German Language and Literature
Library Research Guide: German Language and Literature
This guide provides an introduction to selected resources containing information on German language and literature. Below is a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions of the type of information supplied. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance.
MSU Libraries subscribes to many online indexes and databases which can be used to locate journal articles, book reviews, and other types of information sources. Often, the full text of these documents is available online, and a link is provided to connect directly to the information you want. In other instances, a database may simply give you a citation to an article or review available only in a print journal. In those cases, you should search for the journal title in the Online Catalog to determine if the library subscribes to the title. If the library does not subscribe to the journal, you can request a copy of the article through inter-library loan service (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).
The library's electronic journals also allow you to find full-text articles online. However, you can only search one specific journal title at a time.
Academic Search Premier
| |
Covers a wide range of academic subjects, including biological sciences, computer sciences, economics, engineering, arts and literature, medical sciences, and more. Contains a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
Dissertations and Theses
| |
The database provides access to more than 1.6 million dissertations of a complete range of academic subjects. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
Historical Abstracts
| |
Indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world as well as books reviewed by history journals. This database is a complete reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
JSTOR
| |
Contains back issues of a wide variety of humanities and social science journals available electronically. For language and literature study, journals include Nineteenth-Century Literature 1986-2001, Nineteenth-Century Fiction 1949-1986, Renaissance Quarterly 1967-2001, Renaissance News 1948-1966, Representations 1983-2001, etc. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
Literary Reference Center
| |
The Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
MLA International Bibliography
| |
Provides bibliographical information for articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
Project MUSE
| |
Provides electronic access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many more. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
Social Science Citation Index
| |
Provides bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals, covering more than 50 disciplines. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
WorldCat
| |
A combined online catalog. Provides records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. ** |
The Online Catalog is your guide to materials (including books, journals, media, electronic resources and manuscripts) that are owned by the libraries in the Golden Triangle Library Consortium. Click on the Online Catalog link and use the keyword search if you know the topic or some words in the title. If you know the title or author, use an exact search. Click on the titles to see more information about each item. When you find your book, be sure to check the Location (MSU Library, MSU Reference, etc.) and the Call Number at the bottom of the screen.. Need more information? Try How to Use Your Library, our online tutorial.
The Libraries use Library of Congress subject headings to provide a set of standard terms to describe the contents of all items listed in the Online Catalog.
Below are some examples of subject headings assigned to German language and literature:
Authors, German
German drama
German fiction
German language
German literature
German poetry
Romanticism, German
Short stories, German
|
Reference books are good places to stimulate ideas and obtain background information on a research topic or question. Below are selected reference books in MSU libraries. For more book titles, search the library's online catalog. |
| Das Grosse Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache. Mannheim ; Wien ; Zurich: Bibliographisches Institut, 1976- |
|
| Call Number: PF3625 .G75 |
|
| |
Modern German dictionary. |
| Garland, Henry B. The Oxford Companion to German Literature. Oxford [Eng.]: Clarendon Press, 1976. |
|
Call Number: [MUW library] PT41 .G3 |
|
| |
An alphabetical listing of authors, titles, characters, etc. Covers every period of the literature of each German-speaking country. |
| Grim, Jacob. Deutsches wörterbuch. Leipzig, S. Hirzel, 1854-19 |
| Call Number: Ref PF3625 .G7 |
|
| |
An important historical German dictionary. |
| Kluge, Friedrich. Etymologisches Wörterbuch der Deutschen Sprache. 23rd ed. Berlin; New York: de Gruyter, 1995. |
| Call Number: Ref PF3580 .K5 |
|
| |
This dictionary of German etymology provides comprehensive information about the historical development and forming of 13,000 German and foreign words. |
| Langenscheidt New Muret-Sanders Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German Languages. New York, Barnes & Noble, 1962- |
| Call Number: Ref PF3640 .L36 |
|
| |
One of the most comprehensive German-English/English-German dictionaries. |
| Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: German-English, English-German. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990. |
| Call Number: Ref PF3640 .O94 |
|
| |
