Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Grants and Research Funding Resource Guide


This guide covers some of the grant/funding resources and services available to the Mississippi State University community.  The resources below describe both print and electronic directories, writing guides, and related resources available both in the Mississippi State University Libraries and across campus.  


Mississippi State University Resources Directories Writing and Funding Guides
Related Materials Agencies


These are some of the resources available to the MSU research community.  Please contact the individual agency or department for additional information.
Office of the Vice President for Research
http://www.research.msstate.edu/ 
Coordinating office for research efforts at Mississippi State University.  Core resource for links to other campus resources and services.
 
Sponsored Programs Administration (SPA)
http://www.spa.msstate.edu/ 
Supports the grants process at MSU. The SPA website provides useful links including information regarding the grant application process at MSU, upcoming workshops, and related policies/procedures.
Community of Science Funding Opportunities Database
**Access is restricted to MSU IP addresses.**
Supported through the Sponsored Programs Administration, the Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities Database provides access to over 23,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities.  Access is restricted to MSU campus users.
COS Funding Opportunities Searching Guide
http://library.msstate.edu/CSRC/DataGuides/COS.pdf
Developed as part of the Corporate and Statistical Data Center's Data Guides to Go! series, this pdf document provides some basic tips and strategies for searching the COS Funding Opportunities database.
Office for Regulatory Compliance
http://www.orc.msstate.edu/ 
The Office for Regulatory Compliance monitors the use of "human subjects, vertebrate animals, biohazardous materials, and radioisotopes.  The ORC website lists upcoming workshops, procedures and policies, and forms for research involving the covered areas. 

The following bibliography covers both general and specialized resources for grants and research funding.  The Community of Science Funding Opportunities Database is an excellent starting point for research funding.  Other resources supplement this resource.  Most print directories are located in the Reference Room, on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library and have call numbers preceded by "REF".

Online Resources
 
Community of Science Funding Opportunities Database
**Access is restricted to MSU IP addresses.**
Supported through the Sponsored Programs Administration, the Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities Database provides access to over 23,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities.  Access is restricted to MSU campus users.
Print Resources
Annual Register of Grant Support.  Chicago: Marquis Academic Media. Annual. REF AS 911 .A2 A67

The Big Book of Library Grant Money.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1998. REF Z 683 .B53 1998-99

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance.  Washington, DC: Office of Management and Budget. Annual.  REF HC 110 .P63 U53a

Grants Register.  Chicago: St. John's Press.  Annual. REF LB 2338 .G7

Directory of Grants in the Humanities.  Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2001. REF ZA 188 .U5 D56 2001-2002

Financial Aid for Research and Creative Activities Abroad.  San Carlos, CA: Reference Service Press, 1994. REF LB 2337.2 .F574 1994-1996

NetLibrary Materials
The following titles are available in the Library's NetLibrary collection, a collection of over 10,000 electronic books.  titles may be accessed via the Library's online catalog or directly from the NetLibrary database (available on the Library's listing of databases and indexes.)  **Access is restricted to MSU affiliated users.**

Schlachter, Gail A. Directory of Financial Aids for Women, 1999 - 2001.  El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Services Press, 1999.

Schlachter, Gail A. Financial Aid for African Americans, 1999 - 2001.  El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Services Press, 1999.

Schlachter, Gail A. Financial Aid for Asian Americans, 1999 - 2001.  El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Services Press, 1999.

Schlachter, Gail A. Financial Aid for Hispanic Americans, 1999 - 2001.  El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Services Press, 1999.

The following resources provide advice on how to write and obtain research funding.  Most print resources are located in the Library's circulating collection.  Call numbers preceded with "REF" are located in the Reference collection and may be used in the Library.

