Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Foreign Languages

Foreign Languages Research Guide


This guide provides an introduction to some of the print and electronic resources for research in the foreign languages taught at MSU: Spanish, French, German, Latin and Japanese. See also the German Language and Literature Research Guide. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


Online Databases E-Journals Internet Resources Reference Books


Online Databases

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Available electronically.
Published by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, this resource is an interdisciplinary collection of scholarly works on Latin America, with coverage going back to 1936. It provides links to the numerous volumes of the print Handbook of Latin American Studies, as well as to relevant journals and e-resources.

Humanities International Complete
Available electronically.
Humanities International Complete provides the full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content.

JSTOR
Available electronically.
JSTOR specializes in making back issues of a wide variety of humanities and social sciences journals available online. Among its subject categories are Language & Literature, Asian Studies, and Latin American Studies.

LexisNexis Academic
Available electronically.
This database contains a section for finding news sources, including Spanish, German and French news publications.

MLA International Bibliography
Available electronically.
Published by the Modern Language Association, this database provides access to books, journal articles, and dissertations dating back to 1963. Subject coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, rhetoric, and composition.

Project Muse
Available electronically.
Project MUSE provides electronic access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Its subject categories include Asian Studies, Classics, French Studies, Language, Latin American Studies, Literature, Mediterranean Studies, and many others.

E-Journals


Bulletin of Hispanic Studies

Bulletin of Spanish Studies

The Classical Quarterly

Comparative Literature

French Forum

German Life & Letters

The German Quarterly

Hispanic Research Journal

Hispanic Review

Japan Forum

Journal of Second Language Writing

Modern Asian Studies

Nineteenth-Century French Studies

Studies in Second Language Acquisition

World Literature Today

Internet Sources

General

Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Languages
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/language.html

Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.

Center for Applied Linguistics
www.cal.org/

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
www.ethnologue.com/

Foreign Government Resources on the Web
www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreignnew.html /

Foreign Service Institute
www.state.gov/m/fsi/

International Broadcasting Bureau
www.bbg.gov/bbg_aboutus.cfm

The Linguist List
www.linguistlist.org/

LOGOS Dictionary
www.logos.it/dictionary/owa/sp?lg=EN

Lexicool.com: Translation Dictionaries
www.lexicool.com/

White House Office of Global Communications
www.whitehouse.gov/ogc/aboutogc.html/

World News Connection
http://wnc.fedworld.gov/

Spanish

Biblioteca Virtual de Literatura
http://www.prossiga.br/pacc/bvl/

Corpus del Español
www.corpusdelespanol.org/

El Castellano: La Pàgina del Idioma Español
www.elcastellano.org/

Federal Websites in Spanish / Los Sitios Web Federales en Espanol
www.odl.state.ok.us/usinfo/topiclists/us-spanish.htm

GobiernoUSA
http://www.usa.gov/gobiernousa/index.shtml

Hispanic Reading Room, Library Congress
www.loc.gov/rr/hispanic/

Linguaweb
www.linguaweb.co.uk/

Orthografÿa
http://roble.cnice.mecd.es/~msanto1/ortografia/

Poesia
www.poesia-inter.net/

French

ABU: La Bibliothèque universelle
http://abu.cnam.fr/

Archivox
www.archivox.com/

Association for French Language Studies
www.afls.net

Bibliothèque Nationale de France
www.bnf.fr/

Délégation générale à la langue française
www.dglf.culture.gouv.fr/

French Authors
http://dmoz.org/Arts/Literature/World_Literature/French/desc.html

French Literature Online
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/fr-on.html

French Resources on the Internet
http://www.adelaide.edu.au/library/guide/hum/french/

Île en Île
www.lehman.cuny.edu/ile.en.ile/

Parlez-Vous?
www.parlez-vous.org/

German


Die Deutsche Bibliothek
www.ddb.de

German Studies Web
www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/wesslit.html

German Studies Exercises on the Web
http://www.uncg.edu/~lixlpurc/publications/NetzUeb.html

Germanistik.net: Internet Resources for Germanists
www.germanistik.net/#top

Gesellschaft für Deutsche Sprache
www.gfds.de/

Goethe Institut
www.goethe.de/

Institut für Deutsche Sprache: Universität Mannheim
www.ids-mannheim.de/

World-Wide Web Virtual Library: German Subject Catalogue: German Languages
www.uni-karlsruhe.de/Outerspace/VirtualLibrary/

