Furniture Manufacturing: Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to selected resources containing information on furniture manufacturing. Below is a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions of the type of information supplied. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance.
- AGRICOLA (available through EBSCO)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.
- Business Source Complete
- Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Business Source Premier provides abstracting and indexing for over 1,500 journals and full text for nearly 930 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.
-
-
-
-
- CAB Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- CAB Abstracts abstracts and indexes research on agriculture, forestry, environment, and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics and rural sociology, aspects of human health, veterinary medicine, crop protection, and biotechnology.
- Business Statistics of the United States. Lanham, Maryland: Bernan Press.
- Ref HC101.A13122 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk)
- Offers information for lumber and wood products, including: production; prices, employment; and earnings.
- Division of Research, College of Business and Industry, Mississippi State University. Mississippi Statistical Abstract. Mississippi State: Division of Research, College of Business and Industry, Mississippi State University.
- Ref HC107.M7 M45 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk)
- Includes under the chapter, "Manufacturing and Trade," total sales and tax by industry group, by county, business births and deaths by county, etc.
-
-
-
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. FAO Yearbook of Forest Products. Rome: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
- Ref HD9750.4.Y4
- "Compilation of statistical data on basic forest products for all countries and territories of the world. Includes tables showing direction of trade and average unit values of trade for certain products."
-
-
-
- Joyce, Ernest. Encyclopedia of Furniture Making. New York: Sterling Publishing, 1987.
- Ref TT194.J69 1997
- Includes chapters on basic materials, basic techniques, advanced techniques, restoration, and more.
-
-
-
- Standard & Poor's Corporation. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. New York: Standard & Poor's Corporation.
- Ref HC106.6.S74 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk)
- Furniture is in the section, "Household Durables." Furniture sales, leading furniture manufactures, and consumer furniture demand and disposable income are some of the subjects in this book.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: GPO.
- Ref HA202.U82 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk)
- Topics under the heading, "Wood Products Manufacturing" include: earnings; gross domestic product; foreign trade, prices, productivity, and toxic chemical releases. The same topics exist for the heading, "Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing."
- Institute of Furniture Manufacturing & Management - Mississippi State University
- http://www.ifmm.msstate.edu/
- "The Institute of Furniture Manufacturing and Management will provide a critical mass of expertise, knowledge, and services to assist furniture manufacturers in developing and maintaining the capability to respond quickly to competitive challenges and produce products for the world market that are competitive in quality, price, styling, service, and delivery."
-
-
-
- Franklin Center for Furniture Manufacturing and Management - College of Forest Resources, Forest and Wildlife Research Center, Mississippi State University
- http://www.cfr.msstate.edu/generalinfo/facilities/franklin/html/
- "The Franklin Center is a 35,500 square foot furniture research facility that supports a comprehensive furniture research, testing, and technical assistance program. The Center houses the Institute of Furniture Manufacturing and Management. A key function of the facility is to display and demonstrate the collective programs and outcomes of all units within the Institute and to showcase the furniture industry in Mississippi. Select from the menu above to take a virtual tour of the Franklin Center"
-
-
-
- WOODWEB
- http://www.woodweb.com/
- The web's most visited site for woodworking professionals. This mega site includes links to lumber and timber calculators, a bookstore, industry news, business and management forum, and more.
-
-
-
- Rule and Implementation Information for Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations
- http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/wood/riwood.html
- This Environmental Protection Agency site provides links to rule information, technical information, and implementation information for wood furniture manufacturing operations.
-
-
-
-
- ThomasRegister Directory: Furniture Manufacturers Product Categories
- http://www.thomasregisterdirectory.com/furniture/furniture_categories.html
- ThomasRegister.com is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Thomas lists 112 product categories for furniture manufacturers.
Created by Marybeth Grimes, Reference Services Librarian.
Created 04/07/04.