Internet Guides
The internet resources below are freely available on the Internet.  While many of these resources address potential applicants to a particular agency or organization, the advice they offer is often applicable to most grant writing projects.
Art of Grantsmanship
http://www.hfsp.org/how/ArtOfGrants.htm
Developed by Dr. Jacob Kraicer, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto.  This site is a general online guide to writing grants and includes sections on the structure and content of most grants.  A helpful guide to common errors is also included.
Art of Writing Proposals
http://fellowships.ssrc.org/art_of_writing_proposals/ 
Developed by Adam Przeworski (Department of Political Science, New York University) and Frank Salomon (Department of Anthropology, University of Wisconsin) on behalf of the Social Sciences Research Council (SSRC).  While the primary target is applicants to the SSRC competitions, the advice is useful for all potential grant writers.
Fundamentals of Grantsmanship
http://healthlinks.washington.edu/rfs/gw/fundamentals.html
Although a little dated, this web page provides a solid overview of the grants process.  Developed by Janet S. Rasey, this source provides an overview of the grant application process and good advice for writing (and revising!) the grant application.
Guide to Proposal Planning and Writing
http://www.wm.edu/grants/PROP/miner.pdf 
An abbreviated version of Jeremy and Lynn Miner's Proposal Planning and Writing, this pdf document offers advice on locating potential grants, communicating with grant agencies, and developing the grant application.
Grant Proposal Guide: National Science Foundation
http://www.nsf.gov/pubsys/ods/getpub.cfm?gpg#top
Developed by the National Science Foundation, this guide provides everything you need to know about writing and submitting a NSF grant proposal.  The document is available in pdf or html format.
Hints for Writing successful NIH Grants
http://www2.uta.edu/sswgrants/Technical%20Assistance/hints_for_writing_successful_nih.htm
Developed by Ellen Bartlett of the University of Miami School of Medicine, this guide provides tips and strategies for writing a successful NIH grant application.
Proposal Writing Short Course
http://fdncenter.org/learn/shortcourse/prop1.html
This online tutorial, while focusing on nonprofit institutions and donor corporations, provides useful advice for any potential grant writer.  Developed by the Foundation Center.
What Should I Know About ED Grants?
http://www.ed.gov/fund/grant/about/knowabtgrants/index.html
Developed by the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides fundamental information for anyone interested in pursuing grants for research or programs from the Department of Education.  Includes a discussion of the type of grants offered by the department as well as an overview of the grant review process.
Print Resources

Barber, Daniel H. Finding Funding:  The Comprehensive Guide to Grant Writing.  Long Beach, CA:  Bond Street Publishers, 2002. HG 177.5 .U6 B37 2002

Bauer, David G. How to Evaluate and Improve Your Grants Efforts.  Westport, CT: Oryx Press, 2001.             HG 177 .B377 2001

Bauer, David G. The Principal's Guide to Winning Grants.  San Francisco, CA:  Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1999. LC 243 .A1 B36 1999

Bauer, David G. The Teacher's Guide to Winning Grants San Francisco, CA:  Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1999. LC 243 .A1 B37 1999

Brewer, Ernest W. Grantseeker's Toolkit for Writing Grant Proposals.  Knoxville, TN: University of Tennesee, 1999. REF HG 177 .B74 1999

Brown, Larissa G. Demystifying Grant Seeking:  What You Really Need to Do to Get Grants.  San Francisco, CA:  Jossey-Bass, 2001. HG 177 .B767 2001

Burke, Jim. I'll Grant You That:  A Step-by-step Guide to Finding Funds, Designing Winning Projects and Writing Powerful Proposals.  Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2000. HG 177 .B868 2000

Geever, Jane C. The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing.  New York: Foundation Center, 2001.     HG 177.5 .U6 G44

Golden, Susan L. Secrets of Successful Grantsmanship:  A Guerrilla Guide to Raising Money.  San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 1997. HG 177 .G65 1997

Lauffer, Armand. Grants, etc.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1997. 2nd ed.  HG 177 .L375 1997

Miller, Patrick W. Grant Writing: Strategies for Developing Winning Proposals.  P. Miller, 2000. HG 177.5 .U6 M54 2000

Miner, Lynn E. Proposal Planning and Writing.  Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1998. HG 177.5 .U6 M56 1998

Ries, Joanne B. Applying for Research Funding:  Getting Started and Getting Funded.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1995. HG 177 .R53 1995

Electronic Journals
The following electronic journals are freely available on the Internet.
Grantsmanship Center Magazine
http://www.tgci.com/magazine/archives.asp
Excellent online magazine, with a searchable archive, covering all areas of grantsmanship.
 
NonProfit Times
http://www.nptimes.com/
Online newsletter, providing articles on recent trends within the field.
Philanthropy Journal Online
http://www.philanthropy-journal.org/
Emphasizes non-profit organizations, with numerous links to related sites.
Philanthropy News Digest
http://fdncenter.org/pnd/
Online newsletter from the Foundation Center.

 This list contains some of the more common funding agencies.  If you have a suggestion for an addition to this list, please let us know!

Administration for Children & Families (U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)

Administration on Developmental Disabilities (U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

CSREES Funding Opportunities (USDA)

Department of Education Grants Information

Department of Housing and Urban Development

e-Grants (Dept. of Education)

National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

National Institute for Literacy

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders

National Institute of Mental Health

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

National Science Foundation

Social Science Research Council

This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center. Created 7/28/03.