Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Human Nutrition Guide

This guide provides an introduction to selected resources containing information on human nutrition. Below is a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions of the type of information supplied. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance.

 

Indexes and Databases

Finding Print Resources

Selected Periodicals

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Websites

Professional Organizations

 

Indexes/Databases

Journal articles generally give the most up-to-date information on a subject. The following are article databases in which to find information on human nutrition. To view other potentially relevant databases, go to the Index/Databases page and view the category, Health/Medicine.  

Academic Search Premier  
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Indexes more than 146 publications related to nutrition.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
 

AGRICOLA (available through EBSCO or SilverPlatter)
Agricola is the most comprehensive source of bibliographic citations covering U.S. agricultural and life sciences information.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Biological Abstracts (1991-present)  
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4000 journals internationally.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

CAB Abstracts (1990-present)  
Offers abstracts and indexing for journals, serial publications, conference proceedings, books, theses, annual reports, patents, and standards covering the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of health, human nutrition, animal health, as well as the management and conservation of natural resources.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (1975-present)  
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, in addition to indexing/abstracting for an additional 850 journals. Coverage is especially strong for nursing and allied health.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Medline A CAB Abstracts Biological Abstracts advanced  
Created by the National Library of Medicine. Contains abstracts for over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

PubMed  
Provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's, as well as for additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Web of Science  
Indexes roughly 8,500 of the highest impact research journals worldwide. Allows both general and cited reference searching.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **


Finding Print Resources

The Online Catalog is your guide to materials (including books, journals, media, electronic resources and manuscripts) that are owned by the libraries in the Golden Triangle Library Consortium. Click on the Online Catalog link and use the keyword search if you know the topic or some words in the title. If you know the title or author, use an exact search.  Click on the titles to see more information about each item. When you find your book, be sure to check the Location (MSU Library, MSU Reference, etc.) and the Call Number at the bottom of the screen.. Need more information? Try How to Use Your Library, our online tutorial. 

Examples of keywords related to nutrition

Nutrition
Dietetics
Food science
Public health

To search specifically for periodicals, accompany a keyword with the word periodicals. For example, to find all journals under the subject nutrition, type nutrition periodicals as a keyword.

Relevant call number ranges for books include:

HD9000 - HD9490 -- Food industry
QP141 - QP185 -- Nutrition
RM214-RM258 -- Clinical nutrition
TX341-TX641 -- Food supply

     

Selected Periodicals

The following are selected nutrition-related journals in the Mississippi State University Libraries collection. Please consult the Online Catalog for locations and available volumes.


Nutrition

British Journal of Nutrition
  An international, peer-reviewed journal publishing original papers, review articles, short communications and technical notes on human and clinical nutrition, general nutrition, and animal nutrition.

Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior
  The official publication of the Society for Nutrition Education. A refereed scientific periodical devoted to original research on factors influencing food behavior and how they can be modified for positive, sustainable dietary change.

Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry
  Presents experimental nutrition research as it relates to: biochemistry, neurochemistry, molecular biology, toxicology, physiology and pharmacology

Food Science

International Journal of Food Science and Technology
  Covers a wide range of subjects, ranging from pure research in the various sciences associated with food, to practical experiments designed to improve technical processes.

Nutrition and Food Science
  Covers new initiatives, the latest research findings and innovative ways of responding to changes in public attitudes.

Public Health

American Journal of Public Health
  The No. 1 publication dedicated to original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health.

Public Health Nutrition
  Essential reading for all specialists involved with nutritional epidemiological research, the role of nutrition in public health, and the identification of practical solutions to global nutrition-related health problems.


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

An encyclopedia is a good place to get background information on a particular topic and to identify relevant key ideas and sources. Sometimes entries will also include a bibliography of additional relevant sources. Dictionaries will define terms+ but will not include a bibliography.

Berdanier, Carolyn D. CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 1998.  
RefQP141.B523 1998  
  Includes many medical terms, descriptions of biochemical pathways and physiological processes, as well as short descriptions of nutrition-related genetic diseases.

Ensminger, Audrey H. Foods & Nutrition Encyclopedia. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 1994.  
RefTX349.F575 1994  
  Comprehensive coverage of the topics food, nutrition, and health. Contains many photos.

