Comparative Education
Comparative Education Guide Related Guides: Tests and Measurements Reference Sources Indexes and Databases Internet Sites Organizations
Academic Search Premier Note: Many of the full-text resources available through these websites are in PDF format and are large files. Middle Eastern Studies Internet Resources
- Brookings Institute ( http://www.brook.edu/default.htm )
This guide provides an introduction to resources related to the study of comparative education. Listed below are print, online, and internet sources related to this subject. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
Encyclopedia of Education . New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2003. Ref LB 15 .E47 2003
This eight volume set covers all education-related topics. Information on individual countries may appear in articles for regions, such as Latin America, or in topical articles. The index may be consulted to find all articles that address aspects of the educational systems of a given country.
Europa World Year Book . London: Europa Publications Limited, 1989 to present. Ref JN 1 .E85
This publication provides statistics, including those for education, for nations throughout the world.
International Encyclopedia of Adult Education and Training . Tarrytown, NY: Pergamon, 1996. Ref LC 5215 .I586 1996
This single volume work has entries by topic and by country/region.
International Encyclopedia of Education . New York: Elsevier Science, 1994. (2nd Edition) Ref LB 15 .I569 1994
All aspects of international education are covered in this twelve volume set.
International Handbook of Education Research in the Asia-Pacific Region . Dordrecht: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2003. Ref LB 1028.25 .A8 I57 2003
These two volumes contain articles on a variety of topics, focusing on the Asia-Pacific region. A comprehensive index is included.
The indexes and databases listed below can assist in finding journal articles. For additional indexes and databases, see the Mississippi State University Libraries' Indexes and Databases website.
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
This general index provides access to articles on all subjects from journals, magazines, and newspapers. To limit your search, try entering a term such as "education" as a subject term.
Business Source Complete
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
This index provides access to articles on business and related areas. In addition to journals and magazines, this database also contains country reports, company profiles, and more.
Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
This database allows users to access bibliographic records and abstracts of over a million doctoral dissertations and theses in all fields. Most dissertations from 1997 to the present are available full-text as (very large) pdf files.
ERIC
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) database indexes articles and other material related to all aspects of education.
netLibrary
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
This collection of electronic books contains several titles related to comparative education.
WorldCat
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
WorldCat provides access to the catalog records of libraries throughout the world. Books found on WorldCat that are not owned by the MSU Libraries can be obtained via InterLibrary Loan.
Eldis - Gateway to Development Information
http://www.eldis.org
Eldis provides access to numerous reports dealing with the developing world. Towards the bottom of the homepage, on the right-hand side, you will find links to useful country profiles.
International Bureau of Education
http://www.ibe.unesco.org/
This division of UNESCO provides access to online articles, papers, and even books related to comparative education. On the left-hand side of the page, there are links to find information about countries in particular regions of the world.
Middle East Network Information Center (MENIC)
http://menic.utexas.edu/menic.html
MENIC is "a public service of The Center for MiddleEastern Studies at the University of Texas at Austin." Here you will find links to authoratative websites dealing with all aspects of Middle Eastern Studies.
Middle East Virtual Library (MENALIB)
http://ssgdoc.bibliothek.uni-halle.de/vlib/html/index.html
This portal provides numerous links to websites related to the Middle East. To access the links, click on the "Database of Online Resources" link on the left and then click on "Subject Catalog."
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/mideast/cuvlm/
This site, hosted by Columbia University Libraries, provides links to resources on a wide range of topics relating to the MiddleEast.
NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
http://www.nira.go.jp/ice/nwdtt/2005/index.html
This site lists think tanks in countries throughout the world. Listed below are some US Think Tanks that offer free online reports dealing with foreign policy and other international issues. All of these have a site search function.
- Carnegie Endowment for International Peace ( http://www.carnegieendowment.org/ )
- Foreign Policy Association ( http://www.fpa.org/ )
- Heritage Foundation ( http://www.heritage.org/ )
- Hoover Institution ( http://www.hoover.org/ )
- United States Institute for Peace ( http://www.usip.org/ )
Portals to the World
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Subject experts at the Library of Congress provide links to government and international agencies that provide information on various aspects of the the nations of the world. This is a good place to go when doing a country study.
UNESCO: Education
http://www.unesco.org/education/
This is the website of the education division of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). UNESCO is involved in all regions of the world and all levels of education.
World Bank: Countries and Regions
http://www.worldbank.org/countries
This site provides overviews of countries who are assisted by the World Bank and discusses the work of the World Bank in those countries.
World Bank Education
http://www1.worldbank.org/education/
This site provides a variety of information on education throughout the world.
http://www.cies.ws/
Since 1956, the Comparative and International Education Society (CIES) has been dedicated to promoting a "cross-cultural understanding, scholarship, academic achievement and societal development through the international study of educational ideas, systems, and practices." The organization publishes a quarterly journal, Comparative Education Review.
World Council of Comparative Education Societies
http://www.wcces.net
This international organization is composed of comparative education societies from around the world. The website provides links to the homepages of member societies.
This page created and maintained by Brad Brazzeal, Assistant Professor/Instructional Services Librarian.
Created 4/19/04.

