Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Education Administration and Leadership Research Guide

The purpose of this research guide is to identify relevant print and electronic resources and information access tools necessary to conduct an efficient literature review for scholarly material and to obtain a knowledge base in the areas of educational leadership and administration. 

Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


General Reference Resources Databases, Indexes, Abstracts
Evaluation and Assessment  Statistics
General Web Resources Professional Associations

General Reference Resources

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Alkin, Marvin C.  Encyclopedia of Educational Research. 6th ed.  New York: Macmillan, 1992.
Ref LB 15 .E48 1992
For each topical area treated in this resource, the article's author traces the historical stages in the development of the research agenda emphasizing aspects that will require further investigation.
 

Clark, Bruton R. and Guy R. Neave (eds.) Encyclopedia of Higher Education.  New York: Oxford, 1992.
Ref LB 15 .E49 1992
Consult in order to obtain a description of the higher education system and curriculum in countries around the world.  Successive volumes of this resource provide overviews of the historical development of different institutions of higher learning.  Discursive articles trace the evolution of academic disciplines associated with the curriculum of higher education.

Gorton, Richard A. and Gail T. Schneider (eds.) Encyclopedia of School Administration and Supervision.  Phoenix: Oryx, 1988.
REF LB 2805 .E53 1998
The purpose of this volume is to provide practical and useful tips to improve the effectiveness of school administrators with particular attention given to the relationship of school administrators to students, teachers, parents, superintendents, and school board members.

Guthrie, James W. (ed.)  Encyclopedia of Education.  2nd ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2003.
Ref LB 15 .E47 2003
The second edition in eight volumes addresses such issues as K-12 education, educational policy and legislation, education technology, teacher preparation, testing as well as biographical sketches of influential educators both historical and contemporary.  Volume 8 contains a selection of primary source material including assessment/achievement test information, directory of state departments of education, texts of court cases, legislation and a guide to internet resources.
Law
Education Law Association
http://www.educationlaw.org
ELA is a nonprofit nonadvocacy organization that promotes interest in and understanding of the legal framework of education and the rights of students, parents, and school boards and school employees.

Rapp, James A.  Education LawNew York: Matthew Bender, 1997-current.
Ref KF 4119 .R36 1997
This constantly updated filing service offers a summary of case and statute law in the United States pertaining to educational issues.  Organized by topic with an index to a particular statue or case by popular name or by legal citation.
Research Methodology
Denzin, Norman K.  Handbook of Qualitative Research.  Thousand Oaks, California: Sage, 2000.
H62 .H2455 2000
A collection of essays providing an overview of the theory and practice of qualitative research beginning with an overview of the ideological paradigms that implicitly or explicitly characterize the nature of qualitative research.  More useful for the practitioner are essays focusing on strategies for the collection and analysis of empirical material with a special emphasis on the problems involved in the interpretation, evaluation and representation of data.
Databases, Indexes, Abstracts
Academic Search Premier.
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
To identify publications across academic disciplines, limit your search to peer-reviewed with periodical as publication type to identity research articles.
Educational Administration AbstractsCollege Station, Texas: University Council for Educational Administration.  1974-current. 
Ref LB 2805 .E32
Summarizes the latest information, research findings and current trends in educational administration obtained from monographic sources, professional and scholarly journals.  Indexed entries are organized under the following areas of interest to stimulate browsing: personnel, counseling & guidance, certification, staff development, educational technology, students with special needs and school finance.
Education Index. New York, Wilson.  1929-current.
Ref L Z 5813 .E23 
A core list of publications influential and constantly cited in the field of education provides the basis for indexing articles in this reference tool.  The value of this tool consists in identifying articles in publications that consistently, over time, carry the most authority with respect to topics in education.  Useful for tracking research trends over a substantial indexing period.
ERIC
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
Access to publications and documents in the field of education.  For research publications, limit to journal articles and choose reports (all ) as publication type.
JSTOR
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
For full text access to non-current scholarly articles in the social sciences literature, browse the table of contents for selected journal titles in the following disciplines: African-American Studies, Education, History and Sociology.
Higher Education Abstracts.  Claremont, Claremont Graduate School.  1984-current.
Ref LB 2343 .H5
Periodical materials abstracted contain access to current research of interest to students, faculty and administrators to support their activity in teaching, research and educational administration.  Particular attention is given to articles focusing on defining institutional mission, articulating state and federal relations, and defining the impact of demographic trends on strategic planning.
Project Muse
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
For full text access to current scholarly articles primarily in the humanities disciplines, browse the table of contents for journals listed by education as subject.
PsycInfo
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
To identify material with a psychological focus on educational topics.  To identify research publications, limit by peer-reviewed as special feature.  Choose empirical study as form/content type and journals article as publication type.
Social Science Citation Index
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
For access to interdisciplinary research material, For The Web of Science (2000-current) choose general search to retrieve articles by keyword term to update your literature review.  For the CD-ROM (set up instructions)version (1993-1999), search by keyword in the title field. Use the cited article/reference feature in both the web and CD-ROM versions to move from the cited article to citing article(s).
Sociological Abstracts
Available Electronically
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 
To identify material with a sociological perspective on educational issues.  Conduct an advanced keyword search (kw=) or search by descriptors (de=) verified by consulting the online thesaurus.
Evaluation and Assessment
Buros Center for Testing
http://www.unl.edu/buros/
Access this web page to search for citations to test reviews by title for the print editions of Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print.

