Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Educational Philosophy: Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to resources related to educational philosophy.  Educational philosophy is a highly interdisciplinary area of study, drawing on the fields of education, philosophy, history, ethics, and even religion.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Related Guides:  Comparative Education, Educational Administration, Tests & Measurements, Other Library Instructional Resources


<>Indexes/Databases <>Encyclopedias and Dictionaries <>Web Resources
<>Associations


<>Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
<>Provides indexing and abstracts to almost 8,000 journals, with over 4,400 offering full-text access.  Academic Search Premier is a general database, covering a wide range of subjects. Subject indexes may also assist in researching topics related to educational philosophy.
<>America: History & Life<>
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>Indexes and abstracts the historical literature related to the United States and Canada.  
 
<>ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>ATLA is a collection of religion and theology journals, with coverage dating back to 1949.  Selected titles are available online.
<>Changes to the ERIC Database
<>The ERIC database is changing!  This website provide information on the planned redesign of ERIC and suggestions for alternative resources to supplement ERIC searches during this transitional period.
<>ERIC<>
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>ERIC is one of the major sources of information for educational research.  The ERIC database provides access to abstracts of journals articles and ERIC documents.  Selected articles are available full-text through the Library's SFX Electronic Journals Service.
<>Historical Abstracts<>
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>Indexes and abstracts the historical literature, including historical treatments of educational practice and philosophy.  Historical Abstracts covers all areas of the world EXCEPT the United States and Canada.
 
<>JSTOR<>
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>Provides online archive of back issues in the social sciences and humanities. 
 
<>Philosopher's Index
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>Provides indexing and abstracting for books and journals in the field of philosophy.
<>Project Muse
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
<>An electronic journals archive, Project Muse provides access to journals online in the humanities and social sciences, including history and education.
<>These resources, both in print and online, provide overviews of major philosophers, educational philosophies, and educational movements.  Note the print materials with "REF" in the call number are located on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library in the Reference Room. <>
Print Resources
<>Chambliss, J. J. Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia.  New York: Garland, 1996.  REF LB 17 .P485 1996
<>Provides encyclopedic coverage of topics related to the philosophy of education, including short bibliographic entries.
 
<>Palmer, Joy A. Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: From Confucius to Dewey.  London: Routledge, 2001.    REF LB 17 .F56 2001
<>Each entry is signed and provides an overview of the philosopher's contribution to educational theory.  Sections also include a bibliography of the philosopher's major writings and a short bibliography of secondary works.  Includes references to additional entries in Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education.
 
<>Palmer, Joy A. Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education.  London: Routledge, 2001. REF LB 17 .F57 2001
<>Each entry is signed and provides an overview of the philosopher's contribution to educational theory.  Sections also include a bibliography of the philosopher's major writings and a short bibliography of secondary works.  Includes references to additional entries in Fifty Major Thinkers on Education.
 
Online Resources
<>Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
<>http://www.philosophypages.com/dy/
<>Provides a guide and short descriptions of technical terms and personal names often encountered in the philosophy literature.
<>Encyclopedia of Information Education
<>http://www.infed.org/
<>Provides web pages on key thinkers, theories, and prominent themes in educational thought.  
<>Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
<>http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/
<>A unique resource, the IEP provides articles on topics in philosophy, written by volunteers from within the scholarly philosophy community.  All entries are signed.  Articles provide extensive coverage of the philosopher's work, themes, and impact.  Most articles include a "sources" section.
<>Philosophy of Education Yearbook
<>http://www.ed.uiuc.edu/EPS/PES-yearbook/
<>Each yearbook contains articles and essays related to the study of educational philosophy.  The website provides keyword searching across the yearbooks or users may pull up the hyper-linked table of contents.  The full text is available for the 1992 to 1999 yearbooks.
<>Classic Texts and Manuscripts in Education
<>http://carbon.cudenver.edu/%7Emryder/itc_data/etexts.html
<>Maintained by Martin Ryder at the University of Colorado at Denver.  Provides online access to core primary resources in the field of education.  
<>Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory, and Postmodern Thought
<>http://carbon.cudenver.edu/%7Emryder/itc_data/postmodern.html
<>Also developed and maintained by Martin Ryder, this website provides profiles, suggested readings, and online essays about major educational philosophers. 
<>Five Educational Philosophies
<>http://edweb.sdsu.edu/LShaw/f95syll/philos/phintro.html
<>Developed by Larry Shaw, this web resource provides an overview of five critical educational philosophies:  Essentialism, Progressivism, Perennialism, Existentialism, and Behaviorism. 
<>Materials on the Philosophy of Education
<>http://commhum.mccneb.edu/PHILOS/phileduc.htm
<>Provides full-text access to books and essays in the field of educational philosophy.
<>Philosophy in Cyberspace
<>http://www-personal.monash.edu.au/~dey/phil/
<>An excellent "meta-site" on all areas of philosophy.  Includes annotated entries for each website.  
<>Philosophy of Liberal Education
<>http://www.ditext.com/libed/libed.html
<>Compiled by Andrew Chrucky, this website provides an extensive bibliography related to liberal education philosophy.  Selected items also include links to the full-text document.  
<>Philosophy, Theory, and Education
<>http://w3.ed.uiuc.edu/EPS/category.asp?-token=phil_n_phil_of_ed&site=Res
<>Maintained by the University of Illinois Educational Policy Studies Department, this web page provides an extensive listing of web resources related to educational theory.  
<>Primary Source Philosophy Texts on the World Wide Web
<>http://www.fred.net/tzaka/leaves.html
<>While not dealing explicitly with educational philosophy, this collection of online primary philosophy texts can be useful.  Resources are categorized into general subject areas such as "American Philosophy" or "Modern Philosophy."  Serves as a meta-site, providing access to resources located on the Internet.   
<>
<>International Network of Philosophers of Education
http://www.ppsw.rug.nl/~inpe/
<>An international association of scholars in the area of educational philosophy.  The website provides association information and conference information.
<>Midwest Philosophy of Education Society
http://webs.csu.edu/%7Ebig0ama/mpes/mpes.html
<>Provides association information, links to other societies, lists of dissertations in the field, and publication information.
<>Ohio Valley Philosophy of Education Society
http://www.ovpes.org/
<>Includes useful links, association and conference information, and access to the most recent two years worth of the society's journal.
<>Philosophy of Education Society (PES)
http://cuip.uchicago.edu/pes/
<>Includes association information, society publications, useful links, and job openings.
<>Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain
http://www.philosophy-of-education.org/
<>Includes association and conference information, an online newsletter, selected content from the society's journal and a listing of useful websites.
<>Southeast Philosophy of Education Society
http://bama.ua.edu/~sepes/
<>Includes meeting and conference information, as well as a listing of job openings.

<>This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 7/5/04.