Forestry Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to resources related to the study of forestry. Listed below are electronic and print sources related to this subject. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
The indexes and databases listed below can assist in finding journal articles and other research materials. For additional indexes and databases, see the Mississippi State University Libraries' Indexes and Databases website. If the MSU Libraries does not have access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s. |
|
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
This database provivdes abstracts to journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences, including forestry, back to 1969. | |
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
Business Source Complete provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 930 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s. | |
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
CAB Abstracts provides abstracts to research on agriculture, forestry, environment, and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics and rural sociology, aspects of human health, veterinary medicine, crop protection, and biotechnology. The EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990. | |
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
This database allows users to access bibliographic records and abstracts of thousands of masters theses and doctoral dissertations in all fields. Most theses and dissertations from 1997 to the present are available in full-text as (very large) pdf files. | |
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
Ei Compendex is "the most compreshensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports." Coverage from 1969 to the present. Older literature is indexed in the print indexes located in the Reference Department (Ref TA Z5851. E62) |
| Available electronically. |
|
| |
Provided by the USDA Forest Service, this database contains the full-text of decades of Forest Service publications | |
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
The Web of Science provides up-to-date coverage of leading journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. In addition to general searching, the Web of Science has a cited reference search, which allows you to find journals that have cited a given article or book. The online version provides coverage pack to 2000. Previous years are covered in CDs and print volumes, available in the Reference Department. | |
| Available electronically. |
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** |
| |
WorldCat provides access to the catalog records of libraries throughout the world. Books found on WorldCat that are not owned by the MSU Libraries can be obtained via InterLibrary Loan. | |
| Dictionary of Forestry Bethesda, MD: Society of American Foresters, 1998. (Ref SD 126 .D535 1998) |
| |
This dictionary provides both general and more specialized terms | |
| Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences Oxford: Elsevier, 2004. (Ref SD 126 .E53 2004) |
| |
This four volume set provides good background information on a wide range of forest science topics. | |
| Forestry Abstracts Wallingford, Oxon, etc.: C.A.B. International Information Services, etc., 1940- (Ref SD 1 .F66) |
| |
This publication contains abstracts to forestry-related journal articles dating back to 1939. | |
| Dictionary of Forestry Bethesda, MD: Society of American Foresters, 1998. (Ref SD 126 .D535 1998) |
| |
This dictionary provides both general and more specialized terms | |
| Hough, Romeyn B. Encyclopedia of American Woods New York: R. Speller, 1957-1979. (Ref SD 536 .H382) |
| |
This reference set comes in two parts. The first provides a description of the various type of trees found in the United States, and the second part provides actual wood samples. | |
| |
This site provides useful information from the Canadian Forest Service. Many publications in the site's Online Bookstore are available as free PDF downloads. | |
| |
This is the website of the Forestry Department of the United Nation's Food and Agriculture Organization.Provides country profiles and forestry-related news from around the world. | |
| |
Forestry AgNIC, which is hosted by the Forestry Library of the University of Minnesota, provides links to hundreds of forestry resources available on the Internet. Categories include Reference Resources, Full Text Resources, Associations/Organizations, Government Agencies, Conferences, and Subject Divisions. | |
| |
Federal government resources have been organized into various categories based on the feedback received for the site.
|
| |
"The Society of American Foresters (SAF) is the national scientific and educational organization representing the forestry profession in the United States." | |
| |
This site contains a wealth of information on forestry-related topics, inlcuding thousands of freely available online technical reports. | |
This page created and maintained by Brad Brazzeal, Assistant Professor/Instructional Services Librarian. |
|

