Film Studies: Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in Film Studies. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
- The Macmillan Film Bibliography. New York: Macmillan, 1982.
Ref PNZ5784.M9R423.
- A bibliography of film history, including reviews and indexes.
- Literature and Film: an Annotated Bibliography, 1909-1977. New York: Garland, 1981
REF PNZ5784.M9W37
- An annotated bibliography of film adaptations from literature.
- Film Review Index. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1986-1987.
Ref PNZ5784.M9F513
- This two-volume work indexes film reviews starting from 1882.
- International Guide to Literature on Film. London: Bowker-Saur, 1994.
Ref PN1997.85.I67
- An index to international films adapted from literature.
- The Academy Awards Index: the Complete Categorical and Chronological Record. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Ref PN1993.92.S53 1993.
- An index to the Academy Awards of all categories in chronological order.
- The Film Encyclopedia. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1994.
Ref PN1993.45.K34 1994
- A comprehensive collection of information on all aspects of film.
- Film it with Music: an Encyclopedic Guide to the American Movie Musical. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2001.
REF PN1993.5.U6F5
- A comprehensive reference guide to American movies.
- Film Noir: an Encyclopedic Reference to the American Style. Woodstock, N.Y.: Overlook Press, 1979.
REF PN1993.5.U6F5
- A comprehensive reference guide to American movies.
- Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
Ref PN1993.45 .C75 2001
- A critical dictionary of theories of film and television, including definition of film and television terms and usages.
- The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.
Ref PN1993.5.U6S539 1998
- Dictionary of historical aspects of American film industry.
- World Film Directors. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1987-1988.
Ref E169.1.E626 2001
- This two-volume dictionary covers world film directors from 1890-1985.
- Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1984-.
Ref PN2205 .C6
- Provides biographies of contemporary practitioners in the theatre, film and television. It was previously titled Who's Who in the Theatre.
- The Film Studies Dictionary. London: Arnold; New York: Co-published in the United States of America by Oxford University Press, 2001.
Ref PN1993.45 .B53 2001
- A dictionary of film studies and researches in all aspects of film theory, practice and production.
- Science Fiction, Horror & Fantasy Film and Television Credits. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1983.
REF PN1995.9.S26L46.
- This two-volume work covers over over 10,000 actors, actresses, directors who worked in films and television programs about science fiction, horror and fantasy.
- The New York Times Film Reviews. New York: New York Times.
Ref PN1995.N4
- Reviews of current films published in New York Times.
- The New York Times Guide to the Best 1000 Movies. New York: Times Books, 1999.
Ref PN1995.C343
- Reviews of the best 1000 movies published in New York Times.
- Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
- ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.*
- Covers articles and journals on films.
-
-
- MasterFILE Premier
Available electronically.
- ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Provides full text, index, and abstract for journals and articles on film.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- Film Comment
- Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews.
- Film Culture
- Ceased. Reprinted articles, film reviews and lists of books received on all aspects of the American independent motion picture.
- Film History
- Areas of interest range from the technical and entrepreneurial innovations of early and pre-cinema experiments, covering all aspects of the production, distribution, exhibition and reception of commercial and non-commercial motion pictures.
- Film Journal International
- Covering international movies, beginning from 2002 through present.
- Film Quarterly
- Articles on motion pictures and film industry, including book reviews.
- Films in Review
- Ceased as of January 1997. Feature articles on every aspect of films, old and new, profiles of actors from past to present, photographs and motion picture reviews published by the National Board of Review of Motion Pictures Inc.
- The Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/search
- The most comprehensive internet database on movies.
- All Movie Guide
http://www.allmovie.com
- This site features a very nice database which covers international movie industry, with search and browse functions.
- Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com
- This site provides online movie reviews.
- Selected Film References and Sources
http://www.filmsite.org/references.html
- An excellent site featuring a fine selection of film references and sources both in print and online.
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
http://www.oscars.org/index.html
- Official Web Site for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
This page created by Min Tian.
Created 3/20/03.

