French Research Guide
Library Research Guide: French Language and Literature This guide is to introduce students to the essential and useful resources in French language and literature. Below you will find suggestions to locate books and journal articles. The guide also provides a list of print, online, and Web resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or, Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions. Finding Journal Articles Indexes/Databases Web Resources E-Journals Arts & Humanities Citation Index Contemporary Authors Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Dictionary of Literary Biography Dissertation Abstracts ERIC (Dept. of Education) Ethnic NewsWatch Historical Abstract Humbul Humanities Hub JSTOR MLA Bibliography PAIS International Project MUSE Social Science Citation Index WorldCat
Finding Books Linguistics French Literature & Literary Criticism
Biographies & Bibliographies Newspapers & Media Materials
If there is no full-text article available online, you will need to check if the library has the actual journal (physical item) so that you can locate it and read the article. You can find the holding and location information of the journal by typing its title in the search box on the MSU online catalog. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through inter-library loan service (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).
The library's electronic journals also allow you to find full-text articles online. However, you can only search one specific journal title at a time.
Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic subjects, including biological sciences, computer sciences, economics, engineering, arts and literature, medical sciences, and more. Contains a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals.
Covers over 1,140 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and include cited references and related records.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on modern fiction and nonfiction writers.
Provides a full-text collection of significant published criticism on the works of contemporary novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other writers. Each entry also includes a listing of principal works and sources for further study.
Provides complete biographical and critical information on the lives, works, and career's of the world's most influential literary figures from all genres and time periods.
The database provides access to more than 1.6 million dissertations of a complete range of academic subjects.
ERIC (EBSCOHost)
Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, standards and guidelines. This database contains information on all aspects of education, including foreign language education.
A bilingual and comprehensive full text database comprised of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. It covers a wide range of current topics.
Indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world as well as books reviewed by history journals. This database is a complete reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Provides an online catalogue of Internet resources relevant to teaching and research in the humanities. The Hub discovers, evaluates, and describes resources for the study of English, French, Japanese, German, Spanish, as well as literature, history, classics and philosophy.
Contains back issues of a wide variety of humanities and social science journals available electronically. For language and literature study, journals include Nineteenth-Century Literature 1986-2001, Nineteenth-Century Fiction 1949-1986, Renaissance Quarterly 1967-2001, Renaissance News 1948-1966, Representations 1983-2001, etc.
Provides bibliographical information for articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations.
A bibliographic index of public and social policy literature of business, law, international relations, public administration, political science, and other social sciences.
Provides electronic access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many more.
Provides bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals, covering more than 50 disciplines.
A combined online catalog. Provides records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries.
ARTEF (English-French/French-English Dictionary)
(http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/ARTFL/forms_unrest/FR-ENG.html)
Athena Authors & Texts
(http://un2sg4.unige.ch/athena/html/authors.html)
ClicNet - Culture and Literature
(http://clicnet.swarthmore.edu/)
Comédie-Française
(http://www.comedie-francaise.fr/indexes/index.php)
Embassy of France in the U.S.
(http://www.ambafrance-us.org/)
Enlightened Discourse: 18th-Century French Writings (GlobalGate project)
(http://globegate.utm.edu/french/lit/century.18.html)
First Year French at UT-Austin (interactive tutorial)
(http://www.laits.utexas.edu/fr/)
French Resources on the Web
(http://www.adelaide.edu.au/library/guide/hum/french/)
Gallica
(http://gallica.bnf.fr/)
Provides images and texts from the middle-ages through the nineteenth-century.
Humbul Humanities Hub -- French
(http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/french/)
Le Théatre de la Foire à Paris (by Barry Russell)
(http://www.foires.net/)
National Library of France
(http://www.bnf.fr/)
Voice of the Shuttle: French (UC-Santa Barbara)
(http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=961
Available through the MSU libraries' Web site. To search these e-journals, you can either use the library's online catalog or click on the "E-Journal" hot link on the library's front page.
Bibliographie Nationale Française. Livres
Comparative Literature
Contemporary French and Francophone Studies
French Colonial History
French Forum
French Historical Studies
French Politics and Society
La Lettre du Continent (French Language)
Language Teaching
Modern & Contemporary France
Nineteenth-Century French Studies
Studies in French Cinema
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Yale French Studies
1. MSU Libraries' Online Catalog. Searching by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., you will find the call number, location, and check-out status of any book owned by the Golden Triangle Regional Library Consortium.
2. Using bibliographies to find books.
3. Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If MSU libraries do not own a particular book, you may want to borrow it from another library. To do so, simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).
A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics. 4th ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003.
Call Number: Ref P29 .C65
Contains various aspects of linguistic theory and research, including the developing terminology of principles in syntax, contemporary semantics; and speech recognition and synthesis.
A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. London: Arnold; New York: Distributed by St. Martin's Press, 1997.