Japanese

Asian Reading Room, Library of Congress
www.loc.gov/rr/asian/

Association for Japanese Literary Studies
www.sla.purdue.edu/fll/AJLS

Hypermedia Corpus of Spoken Japanese
www.env.kitakyu-u.ac.jp/corpus/docs/index.html

Japanese Language & Culture Network
http://web.mit.edu/jpnet/

Japan-United States Friendship Commission
www.jusfc.gov/index.asp

Linguistics & Language-Related Websites in Japan
www.sal.tohoku.ac.jp/~gothit/kanren-en.html

The National Institute for Japanese Language
www.kokken.go.jp/english/en/index.html

Chinese



Chinese Language Information Page
http://www.chinasona.com/bamboo/chinese.html

Chinese Classical Literature
http://zhongwen.com/gudian.htm

ChineseOn.net
http://www.chineseon.net/main.php

Online Chinese Tools
http://www.mandarintools.com/

Chinese-English Dictionary
http://www.mandarintools.com/worddict.html

Chinese Characters Dictionary Web
http://zhongwen.com/zi.htm

Chinese Literature
http://www.chineseliterature.com.cn/

Chinese Text Initiative University of Virginia Library
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/chinese/index.html

Classics



Encyclopedia Mythica
www.pantheon.org/mythica.html

The Internet Classics Archive
http://classics.mit.edu

Labyrinth Library: Latin Texts
www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/library/latin/latin-lib.html

Latin and Greek Authors on the Web
http://users.pandora.be/herman.lauvrys/authors.htm

Online Medieval and Classical Library
http://omacl.org/

The Perseus Digital Library
www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Resources for Greek and Latin Classics
http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/alcove9/classics.html

VRoma: A Virtual Community for Teaching and Learning Classics
www.vroma.org/

Reference Books


A Companion to German Literature: from 1500 to the Present. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1997.
Ref PT236.S55 1997
This reference source examines the history of German literature from the Reformation and Renaissance periods to the late 20th century. Its nine chapters discuss the various themes and special characteristics of literature from the German-speaking areas of Europe. The book also includes biographical profiles of the featured authors.

A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Ref PA2365.E5 M67 1998
In addition to translations of Latin words and phrases, this dictionary provides pronunciation guides, a list of major Latin writers, and several subject indexes.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture. New York: Routledge, 2002.
Ref DS822.5.E516 2002
The 700+ articles in this encyclopedia cover both general and specific topics associated with post-World War II Japan. The entries include geographical, biographical, and cultural subjects.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture. New York: Routledge, 1999.
Ref DP233.5 .E63 1999
The articles in this encyclopedia cover both specific and general topics related to the decades following the end of the Spanish Civil War in 1939, including Catalan, Galician, and Basque languages and cultures; musicians; politicians; and writers. The entries include subject listings and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of German Literature. 2 volumes. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000.
Ref PT91.E53 2000
This encyclopedia explores the literature from the various regions of Germany, each with its own unique characteristics. The entries include authors, works, and topics.

French Culture & Society: The Essentials. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref DC33.7.F7265 2001
This encyclopedic dictionary contains entries related to social life and customs in 20th century France.

Latin for the Illiterati: Exorcising the Ghosts of a Dead Language. New York: Routledge, 1996.
Ref PA2365.E5.S76 1996
This handbook includes over 6,000 entries, which include translations of common Latin words, expressions, phrases, and adages.

The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref PQ41.N48 1995
This reference source includes over 3,000 entries, which provide an overview of literature published in France, and in French-speaking countries worldwide, over the last ten centuries. The articles cover poets, novelists, dramatists, historians, philosophers, literary movements and genres, linguistics, the arts, and much more.

NTCs New Japanese-English Character Dictionary. Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Company, 1993.
Ref PL679.N72 1993X
This dictionary provides rules and patterns that apply when writing Japanese characters, along with abbreviations, indexes, tables, and several other useful features.

Oxford French Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref PC2540.O84 2001
This dictionary contains both French-English and English-French translations, as well as a French grammar guide. The latter covers parts of speech, punctuation, translation problems, and verb conjugation.

Oxford German Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref PF3640.O943 2001.
This dictionary follows the same format as its French counterpart.

Oxford Spanish Dictionary and Grammar. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref PC4640 .L45 2001
This dictionary follows the same format as its French and German counterparts.

The Writers Reference Guide to Spanish. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 1999.
Ref PC4410.F68 1999
This reference book covers Spanish language basics, such as capitalization, word division, spelling, and punctuation, as well as special conventions for items like abbreviations, titles and expressions.


This guide updated by Newkirk Barnes on May 12, 2006.