Economics: Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the field of Economics. The discipline of economics is closely related to a number of business and social science subjects. Users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
These are a few of the broad subject headings you can use to locate books in the Online Catalog:
- Business
- Commerce
- Econometrics
- Retail Trade
- Statistics
The following subject subheadings can be added to your subject search after the names of states, regions, and subjects. For example, Mississippi economic conditions.
- econometric models
- economic aspects
- economic conditions
- economic development
- economic policy
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2001.
Ref H41 .I58 2001
- A 26 volume encyclopedia covering all aspects of the social sciences, including economics. Signed entries are written by prominent economists and include bibliographical references.
- The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics. London: Stockton Press, 1987.
- Ref HB61 .N49 1987
- The classic reference for economics, this four volume set provides extensive overviews of key economic concepts. Entries are signed by the contributor and include a bibliographical reference section.
- Pearce, David W. The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1992.
Ref HB61 .P4 1992
- A concise economics dictionary, providing brief definitions for core topics.
- Blaug, Mark. Who's Who in Economics. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 1999.
Ref HB76 .W47 1999
- A biographical dictionary of major economists, covering the period 1700 - 1996.
- A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2000.
Ref HB76 .B535 2000
- Provides bibliographical entries for prominent women economists from the early 1800's to the present.
- Frankin, Norman. Guide to Economic Indicators. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
Ref HC103 .F9 2000 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
- Provides concise explanations for over 70 economic indicators, covering both domestic and international variables.
- NAICS Desk Reference. Indianapolis, IN: JIST, 2000.
Ref HF 1041.5 .N35 2000 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
- Provides an overview of the NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) structure, industry descriptions, and NAICS codes within industry groupings.
-
- The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and Law. London: Macmillan Reference, 1998.
- Ref K487 .E3 N48 1998
- Less in-depth than the 1987 edition, this three volume set provides definitions for key economics concepts. Shorter, updated entries provide the user with a brief overview of a topic, without the depth of coverage provided in the 1987 edition.
-
- OECD Economic Surveys: Various Countries. Paris: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Call Number Varies--all issues are located in the Reference Room.
- The Economics Department of the OECD Secretariat produces annual reviews of member countries' economies, as well as for selected non-members. Cataloged separately, each issue includes an overview of economic developments, special reports on topics of interest, and extensive statistical information.
Selected Internet Sources |
- American Economic Association Directory of Members
- http://www.lbmchost.com/aea/search.asp
- Provides access to current members of the American Economic Association, including addresses and phone numbers. Biographical data and fields of interest can be searched in the more complete, but older, 1993 Survey of Members (also available on this web site). The full-text of the entries (state, country, AEA field codes, etc...) is searchable. Note that parts of the directory are restricted to members only.
- Economics Departments in the U. S.
- http://www.amosweb.com/econdept/
- An hyper-linked alphabetical listing of economics programs located in the United States.
- American FactFinder (AFF)
http://factfinder.census.gov
- The AFF serves as the online web portal for the U.S. Census Bureau. The AFF allows you to view, print, and download statistics about population, housing, industry, and business data. AFF allows the user to identify U.S. Census Bureau products, create reference and thematic maps, and search for specific data in the 1990 and 2000 Census, as well as the American Community Surveys and the 1997 Economic Census.
-
- EconLit
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
-
- Business Source Complete
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides indexing to over 3,000 business journals, with fulltext access to over 2,700 journals. The database also includes country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and Icon Group.
- JSTOR
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides Online archive of back issues in the social sciences and humanities. Provides full-text access to core economics journals such as the American Economic Review and the Journal of Economic Perspectives.
-
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides access to a wide range of news, legal, and business information. Includes access to full-text business resources such as the Hoover business guides.
- Mergent Online
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides financial profiles of publicly traded companies in the United States and Canada.
- REED (Research in Economic Education) Database
- http://www.cba.unl.edu/outreach/econEd/reed/
- Provides access to the REED Database, developed and hosted by the National Center for Research in Economic Education. This freely available database indexes and abstracts research journal articles in the area of economic education. Unique to REED, the indexing structure was designed specifically for the area of economic education, providing researchers with access to the economic education literature in ways not supported by either ERIC or EconLit.
-
|
Selected Internet Resources |
- AEAweb (American Economic Association)
- http://www.aea.org/
- One of the largest economics organizations, the American Economic Association website provides access to information concerning the AEA, upcoming conferences, and publications.
-
- Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Economic Policy
- http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/econpol.html/
-
-
- Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Economy (The)
- http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/economy.html
- Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.
-
- Federal Reserve
- http://www.federalreserve.gov/
- Home page of the Federal Reserve system, with links to data and publications as well as the separate Federal Reserve banks.
-
- Mississippi State University Department of Finance and Economics
- http://misweb.cbi.msstate.edu/~COBI/faculty/departments/mainpage.shtml?ECON
- Information on the Finance and Economics department and its members, course offerings, research, and links to other economic sites.
-
-
- Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE)
- http://www.aeaweb.org/RFE/
- One of the best places to begin your economics research, RFE is a metasite providing annotated links to a wide range of economics related resources.
-
-
- U.S. Government Information, by Topic: Business & Economy
- http://www.usa.gov/Business/Business_Gateway.shtml
- USA.gov is the official Web portal for the U.S. government. This site links to federal government resources by topic.
|
Selected Internet Resources |
- EconPapers
http://econpapers.repec.org/
- Provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of online working papers, journal articles, and software. Note that this service replaces older economics working paper archives, such as BibEc and WoPEc.
-
-
- Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research)
- * For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research. Working papers cover a variety of economic topics by leading economists.
-
- Federal Reserve Working Papers
http://www.federalreserve.gov/pubs/workingpapers.htm
- Provides free online access to the working papers of the Federal Reserve system.
|
Selected Internet Resources |
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov/
- Access statistical time series covering such topics as the consumer price indexes, employee cost index, and local area unemployment statistics.
- Consumer Price Indexes
http://www.bls.gov/cpi/
- Provides access to the latest CPI figures, as well as historical data.
-
- Country Data: Economic Statistics by Country
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/
- Online version of the CIA World Factbook. Data is updated periodically and includes international statistical and demographic information as well as online maps.
- Economic Report of the President
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/eop/
- Includes a pdf version of the most recent Economic Report of the President as well as full-text search engine which allows the user to search reports back to 1996 for terms. Includes statistical tables produced as an appendix to the report.
- Economic Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html
- Provides links to information on current economic indicators produced by a number of federal agencies.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
- Standard national data book for United States data. Contains key data on a number of economic and demographic topics.
- U.S. Economy at a Glance
http://www.bls.gov/eag/
- Provides a state-level overview of key economic variables. Also includes economic information for selected metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs). Includes access to employment and unemployment data.
This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 5/21/03.