Ref Call Number: P29 .T69
Covers language and linguistics with concise definitions.
Acquiring French Vocabulary
(http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/vocab.shtml)
Dictionnaire des Synonymes
(http://elsap1.unicaen.fr/dicosyn.html)
French Grammar Central
(http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/gramm.shtml)
French Linguistics
(http://www.french-linguistics.co.uk/dictionary/)
French Listening and Speaking Central
(http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/oral.shtml)
Grand Dictionnaire Francais-Anglais, Anglais-Francais. Paris: Larousse, 1998.
Call Number: Ref PC2640 .G68
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Call Number: Ref P29 .I58
Includes articles on specific languages or language families. Describes many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts.
Langue du XIXe Siécle
(http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/epc/langueXIX/)
Oxford French Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: Ref PC2540.O84
Contains French-English and English-French translations. Provides guide to French grammar, covering parts of speech, verb conjugation, translation problems, and so forth.
Tex's French Grammar (University of Texas - Austin)
(http://www.laits.utexas.edu/tex/)
Thresor de la Langue Francoyse (1606)
(http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/projects/dicos/TLF-NICOT/)
Verb Conjugation (part of ARTFL project)
(http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/ARTFL/forms_unrest/inflect.query.html)
Call Number: PQ119 .K39
Covers literature produced in the middle ages (the earliest to 1470), the early modern period (1470-1789), and the modern period (1789-2000).
Dictionary of Modern French Literature: From the Age of Reason through Realism. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
Call Number: Ref PQ41.D65
Dictionnaire des Ouvres de Tous les Temps et de Tous les Pays: Littérature, Philosophie, Musique, Sciences. 4 volumes. Paris: Paris, S. E. D. E. 1952-54.
Call Number: Ref AE25.D52
Echos de la Réforme dans la Litteérature de Langue Francaise de 1520 a` 1620. Lewiston [N.Y.]: Edwin Mellen Press, 2001.
Call Number: PQ239 .C74
Explores the impact of Protestantism on French literature during the Age of Reformation.
Fabula
(http://www.fabula.org/)
The site has articles on literary theory and criticism.
Guide to French Literature: Beginnings to 1789. Chicago: St. James Press, 1994.
Guide to French Literature: 1789 to the Present. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992.
Call Number: Ref PQ41 .L48
Contains a wealthy of entries for individuals and literary movements. Includes comprehensive bibliographies of works.
Literary and Linguistic Theories in Eighteenth-Century France: From Nuances to Impertinence. Oxford: Clarendon, 2000.
Call Number: PN45. N94
Introduces French literature philosophy and aesthetic theories in the eighteenth century.
Littérature Française
(http://www-scd.univ-lyon3.fr/Signets/littfran.htm)
Literary Theory: An Introduction. University of Minnesota Press, 1996.
Call Number: PN94.E2
Provides explanation of the literary theories which have appeared in the last century. A bibliography is included.
Littérature de Langue Française en Ligne
(http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/deanhum/langlit/french/lit.html)
Poesie Francaise
(http://poesie.webnet.fr/)
Republique Internationale des Letters
(http://www.republique-des-lettres.com/republique-des-lettres.php)
Offers articles on literature and literary criticism.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French. Oxford [England]: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Call Number: Ref PQ41.N48
A handbook to literature produced in France and other French-speaking countries around the world. It highlights not only poets, novelists, and dramatists, but also historians, statesmen, and philosophers.
Women's Writing in Contemporary France: New Writers, New Literature in the 1990s. Manchester; New York: Manchester University Press, 2002.
Call Number: PQ149.W645
Offers analysis of new women's writing in contemporary France including both new writers of the 1990s and their more established counterparts.
(http://abu.cnam.fr/)
One can search this site by author, title, or for words within all of the texts.
Dictionnaire de Biographie Francaise. Paris, Letouzey et Ané, 1932-present.
Call Number: Ref CT143 .D5
Les Livres Disponibles. Paris: Cercle de la Librairie, 1977-2004.
Call Number: Ref Z2161 .L8
French books in print.
Actualites Video (VHS). New York: Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1989.
Call Number: PC2121 .A37
French language instructional tape which uses short scenes to present the language in natural settings.
Challenges of French Pronunciation (VHS). Scottsdale, AZ: Teacher's Video Co., 2003.
Call Number: IMC PC2137 .C43
French Vocabulary Builder (CD-ROM). Fremont, Calif.: The Learning Company, 1995.
Call Number: PC2112 .F746
Une Visite a Paris (CD-ROM) Huntsville, Tex.: Educational Filmstrips, 1989. Fairfield, Conn.: distributed by Queue, 1997.
Call Number: PC2112 .T4394
Vive le Francais! [kit] : The Complete French-Language Development Program. Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Co., 2000.
Call Number: PC2113 .V5
This guide created and maintained by Li Zhang. Created on February 6, 2006.

