Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Insurance and Risk Management Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the area of insurance and risk management. Users are encouraged to consult other business research guides as well.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Other research guides:  Company Information, Economics, Other CSRC Resources


Indexes and Databases Industry Information and Ratings Guides Internet Resources
Dictionaries Mississippi Resources Professional Organizations


Business Source Complete
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student.** 
This large full-text business database provides full-text access to almost 3,800 titles. Includes full-text access to such titles as Journal of Insurance Regulation, Journal of Risk and Insurance, and Risk Management and Insurance Review.  Also includes access to over 50,000 Datamonitor company reports.
EconLit
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student.** 
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the world's premier economics and finance index.  Articles related to insurance and risk management are often found here.  EconLit uses the JEL (Journal of Economic Literature) classification system; G220 is insurance and insurance companies.
Insurance Periodicals Index
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student.** 
Indexing and abstracting over 200 of the most respected and widely-read insurance industry journals and magazines, Insurance Periodicals index provides coverage back to 1965.
LexisNexis Academic
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student.** 
LexisNexis Academic provides access to news, legal, and business information sources, with extensive full-text access to newspapers (US and international).

Unless noted otherwise, these resources are located in the Reference Room, on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library. A.M. Best has provided specialized insurance reports since 1899.  Most of the following resources are part of the Best line of products. Insurance reports provide an in-depth analysis of either health/life insurance or casualty insurance companies in the US for the latest five year period.  These will include ratings and a review of the financial performance of the company.  Ratings guides rate the insurance company, looking at financial strength, operating performance, and market profiles.
AM Best Online Ratings and Analysis
http://www3.ambest.com/ratings/advanced.asp
An online service providing access to Best insurance ratings data, including rations and insurer profile reports.  Users are required to register, but the service is free and open to the public.
Best's Insurance Reports.  Life Health. United States and Canada. Oldwick, NJ: A.M. Best Co. Annual.
Ref HG 8943 .B3 2003
Best's Insurance Reports.  Property-Casualty. United States. Oldwick, NJ: A.M. Best Co.  Annual.
Ref HG 9655 .B5
Best's Key Rating Guide: Life-Health. Oldwick, NJ: A.M. Best Co. Annual. 
Ref HG 8945 .B438
Best's Key Rating Guide: Property-Casualty. Oldwick, NJ: A.M. Best Co.  Annual. 
Ref HG 8525 .B4

Best's Review. Oldwick, NJ: A.M. Best Co. Monthly. 
Current 12 months are located in Current Journals; older issues are available in the bound journals.  This title is also available online (2000 to the present) through Business Source Premier.

Big List of Insurance Company Websites
http://insurance.about.com/blbiglist.htm?PM=ss12_insurance
This site provides a comprehensive listing of insurance companies, with links to their home page.
Insurance & Technology Online
http://www.insurancetech.com/
Part of the InformationWeek Media Network, this online journal also serves as a resource for web related insurance resources.  Selected articles are available online, as well as career related links.
Insurance Information Exchange
http://www.iix.com/links_companies.htm
The Insurance Information Exchange is a commercial site with links to numerous insurance companies.
 
Insurance Planning and Resource Center
http://www.lcgroup.com/resource/
Sponsored by the Lewis-Chester Group, this online resource provides links to other Internet sites related to insurance. 
Insurance Ratings Definitions (Standard & Poor's)
Definitions of Standard & Poor's classic insurance ratings are provided.
Ultimate Insurance Links
http://www.ultimateinsurancelinks.com/index.cfm?page=_indexinfo
This meta-site lists web pages related to the insurance industry.
Electronic Journals
The following electronic journals are available through the Library's full-text databases; these and other electronic journals may be viewed using the Electronic Journals web page.
  • Business Insurance
  • Insurance & Technology
  • Insurance Advocate
  • Insurance Conference Planner
  • Insurance Tax Review
  • Journal of Insurance Regulation
  • Journal of Risk and Insurance
  • Journal of Risk Research
  • Life Insurance International
  • Risk Management
  • Risk Management & Insurance Review
Complete Glossary of Insurance Coverage Explanations
http://www.coverageglossary.com/lcgroup_explanations.html
Hosted by the Lewis-Chester Group, this online dictionary provides short definitions of terms commonly found in the study of insurance and risk management.
Insurance Dictionary
http://www.insurance-y2k.com/dictionary/uatdict.html
This online dictionary has extensive coverage of terms and provides brief definitions.
InsWeb Insurance Glossary
http://www.insweb.com/learningcenter/glossary/default.htm
Definitions to common insurance terms are provided.  Terms are divided into general subject areas, such as auto insurance terms, liability terms, life insurance terms, etc....
Insurance Education Institute (Mississippi State University)
http://www.distance.msstate.edu/iei/
Jointly sponsored by the MSU College of Education and the College of Business & Industry's Risk Management, Insurance, and Financial Planning Program, this program is designed to assist teachers in incorporating insurance education into the high school curriculum.
Mississippi Department of Insurance
http://www.doi.state.ms.us/
This State agency provides information on the insurance industry in Mississippi.  Online publications, consumer and industry information, and market share/company reports are included on the web site.
 
Professional Insurance Agents Association of Mississippi
http://www.piams.com/
Created for a professional association of independent insurance agents, this web site includes association information, listings of continuing education opportunities, and other useful links.
American Institute for CPCU and Insurance Institute of America
http://www.aicpcu.org/
The independent, nonprofit organizations AICPCU and IIA have teamed up to provide educational and professional support services to professionals in the underwriting and insurance fields.  The web site provides information on continuing education and certification options, as well as links to other resources in the field.
American Risk and Insurance Association
http://www.aria.org/
ARIA is one of the primary professional associations for both practitioners and scholars in the area of insurance and risk management.  The ARIA web site provides information about the association's publications, annual meeting, and job placement options.
 
Insurance Education Foundation
http://www.ief.org/main.htm
The Foundation web site serves primarily as a resource for teachers and educators, providing information on the role of insurance in society.  Information about available institutes and workshops, online access to the Foundation's newsletter, and links to other useful web sites are included.

Risk and Management Society
http://www.rims.org/
The Risk and Management Society is an international organization providing support to risk managers.  Their website provides access to annual conference and continuing education information, online "e-groups", products and publications purchasing information, and local chapter information.
Southern Risk and Insurance Association
http://www.southernrisk.org/
This regional association serves the needs of insurance and risk managers, as well as scholars, throughout the southeast.
 

This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 7/5/04.

--