Francis, Frederick J. Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology. New York: Wiley, 2000.  
RefTP368.2 .E62 2000  
  Covers topics based on the following areas: basic and applied sciences, processing technology, and food laws and regulations.

Heldman, Dennis R. Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering. New York: Marcel Dekker, 2003.  
Ref TP368.2.E57 2003  
  Explores all areas of agricultural technology. Covers such topics as nutrition, quality control, biochemistry, microbiology, and product development.

Igoe, Robert S. Dictionary of Food Ingredients. Gaithersburg, Maryland: Aspen Publishers, 2001.  
Ref TX551.I26 2001  
  Provides practical, scientific, and regulatory information for over 1000 food ingredients and additives.

Miller, Gregory D. Handbook of Dairy Foods and Nutrition. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2000.  
Ref QP144.M54 M55 2000  
  Reviews current scientific information on the role of dairy foods in a healthy diet. Discusses the role of dairy products in relation to various diseases, bone health, vegetarianism, etc.

Sadler, Michele. Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. San Diego: Academic Press, 1999.  
Ref QP141 .E526 1999  
  Coverage is broad and includes areas such as clinical nutrition, food processing, and public health policy.

Websites

Web Guides

Arbor Nutrition Guide  
http://www.arborcom.com  
  Includes links to websites on topics such as applied nutrition, clinical nutrition, food science, and food. The site can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic.

Hardin Meta Directory  
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/index.html  
  Provides links to high quality directory pages for health and medicine. Also provides direct links to primary information in circumscribed subjects, as well as links to medical pictures.

General Health/Nutrition

National Institutes of Health

  http://health.nih.gov/  
  An index of NIH health resources, clinical trials, health hotlines, MEDLINEplus, and drug information.

Nutrition.gov  
www.nutrition.gov  
  A portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal Government.

Food and Nutrition Service  
http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns/  
  Provides information on food security and reducing hunger in low-income populations.

Nutrient Analysis

USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory  
http://www.ars.usda.gov/ba/bhnrc/ndl  
  The Nutrient Data Laboratory has the responsibility to develop the USDA's National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, the foundation of most food and nutrition databases in the US, used in food policy, research, and nutrition monitoring. The site offers additional databases, as well.

Nutrition Analysis Tool  
http://nat.crgq.com/index.html  
 

MyPyramid Tracker is an online dietary and physical activity assessment tool that provides information on your diet quality, physical activity status, related nutrition messages, and links to nutrient and physical activity information.”


MyPyramid Tracker  
http://www.cnpp.usda.gov/MyPyramidTracker.htm  
  A dietary assessment tool that provides information on diet quality, and links to nutrient information. Also includes The Physical Activity Tool which is used to assess physical activity status, and provides related energy expenditure information and educational messages.

Statistics

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)  
http://www.fao.org/es/ess/index_en.asp  
  The FAO Statistics Division maintains the world’s largest and most comprehensive statistical database on food and agriculture.  The website provides a variety of charts, factoids, and links to other organizations.

National Center for Health Statistics  
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/Default.htm  
  The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation's principal health statistics agency.

General Directories

Google Web Directory  
http://directory.google.com/Top/Health/Nutrition/  
  This directory is a collection of websites selected by Open Directory volunteer editors.

Librarians' Index to the Internet: Nutrition and Food Safety  
http://lii.org/pub/topic/nutrition  
  The index is a searchable, annotated subject directory of Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians. The Nutrition and Food Safety page includes links to both specific and general sites related to nutrition.

Miscellaneous

Vegetarian Resource Group  
http://www.vrg.org/  
  “The Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG) is a non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public on vegetarianism and the interrelated issues of health, nutrition, ecology, ethics, and world hunger.”


Professional Organizations

American Dietetic Association
http://www.eatright.org    
         
The American Dietetic Association is the nation's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.

American Society for Nutrition

http://www.asns.org

 
         
The American Society for Nutrition is the premier research society dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition.

Institute of Food Technologists

http://www.ift.org

 
         
As the authoritative voice of food science and technology, IFT contributes to public policy and opinion at nation, state, and local levels.

Center for Science in the Public Interest

http://www.cspinet.org/

 
         

The Center is a consumer advocacy organization whose goals are to conduct innovative research and advocacy programs in health and nutrition, and to provide consumers with current, useful information about their health and well-being.

 

This page was created by Jessica Buehring and updated on November 16, 2005.

-- --