Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Iraq Conflict Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to selected resources containing information on the Iraq conflict.  Below is a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions of the type of information supplied.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance.


Country Information Major Internet Portals Viewpoints/Opinions
United Nations Resources United States  News


Reference Resources
Europa World Year Book. London : Europa Publications, Annual. 
Ref JN1 .E85
Entries provide basic demographic, economic, and political information on countries.  The Iraq entry includes a lengthy history of UN resolutions and international sanctions.
Middle East:  Opposing Viewpoints. San Diego, CA : Greenhaven Press, 2001. 
Ref DS 63.1 .M5426 2000 [Undergraduate Research Center]
This book provides an overview of the causes of conflict in the Middle East.  Includes a section of essays on the use of UN sanctions against Iraq.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2001. 
Ref DS35.53 .O95 2001 Volumes 1-4

A four volume set with thematic and country entries, this encyclopedia contains short, signed encyclopedic descriptions.  Most entries have an accompanying bibliography.

Internet Resources
Amnesty International Report: Human Rights in Iraq
http://www.amnesty.org/ailib/aireport/index.html
Amnesty International publishes an annual report on the state of human rights in Iraq. Online coverage begins with 1993.
CIA World Factbook: Iraq
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/iz.html
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency, this resource provides online access to the Iraq entry in the CIA World Factbook.
Iraq:  A Country Study
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/iqtoc.html
The Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress provides online access to this data collected and written in 1988. The country profile was last updated in August 2006.
Iraq Maps
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/iraq.html
The Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas, Austin offers online access to various Iraqi maps, available in either pdf or html file formats.
 

These web sites serve as meta-guides to resources about Iraq and the Iraq-US conflict.
Terrorism: A Navy Department Library Research Guide
http://www.history.navy.mil/library/guides/terrorism.htm
The Navy Department Library’s research guide provides access to related resources, with particular emphasis on US documents and position papers.
 
Iraq (Portals To the World)
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/amed/iraq/iraq.html
The Library of Congress' Portals to the World project provides extensive coverage of available Internet resources for countries and selected topics.  The Iraq web site provides a comprehensive listing, with annotations, of web sites pertaining to Iraq.
 
Iraq War Debate
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/iraqwar.html
Developed by the Documents Department at the University of Michigan Library, this meta-site provides an extensive overview of resources pertaining to the Iraqi conflict.  Note that this resource also includes links open only to UM users; however, many of these same resources may also be found on the Mississippi State University Libraries' web page.
Librarians Internet Index: Websites You Can Trust
http://search.lii.org/index.jsp
The Librarians' Internet Index (LII) is a publicly-funded website which features thousands of high-quality websites carefully selected, described, and organized by a team of librarians.
 
Alternative Resources on the US-Iraq Conflict
http://www.pitt.edu/~ttwiss/irtf/iraq.html
Developed by the International Responsibilities Task Force and the American Library Association, this meta-site lists a number of web sites providing alternative viewpoints on the Iraqi conflict
No War With Iraq
http://www.thenation.com/directory/view.mhtml?t=040307
Sponsored by the journal The Nation, this website documents the anti-war movement in the United States and abroad.
Pew Research Center
http://people-press.org/
The Pew Research Center is an independent research group that studies attitudes toward the press, the US political system and selected public policy issues.  Selected reports are available online.
Public Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org/aboutpa/aboutpa.cfm
Public Agenda is a nonpartisan opinion research and civic engagement organization helping Americans explore and understand critical issues.
 
Security Council Resolution 1441
http://www.un.org/Docs/scres/2002/sc2002.htm
The United Nations Security Council provide online access to resolution 1441, Adopted November 8, 2002.
 