Mental Measurements Yearbook.  15th ed.  Lincoln: Buros Institute of Mental Measurement, 2003. 
BF176 .T45 2003 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk) 
Each successive edition provides users with descriptive information on commercially available tests published within the time frame of that particular edition  Each entry emphasizes the construction, validity and use of the test in various settings.  Additional information includes a critical review with a list of references.  Reviews of revised tests are provided to supplement the original review.

ERIC Clearing House on Assessment and Evaluation
http://ericae.net/
Gateway web site to access internet accessible publications on assessment, the ERIC database with full text ERIC digest, and a test locator retrieval system with test descriptions, test publishers' addresses and locations of test reviews.
National Council on Measurement in Education
http://www.ncme.org/
NCME is a professional organization for individuals concerned with assessment, evolution, testing and other aspects of educational measurement.  Members are involved in the construction and use of standardized tests; new forms of assessment, program design and program evaluation.

Sweetland, Richard C. and Daniel J. Keyser.  Test Critiques.  Kansas City: Westport, 1991
Ref BF 176 .T419
Published in successive volumes beginning in 1984, each edition selects and reviews the most frequently used psychological, business and educational tests.  Each entry has a practical application section explaining technical aspects relating to the validity and reliability of the test in addition to the list of references that critique the test.

Test in Print VI.  Lincoln, Buros Institute of Mental Measurement, 2002.
REF BF 176 .T45  (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk) 
Consists of a descriptive listing and references to commercially published test in print and available for purchase.  TIP serves as a companion volume to the Mental Measurements Yearbook since it cross indexes reviews found in that title.  Each new edition of TIP contains reviews of tests that were substantially revised since the previous edition.
Statistics
Condition of Education.  Washington, DC: US Department of Education.  National Center for Education.  1980-current.
REF L112 .N377 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk) 
Prepared by the National Center for Education Statistics, a federal agency responsible for collecting, analyzing and reporting data related to all levels of education in the US.  The data is organized to provide a portrait of American children throughout their educational experience from elementary school to higher education with particular attention given to the quality of curriculum and to performance outcomes.

Digest of Education Statistics.  Washington: US Department of Health, Education and Welfare.  1996-current.
Ref L111 .A6 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk) 
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from Kindergarten through graduate school including a variety of topics such as enrollment, educational attainment, federal funding, libraries and income of graduates.  Supplemental information focuses on population trends and attitudes to education.

Mississippi Report Card.  Jackson: Mississippi Department of Education. 
REF L166.M55 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk) 
http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/account/ors/  (1997 to current online)
Organized by school district, data represented includes demographics, teacher-student ratios, budgetary expenditures per student and testing results data by grade level with a key to understanding the performance assessment formula.

Projections of Educational Statistics to 2015.  Washington: US Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.  1975-current.
REF LA210 .A28 (Most recent edition is at the Reference Desk) 
http://nces.ed.gov/programs/projections/
Prepared by the National Center for Educational Statistics, this report provides indications on how shifts in population will effect the composition and enrollment in elementary, middle and secondary schools. Used by educational administrators for strategic planning purposes.

Mississippi Department of Education
http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/
A gateway web site for news, legislation, certification requirements and curriculum standards pertaining to education in Mississippi.

National Center for Educational Statistics
http://www.nces.ed.gov
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

Popular NCES Reports
http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/
Online access to publications including: Condition of Education, Digest of Education Statistics, Education Statistics Quarterly, Projections of Education Statistics, etc.

World Data on Education
http://www.ibe.unesco.org/countries/WDE/WorldDateE.htm
WDE focuses on basic descriptions of the main characteristics of the organization and functioning of national education systems provided to UNESCO by 158 countries.
General Web Resources
AskEric
http://www.eduref.org/
A personalized internet based service providing access to ERIC.  Special features include an e-mail reference service and a resource collection for teachers including lesson plans.

Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Education
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/educatn.html

Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Education Statistics
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/edustats.html
Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Edmon Low Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.

Center for the Study of Teaching and Policy (CTP)
http://depts.washington.edu/ctpmail/
The CTP studies efforts to improve the quality of teachers, teaching and learning.  The goal of the Center's research is to identify ways that policy makers can support teacher's work and careers in elementary and secondary schools.

Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE)
http://www.cpre.org/index_js.htm
The CPRE unites researchers from five research institutions in an effort to improve elementary education through practical research.

Gateway to Educational Materials
http://www.thegateway.org/index.html
GEM, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is a consortium effort to provide educators with access to educational resources found on various federal state, university, non-profit, and commercial internet sites.

GPO Access Resources by Topic: Education
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/topics/education.html
Federal government resources have been organized into various categories based on the feedback received for the site.

Measuring Up 2006: The State by State Report Card For Higher Education
http://measuringup.highereducation.org/
This web site provides researchers with the ability to compare indicator scores and grades by state for any performance category and to obtain source and technical information for indicators and weights and download reports.
Professional Associations
American Association of School Administrators
http://www.aasa.org/
The mission of AASA is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated tot he highest quality of public education for all children.  The major focus of AASA is standing up for public education.

American Educational Research Association
http://www.aera.net/
The AERA is concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education by disseminating practical research results.

Institute for Educational Leadership
http://www.iel.org/
The mission of the IEL is to improve education through influencing policies that have an impact on children and their families on the federal, state and local governmental levels.

National Association of Elementary School Principals
http://www.naesp.org/
The mission of the NAESP is to lead in the advocacy and support for elementary and middle level principals and other education leaders in their commitment to children.

National Association of Secondary School Principals
http://www.nassp.org/
An online clearinghouse of information (jobs, message boards, principal's store, student activities) for principals, assistant principals, and aspiring principals.
Originally created by David Nowak, created 12/05/03.
This page is maintained by the Reference Department.