Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Communication Research Guide

Communication Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the print and electronic resources for research in Communication. It covers the five concentrations within the Communication Department at MSU: broadcasting, communication studies, journalism, public relations, and theatre. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.


Online Databases     E-Journals     Internet Resources    Reference Books


Online Databases

Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes nearly 3,000 scholarly journals and provides full text for over 1,200 journals. This database covers the social sciences, humanities, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.

CIOS/Com Abstracts
Available electronically.
Published by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, the Com Abstracts database contains abstracts of articles and books in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field, as well as related audio materials.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Available electronically.
CMCC
provides access to over 600 journals (some full text) in communication, mass media and related fields. The database also includes over 2,500 biographical profiles for the most notable authors in these fields.

JSTOR
Available electronically.
JSTOR specializes in making back issues of a wide variety of humanities and social sciences journals available electronically.

LexisNexis Academic
Available electronically.
This database contains a section for performing extensive news research, with categories for U.S., world, and non-English news, just to name a few. It provides full text access to major newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, policy papers, news transcripts, and more. 

Back to top

Link to Electronic Journals

American Speech

American Theatre

Broadcasting

Cinema Journal

Communication Monographs

Computer Communications

Computer Speech & Language

Digital Media

Discourse Analysis Online

The Drama Review

Electronic Media

E-Media Professional

Film & History

Intercultural Communication

International Journal of the Sociology of Language

Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication

Language & Communication

Music & Media

The New Review of Hypermedia & Multimedia

Technical Communication

Television Quarterly

Theatre Journal

Videography

Back to top 

Internet Resources

Broadcasting

American Film Institute
www.afi.com                                                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                                        
DigitalConsumer.org                  
http://digitalconsumer.org/

Encyclopedia of Television                                                 
www.museum.tv/archives/etv/index.html

Library of Congress: Motion Picture and Television Reading Room
http://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/

Media Code of Ethics (Radio-Television News Directors Association & Foundation)
http://www.rtnda.org/pages/research.php
National Archives and Records Administration: Motion Picture Films and Sound and Video Recordings
http://www.archives.gov/research/formats/film-sound-video.html
National Public Radio
www.npr.org/ 
Podcast.net: The Podcast Directory                                                                   
www.podcast.net/

Telecoms Virtual Library
http://www.analysys.com/

World Radio Network                                                                                              
www.wrn.org/
Communication Studies

American Rhetoric                                                    

www.americanrhetoric.com/speechbank.htm

Artifact Directory: Communications Media & Culture
http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/communications/

Communications Law: An Overview    
www.law.cornell.edu/wex/index.php/Communications

Debate Central
http://debate.uvm.edu/learn2.html

ExecutivePlanet.com
www.executiveplanet.com

Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
www.fcc.gov/

History Channel Speech Archives                                       
www.historychannel.com/speeches

International Association for Mass Communication Research                          
www.iamcr.net/

Media Studies                                                                                         
www.mediastudies.com                                                                                                                            

National Communication Association                                                              
www.natcom.org/

Nonverbal Communication Research Page
http://www.geocities.com/marvin_hecht/nonverbal.html

The Nonverbal Dictionary of Gestures, Signs & Body Language Cues
http://members.aol.com/nonverbal2/diction1.htm

Rhetorica
www.rhetorica.net/

University of Iowa Communication Studies Resources: Speeches and Speechmakers http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/speech.html
Journalism

American Press Institute
www.americanpressinstitute.org

Center for Media & Public Affairs                                                                    
www.cmpa.com/

Credibility in Journalism (American Society of Newspaper Editors)
www.asne.org/index.cfm?id=3

CyberJournalist.net
www.cyberjournalist.net

Evaluating Information Found on the Internet
http://www.library.jhu.edu/researchhelp/general/evaluating/

The First Amendment Handbook
www.rcfp.org/handbook/ 
Newspaper Archives on the Web
http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/archives.html#Alabama 
Poynter Online
www.poynter.org/
Reporters Without Borders
http://www.rsf.org/
Vanderbilt TV News Archive                                                             
http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/
Public Relations

The Authors Guild
www.authorsguild.org

Council of Public Relations Firms                                                                    
www.prfirms.org/

Institute for Public Relations                                                                    
www.instituteforpr.com

Museum of Public Relations                                                                        
www.prmuseum.com

PR & Marketing Network                                                                    
www.prandmarketing.com/

PR Watch                                                                                                
http://www.prwatch.org/

PR Week                                                                                                            
www.prweek.com/

Public Relations Society of America                                                                     
www.prsa.org/

Public Relations Student Society of America                                                     
www.prssa.org/
Writers Guild of America                                                                                       
www.wga.org/
Theatre

Costume Society of America
www.costumesocietyamerica.com/
International Federation for Theatre Research
http://www.firt-iftr.org/firt/home.jsp
International Theatre Institute (ITI)
http://iti-worldwide.org/
Internet Broadway Database
www.ibdb.com/
McCoy's Guide to Theatre and Performance Studies
www.stetson.edu/csata/thr_guid.html
Musicals 101.com
www.musicals101.com/
Professional Lighting and Sound Association
www.plasa.org/
Screenwriter's Utopia                        
www.screenwritersutopia.com/
Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers
www.ssdc.org/
The Web Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama
http://vl-theatre.com/
 

Back to top

Reference Books

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising.
3 volumes. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003.
HF5803 .A38 2003
This reference source features nearly 600 entries that give detailed historic surveys of the world's leading advertisers and advertising agencies, as well as brand and market histories. It also profiles influential figures in advertising, examines advertising in the major countries of the world, covers important issues affecting the field and discusses the key aspects of methodology, practice, strategy and theory.

The Associated Press Guide to Internet Research and Reporting. Cambridge, MA: Perseus Publishing, 2001.
Ref ZA4201 .B38 2001 
This reference book outlines the online research and reporting techniques used by Associated Press staff. It offers rules and guidelines for researching stories online, checking facts and citing online sources, using listservs and newsgroups, and interpreting computer-generated statistical material.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. 3 volumes. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002.
Ref P87.5 .E53 2001
This encyclopedia provides an introduction to the various facets of the broad area of communications and information. The 280 entries cover eight general topics: careers in the communication and information fields, information science, information technologies, literacy, institutional studies, interpersonal communication, library science, and media effects. The entries contain bibliographies and illustrations. The set includes a subject index at the end.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communication. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2000.
Ref P87.5 .D36 2000 
This reference source covers basic terms, concepts, people, schools of thought, and historical movements related to the areas of semiotics, media analysis, and communication science. Because these are interdisciplinary fields, the dictionary includes concepts from other disciplines such as anthropology, archeology, psychology, linguistics, philosophy, computer science, and biology.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance. 2 volumes. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Ref PN2035 .O94 2003
The 4,300 entries in this encyclopedia relate not only to theatre, but also to opera, film, dance, radio, and other types of performance. The encyclopedia's coverage is international and cross-cultural, and it includes all time periods. Entries include biographical pieces on actors, playwrights, directors, designers, company managers, and critics; cities and regions; concepts and theories; styles and movements; historical themes; organizations and institutions; buildings and material elements; and media issues.

Back to top 


This guide updated by Newkirk Barnes on May 12, 2006