Provides detailed coverage of every language field from general to specialist vocabulary, and from contemporary to literary German. |
| Encyclopedia and Handbooks for Literature |
| Encyclopedia of German Literature. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000 |
| Call Number: Ref PT91 .E53 |
|
| |
Entries focus on authors, works, literary movements and periods, and types of literature, providing an overview of the present state of the field. Has suggestions for further reading. |
| Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2003. |
| Call Number: Ref B802 .E53 |
|
| |
Examines the developments in European culture from the 1670s through the early 19th century. The articles describe and clarify the concepts and key individuals. |
| Handbuch der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Abt. 2 Bibliographien. Bern, Munchen, Francke, 1969. |
| Cataloged individually with different call numbers and kept in Reference Department |
|
| |
This title contains eight volumes with each of them covering a major period: Romantik; Barock; Deutsches Schrifttum der Gegenwart; Fruhes Mittelalter: Vor- und Fruhgeschichte des deutschen Schrifttums; Wilhelminisches Zeitalter; Neunzehntes Jahrhundert; Hohes Mittelalter; and Hohes Mittelalter. |
Biographies and Bibliographies |
| Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main: V. Klostermann, 1970- |
| Call Number: Ref Z2231 .B5 |
|
| |
An international bibliography of German language and literary studies. Each volume comprises on title entries of monographs, journals and newspapers. Reviews of primary literature are also included. |
| Bibliographien zur deutschen Literatu des Mittelalters. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1950. |
| |
Cataloged individually with different call numbers and kept in Reference Department. Contains seven volumes. |
| Boor, Helmut de and Richard Newald. Geschichte der deutschen Literature von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart. Munchen, Beck, 1957- |
| Call Number: Ref PT85 .B642 |
|
| |
A history of German literature with good bibliographies. |
| Hansel, Johannes. Bucherkunde fur Germanisten: Studienausgabe. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1983 |
| Call Number: Ref Z2235.A2 H3 |
|
| |
Provides bibliographical information on linguistics, literature, literary periods, and genres. |
| Kosch, Wilhelm. Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon. Biographisch-Bibliographisches Handbuch. 3rd ed. Bern u. Munchen, Francke, 1968- |
| Call Number: Ref Z2230 .K826 |
|
| |
The most complete and extensive resource on German authors. Provides biographies and bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. Covers all of German literature, including titles of anonymous works. |
| Kunish, Hermmne. Lexikon der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. MÜnchen: Nymphenburger, 1981. |
| |
Bio- bibliographical references and indexes of 20th century German literature. |
| Schmitt, Franz Anselm. Stoff- und Motivgeschichte der deutschen Literatur; eine Bibliographie. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1965. |
| Call Number: Ref Z2231 .S35 |
|
| |
Covers German literature history and criticism bibliography. |
| Stammer, Wolfgang. Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters: Verfasserlexikon. Unter Mitarbeit zahlreicher Fachgenossen. Berlin, Die Gruyter, 1933. |
| Call Number: Ref Z2230 .S78 |
|
| |
Biographies of German authors from the 8th to the 16th century. Each entry has a list of bibliography. |
|
Langdon, Agnes, Domandi. Modern German Literature: A library of Literary Criticism. New York, Ungar [1972 |
| Call Number: Ref PT401 .D6 |
|
| |
History and criticism of German literature in the 20th century. |
|
Martini, Fritz. Deutsche Literaturgeschichte von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Stuttgart, A. Kröner, 1965. |
| Call Number: (Reserve Desk)PT85 .M3 |
|
| |
German literature history and criticism. |
|
Mekler, Paul and Wolfgang Stammler. Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. 2nd ed. Berlin, de Gruyter, 1958- |
| Call Number: Ref PT41 .R435 |
|
| |
Provides information on German literary terms, periods, currents, schools and genres, with extensive bibliographies. |
|
Raabe, Paul. Einfuhrung in die Bucherkunde zur deutschen Literaturwissenschaft. Stuttgart, Metzler, 1966. |
|
Call Number: Ref Z2231 .R24 |
|
| |
A concise introduction to German literature, including chronological tables and indexes.Bibliographies of the works cited are also included. |
|
Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Berlin; New York: De Gruyter, 1988. |
|
Call Number: Ref PT41 .R421 |
|
| |
Provides information on the history of German literature such as genre, movements, style, etc. |
|
Sagarra, Eda, and Peter Skrine. A Companion to German Literature from 1500 to the Present. Oxford, UK: Blackwell, 1997. |
|
Call Number: Ref PT 236 .S55 |
|
| |
Arranged chronologically, describes German literary history. Has brief biographies of authors. |
|
Vivian, Kim, ed. A Concise History of German Literature to 1900. Studies in German Literature, Linguistics, and Culture. Columbia, SC: Camden House, 1992. |
|
Call Number: (Reserve Desk)PT 91.C66 |
|
| |
An excellent collection of essays. The articles examine the history of German literature from the Middle Ages to 1900. Extensive bibliography with an author/title/subject index. |
|
Wilpert, Gero von. Deutsche Literatur in Bildern. 2nd, rev. ed. Stuttgart: Kröner, 1965. |
|
Call Number: (Reserve Desk)PT 85. W56 |
|
| |
Contains 970 illustrations on German literature history and criticism. |
|
This guide created and mainted by Li Zhang. Created on August 19, 2005. |