UN News Centre
http://www.un.org/apps/news/infocusRel.asp?infocusID=50&Body=Iraq&Body1=inspect
The UN News Centre is a one-stop guide to essential resources on United Nations issues in the news.
UN Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission (UNMOVIC)
http://www.un.org/Depts/unmovic/
: This site documents the work of UNMOVIC from its creation on December 17, 1999 until its termination on June 29, 2007. The mandate of UNMOVIC was to verify Iraq’s compliance to rid itself of weapons of mass destruction and to ascertain that Iraq did not reacquire the same weapons prohibited to it by the Security Council.
United Nations Oil for Food Programme
http://www.un.org/Depts/oip/
The Office of the Iraq Programme documents the United Nations Oil for Food program.
 
United Nations Research Guide
http://library.msstate.edu/resources/guides/unitednations.asp
Extensive research guide documenting the UN collection available online and at the Mississippi State University Libraries.
 
CRS Reports on Iraq
http://fpc.state.gov/c7690.htm
This site provides access to the Congressional Research Services Reports, distributed by the State Department's Foreign Press Centers.
Iraq Coalition Casualty Count
http://icasualties.org/oif/default.aspx
The goal of this website is to document coalition casualties for Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom.
Cost of the War in Iraq
http://costofwar.com/
The National Priorities Project presents estimates of the war in Iraq, with a real time counter.  Figures are based on Congressional Budget Office estimates.
Estimated Cost of a War With Iraq
http://www.cbo.gov/showdoc.cfm?index=3822&sequence=0
A September 30, 2002 letter from the Congressional Budget Office offers estimates on the budgetary costs of a war with Iraq.
Government Views of Iraq
http://www.ccny.cuny.edu/library/Divisions/Government/Iraqbib.html
This site maintained by the City College of New York Libraries concentrates on government documents and information from the U.S. Executive Branch.
Iraq: A Decade of Deception and Defiance
http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2002/09/20020912.html
A September 2002 report by the Whitehouse provides documentation of Iraq defiance of UN resolutions.
Iraq Update
http://usinfo.state.gov/mena/middle_east_north_africa/iraq.html
The British Government has prepared a massive report on the state of weapons of mass destruction in Iraq.
 
Iraq's Weapons of Mass Destruction
http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/middle_east/02/uk_dossier_on_iraq/html/full_dossier.stm
Massive report, prepared by the British Government, on the state of weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. Note that the 55 page report is available online as a pdf file.
President Says Saddam Hussein Must Leave Iraq Within 48 Hours
http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2003/03/20030317-7.html
This release from the Office of the Press Secretary includes remarks made by the President in his Address to the Nation, March 17, 2003.
ABC News: Coverage of Iraq
http://abcnews.go.com/International/IraqCoverage/
Coverage is provided by ABC News.  
Arab World News
http://www.arabworldnews.com/
Coverage is provided by the World News Network.  While the website is in English, it does include links to a wide number of Arabic news websites.  
BBC: Conflict with Iraq
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/middle_east/2002/conflict_with_iraq/default.stm
Coverage is provided by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).  Especially useful are the numerous maps included in the BBC site.
Business Week: War with Iraq
http://www.businessweek.com/bwdaily/list/war01.htm
Business Week provides coverage of the war with Iraq, with an emphasis on the economic impact.
CNN: Showdown Iraq
http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/2002/iraq/
CNN provides comprehensive coverage of the Iraq news story.
Lexis-Nexis Academic 
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Lexis-Nexis provides access to a wide range of news, legal, and business information. It includes access to full-text transcripts from the news agency Al Jazeera.  To search transcripts, choose News from the menu and search on the Guided News Search.  For step one, select NEWS TRANSCRIPTS; for step two, select ALL TRANSCRIPTS, and for step three, type: PUBLICATION (Al Jazeera) and search in the full-text (In:  FULL-TEXT). 
Newseum: War Coverage
http://www.newseum.org/search/search.aspx?item=search&style=m
Sponsored by Newseum, an interactive news archive, this site provides access to the front pages of over 200 national and international newspapers for March 20-March 22, 2003.

 

This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 3/17/03.