Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Landscape Architecture Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the area of landscape architecture. This multidisciplinary field draws upon several disciplines; users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Related Research Guides: Agriculture


Indexes and Databases Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias Internet Resources
Journals Professional Organizations


Electronic Resources
Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
This multidisciplinary database provides access to scholarly and popular publications for all fields of study. Coverage for many journals goes back to the 1970s or further.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Provides "surveys more than 2,500 U.S. and foreign journals. Three-fourths of these are not indexed in any other source. ... Coverage begins in the 1930's, with selective coverage dating back to the 1860's."
Business Source Complete
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Business Source Complete provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 930 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
This database allows users to access bibliographic records and abstracts of thousands of masters theses and doctoral dissertations in all fields. Most theses and dissertations from 1997 to the present are available in full-text as (very large) pdf files.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
This database "covers a wide range of serial titles including general gardening titles of national, international, and regional interest, and titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups." Coverage dates back to 1960s.
GeoRef
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
The premier database from the American Geological institute, this resource provides indexing and abstracting for all areas in the geosciences. Coverage back to 1800s.
Web of Science
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
The Web of Science provides up-to-date coverage of leading journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. In addition to general searching, the Web of Science has a cited reference search, which allows you to find journals that have cited a given article or book. The online version provides coverage pack to 2000. Previous years are covered in CDs and print volumes, available in the Reference Department.
WorldCat
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
WorldCat provides access to the catalog records of libraries throughout the world. Books and other items found on WorldCat that are not owned by the MSU Libraries can be obtained via InterLibrary Loan.
Water Resources Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources.  Also includes access to CSA's Water Resources Netsites, which provides links to other web resources.  Dates of coverage are 1967 to the present.
Print Indexes
Biological & Agricultural Index (formerly Agricultural Index). Bronx, NY: H. W. Wilson, 1916 - .
Ref SZ5073. A46
This print index covers the biological and agricultural sciences from 1916 to 1995.

These resources are located in the Reference Room, on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library.
Shoemaker, Candice A. Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
Ref SB465 .E63 2001
This 3-volume series provides information on "individuals (architects, deisgners, plant collectors, patrons, and writes), ... places (countries, regions of the world, and specific gardens), and ... topics (garden elements, periods, styles."
Newton, David E. Encyclopedia of Water. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
Ref GB 655 .N48 2003
Contains over 200 entries on topics related to water and hydrology.  Entries range from a short paragraph to several pages and most contain references to additional resources.  Coverage includes the physical and chemical properties of water, steam and ice; uses of water and steam, and water rights/policies. 
American Landscape & Architectural Design, 1850-1920
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/mhsdhtml/aladhome.html
"This collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides represents an historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920."

The Mississippi State University Libraries supports a significant collection of journals in both print and electronic formats.  The following titles are offered as an example of relevant resources in the area of landscape architecture.  To search the Libraries' holdings for specific titles and volumes, consult the Online Catalog.  To search for electronic journals, try searchng the library's E-Journals List.
  • Garden Design
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Landscape Ecology
  • Landscape Journal
  • Landscape Management
American Society of Landscape Architects
http://www.asla.org/
Professional organization for students and researchers in the field of landscape architecture. Provides online access to the table of contents for association publications.
 
 
Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA)
http://www.theCELA.org
CELA "is composed of virtually all of the programs of landscape architecture in the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand."
Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF)
http://www.LAFoundation.org
The purpose of LAF is to "be a catalyst for change, and an active participant and leader of a new collaborative effort to improve the American environment. LAF envisions an American environment."

 

This page created and maintained by Brad Brazzeal, Instructional Services Librarian. Created 4/23/07.