Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Guide

This guide is to introduce MSU students to the essential and useful resources in the field of electrical and computer engineering. Below you will find suggestions to locate books and journal articles. The guide also provides a list of print and online resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library at (662) 325-7667 or, ask-a-librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Finding Journal Articles   Indexes and Databases   E-Journals  
Web Resources   Finding Books    Reference Resources

Finding Journal Articles

To find individual journal articles, you will primarily use electronic indexes/databases to do your searching. With such indexes/databases, you can find either article abstracts or full-text articles by conducting an author, title, keyword(s), or subject searching. 
If there is no full-text article available online, you will need to check if the library has the actual journal (physical item) so that you can locate it and read the article. You can find the holding and location information of the journal by typing its title in the search box on the MSU online catalog. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through inter-library loan service (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic subjects, including humanities, social sciences,   computer sciences, engineering, medical sciences, and more. Contains a large  collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Provides abstracts and indexes for journals, trade publications, and other reference sources in multiple engineering disciplines and computer technologies. Full text is also available for many of the academic journals.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Conference Papers Index (full archive)
Provides indexing to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific  meetings. Materials cover engineering, physics, technology, life sciences, and  environmental sciences.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Dissertation Abstracts
Provides access to more than 2.3 million dissertations and master’s theses of a  complete range of academic subjects, including computer science and electrical  engineering.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Ei Compendex
Provides comprehensive indexing for interdisciplinary engineering. Research  materials referenced in this database include journal, conference, and trade  publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

IEEE Xplore
Indexes Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers journals and conference  proceedings. Provides full-text access to  literature in electrical engineering,  computer science, and electronics. Content is updated weekly.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Inspec
Provides abstracts and full text for scientific and technical journal articles and  conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, electronics,  mathematical physics, and more.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

Web of Science
Indexes more than five thousand science and engineering journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. This multidisciplinary database also provides cited reference search by author, work, and year.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **

The e-journals are available through the MSU libraries’ Web site. To search these journals, you can either use the library’s online catalog or click on the “E-Journal” hyper link on the library’s front page. The library’s electronic journals allow you to find full-text articles online. 

Selected e-journals:

Computers & Electrical Engineering (1995 - present)
Computer Vision and Image Understanding (1995 - present)
Electric Machines and Power Systems (1999 – 2000)
Electric Perspectives (1990 – present)
Electric Power Components and Systems (2001 – one year ago)
Electricity Journal (1995 - present)
Electronic Engineering (1995 – 2001)
Electronics Weekly (1996 - present)
IEEE Electron Device Letters (1980 -present)
IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications
IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics
IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (1988 - present)
IEEE Network (1988 – present)
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education (1999 – present)
Journal of Cryptology (1997 - present)
Journal of Electronic Materials (1997 – present)
Pattern Recognition (1995 - present)
Proceedings of the IEEE (1963 – present)


The ACM Digital Library
(http://portal.acm.org/dl.cfm)

The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
(http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/index.html)

Computer Science Preprint Archive
(http://www.sciencedirect.com/preprintarchive)

The EE Compendium
(http://ee.cleversoul.com/)

EEVL – The Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
(http://www.eevl.ac.uk/engineering/eng-browse-page.htm)

Electronic Engineers Master
(http://www.eem.com/)

Electronics and Electrical Engineering Laboratory
(http://www.eeel.nist.gov/)

eiNET Directories – Electrical Engineering
(http://www.einet.net/directory/29575/Electrical_Engineering.htm)

Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology
(http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/)

The Semiconductor Subway
(http://www-mtl.mit.edu/semisubway/semisubway.html)

SCIRUS
(http://www.scirus.com/srsapp/advanced/index.jsp?q1=)


To locate books of a particular topic, you can try the searching below:

1. MSU Libraries’ Online Catalog. Searching by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., you will find the call number, location, and check-out status of any book owned by the Golden Triangle Regional Library Consortium.

2. Using bibliographies to find books.

3. Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If MSU libraries do not own a particular book, you may want to borrow it from another library. To do so, simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form (https://saturn.users.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Reference Resources

Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press: IEEE Press, 1999.
Call Number: TK9 .C575 1999 
Covers all the fields of electrical engineering. Areas examined include: applied  electrical engineering, microwave   engineering, control engineering, power  engineering, digital systems engineering, and device electronics

Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2001.
Call Number: QA76.15 .D5258 2001
Defines 7,500 terms, encompassing subjects from artificial intelligence to  programming languages, from data structures and programming to robotics, and  from software engineering to operating systems.

The  Electric Power Engineering Handbook. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2001. 
Call Number: TK1001 .E398 2001
Provide an overview of the generation, transformation, transmission, distribution,  and utilization of electric power and energy, as well as the modeling, analysis,  planning, design, monitoring, and control of electric power systems.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science. Chichester, Eng.: Wiley, 2003.
Call Number: QA76.15 .E48 2003EB (electronic version available)
Provides comprehensive explanations of the latest technology and its practical  applications. Each article elaborates on a topic giving a remarkable breadth and  depth of coverage, ranging from artificial life to computer ethics, data mining to  Java, mobile computing to quantum computing and software safety to the World  Wide Web.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. 5th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002.
Call Number: Q121 .M3 2002
Emphasizes industrial engineering, information technology and computing,  chemistry and chemical engineering, physics and astronomy, the biomedical  sciences, and the environmental, earth, and climate sciences.

Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers. London: McGraw-Hill, 2000.
Call Number: TK151 .S83 2000
Includes the generation, transmission, distribution, control, conservation, and  application of electrical power. The book provides data on units and definitions  standards communications properties of materials used in manufacturing  electrical equipment and components computer applications.

The Wiley Project Engineer's Desk Reference. New York, Wiley, 1994.
Call Number: TA151 .H425 1994
Covers major areas regarding the technology of engineering and its operational  methodology, accentuating questions of schedule and schedule maintenance.

 This guide was created by Li Zhang on November 12, 2007.