and the book trade.  Includes selected statistical data on libraries in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science.   New York: Marcel Dekker, 1968-2003. 73 Volumes.
Ref Z1006 .E57
Provides encyclopedia coverage of terms and events in library science.  Final annual supplement issued in 2002.

Coming soon!
Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities
Available electronically.
** For access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. REMOTE ACCESS IS NOT AVAILABLE.** 
Provides access to over 23,000 records with over 400,000 funding opportunities, representing over $33 billion in awards.  Access is restricted to MSU affiliated users, located at a MSU IP address.  Access is provided through the Office of Sponsored Programs.
Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities Searching Guide
http://library.msstate.edu/CSRC/DataGuides/COS.pdf
Developed as part of the Statistical Data Center's Data Guides to Go! series of database guides, this pdf file provides basic instructions and searching tips for using the COS Funding Opportunities database.
Selected Internet Resources
Art of Grantsmanship
http://www.hfsp.org/how/ArtOfGrants.htm
Developed by Dr. Jacob Kraicer, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto.  This site is a general online guide to writing grants and includes sections on the structure and content of most grants.  A helpful guide to common errors is also included.
Art of Writing Proposals
http://www.ssrc.org/publications/for-fellows/art_of_writing_proposals.page
Developed by Adam Przeworksi (Department of Political Science, New York University) and Frank Salomon (Department of Anthropology, University of Wisconsin) on behalf of the Social Sciences Research Council (SSRC).  While the primary target is applicants to the SSRC competitions, the advice is useful for all potential grant writers.
Fundamentals of Grantsmanship
http://healthlinks.washington.edu/rfs/gw/fundamentals.html
Although a little dated, this web page provides a solid overview of the grants process.  Developed by Janet S. Rasey, this source provides an overview of the grant application process and good advice for writing (and revising) the grant application.
Guide to Proposal Planning and Writing
http://www.wm.edu/grants/PROP/miner.pdf
An abbreviated version of Jeremy and Lynn Miner's Proposal Planning and Writing, this pdf document offers advice on locating potential grants, communicating with grant agencies, and developing the grant application.
Grant Proposal Guide (NSF)
http://www.nsf.gov/pubsys/ods/getpub.cfm?gpg#top
Developed by the National Science Foundation, this guide provides everything you need to know about writing and submitting a NSF grant proposal.  The document is available in pdf or html format.
Hints for Writing Successful NIH Grants
http://www2.uta.edu/sswgrants/Technical Assistance/hints_for_writing_successful_nih.htm
Developed by Ellen Bartlett of the University of Miami School of Medicine, this guide provides tips and strategies for writing a successful NIH grant application.
Proposal Writing Short Course
http://fdncenter.org/learn/shortcourse/prop1.html
This online tutorial, while focusing on nonprofit institutions and donor corporations, provides useful advice for any potential grant writer.  Developed by the Foundation Center.
What Should I Know About ED Grants?
http://www.ed.gov/fund/grant/about/knowabtgrants/index.html
Developed by the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides fundamental information for anyone interested in pursuing grants for research or programs from the Department of Education.  Includes a discussion of the type of grants offered by the department as well as an overview of the grant review process.
2003 Publications
/content/templates/?a=584&z=110
2002 Publications
/content/templates/?a=583&z=110
 
2001 Publications
/content/templates/?a=582&z=110
 
2000 Publications
/content/templates/?a=581&z=110
 
Selected Internet Resources
Library Research Round Table
http://www.ala.org/Content/NavigationMenu/Our_Association/Round_Tables/LRRT/LRRT.htm
A roundtable within the American Library Association, LRRT sponsors research related sessions at the ALA annual conference and several research related awards.
Library Research Seminar III
http://libraryresearchseminar.org/
The conference web page for the upcoming Library Research Seminar, scheduled for October 2004.  Look for the call for participation, expected in February 2004.
New Breed Librarian
http://www.newbreedlibrarian.org/
Bimonthly Internet publication specifically targeted towards new librarians.  Includes articles, columns, and related web sources.
Researching Librarian
http://www.researchinglibrarian.com/
Useful collection of internet resources related to research in library science.
Associations
American Library Association (ALA)
http://www.ala.org/

Association of Research Libraries (ARL)
http://www.arl.org/

Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL)
http://www.aserl.org/

Mississippi Library Association (MLA)
http://www.misslib.org/

North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG)
http://www.nasig.org/

Southeastern Library Association (SELA)
http://sela.lib.ucf.edu/

This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 6/18/03.