Chemistry Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the field of chemistry. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, reference@library.msstate.edu for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
- ChemFinder.com
http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/
- Search this database of chemicals to find synonyms, chemical names, CAS Numbers, molecular formulas, or molecular weights.
- Available electronically.
- CIRS.net
http://www.cirs.net/indexenglish.htm
- Created by the International Center for Scientific Research this website contains a comprehensive list of chemistry-related organizations around the world with links to the websites of these organizations.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/chemistry/
- This internet encyclopedia from Wolfram Research contains many chapters including chemical reactions, organic, inorganic and quantum chemistry.
- Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names. 10 ed. Brookfield, VT : Gower, 1994.
Ref TP9 .G286 1994
- This dictionary of chemical synonyms and trade names includes availability and manufacturer notations for each chemical along with a directory of manufacturers and an appendix of manufacturer successors. There are also cross reference tables for CAS to trade name, CAS to chemical and EINECS to chemical.
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. New York : Marcel Dekker, 1997.
Ref QD5 .C5 1997
- The articles in this encyclopedia include cross references to related topics, tables and diagrams of important concepts. The last volume contains a cumulative index for the entire set.
- Lewis, Grace Ross. 1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products. 2nd ed. New York : Wiley, 1999.
Ref TP 200 .L49 1999
- This book provides commonly asked consumer chemical questions along with its list of common chemicals found in everday products. The chemicals are presented alphabetically with a product list, precautions, and synonyms.
- World of Chemistry. Detroit: Gale Group, 2000.
Ref QD33 .W873 2000
- "...the reader will find over 1,000 entries that provide basic information about chemical terms and concepts, applications of chemistry encountered in everyday life, descriptions of the chemistry behind industrial and commercial products, natural phenomena and biographical sketches of individuals who have made major contributions to the development of chemical ideas and inventions." -- Introduction
- ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors. Washington, DC : American Chemical Society.
Ref QD8.5 .A25 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
- The ACS Style Guide provides the guidelines for ACS style for reference lists and in-text citations, as well as preparing manuscripts for publication in ACS journals.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Cleveland, OH : CRC Press.
Ref QD65 .H3 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
- The CRC Handbook provides basic data on unit conversion, physical constants, compounds, properties, symbols & terminology, mathematical tables, practical laboratory data and much, much more.
- CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1985.
Ref QD257.7 .C73 1985
- This title includes "properties and references for pure organic compounds" as well as structural formulas, a melting point index, a boiling point index and a formula index. -- Table of Contents.
- Furr, A. Keith. CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2000.
Ref QD51 .C73 2000
- This title covers the necessary precautions to take in a variety of experimental lab environments. Emergency preparedness and lab design are also covered.
- Fiesers' Reagents for Organic Synthesis. New York : Wiley, 1967.
Ref QD262 .F5
- "The reagents are listed alphabetically and for each we give the structural formula, molecular weight, physical constants, preferred methods of preparation or purification, suppliers and examples of significant uses each documented with references and with flow sheets showing at a glance the molar ratio of the reactants, the reaction conditions and the yield." -- Preface
- Firestone, Richard B. Table of Isotopes. New York : Wiley, 1996.
Ref QD466 .L37 1996
- "The 8th edition of the Table of Isotopes contains nuclear structures and decay data for over 3,000 isotopes and isomers." -- Introduction
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. New York : McGraw-Hill.
Ref QD65 .L362 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
- This handbook includes information on 4300 organic compounds and is your first stop for basic chemistry information. In addition to basic chemical information, such as structural formula, formula weight, Beilstein reference and density, this book also includes sections on topics such as conversion, mathematics, surface tension, and properties of atoms, radicals, and bonds.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
- "This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program." - Notes. This site allows users to search for data by chemical formula, chemical name and CAS registry number.
- Polymer Handbook. New York : Wiley, 1989.
Ref QD388 .P65 1989
- This book provides 70 tables worth of constants and data relating to polymer science.
- Science Citation Index. Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information. (1970 - 1995)
Ref Q Z7401 .S365
- Science Citation Index is "an international multidisciplinary index to the literature of the sciences." 1992 - present, available as an online database. (setup instructions for SCI )
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **"
- Virtual Chemistry Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/GradChemistry.html
- This site provides basic links on fundamental topics in Chemistry, such as symbols and physical constants as well as more specific topics such as x-ray properties, amino acids, and spectroscopy.
- American Chemical Society Publications: Journals
- This link to the American Chemical Society's website provides access to full text and abstracts from 30 electronic journals published by ACS.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Analytical Abstracts. London : Royal Chemical Society. (1954 - present)
Ref QD71 .A49
- This title from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) indexes journal articles on topics important to analytical chemists.
- ChemWeb.com
http://www.chemweb.com
- Among other resources ChemWeb.com, created by Elsevier Science, provides a searchable database of abstracts from a variety of publishers. There is also a separate database of abstracts in the fields of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (CEABA), that contains English-language abstracts for international publications from 1980 to the present.
- Chemical Abstracts. Easton, PA : American Chemical Society. (1917 - present)
Ref QD1 .A51
- Chemical Abstracts is the premier abstracting and indexing service for the chemistry community. Access to these abstracts is also available through SciFinder Scholar (See entry for SciFinder Scholar below.)
- Chromatography Abstracts. Barking, Essex : Elsevier Applied Science Publishers. (1986 - present)
Ref QD1 .A51
- This index from the Royal Society of Chemistry provides indexing for journal articles on key aspects of chromatography and separation science. The areas covered include: general and miscellaneous techniques, gas chromatography, liquid chromatography, electrophoresis, and thin-layer chromatography.
- Dissertation Abstracts (Digital Dissertations)
- This database represents the works of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. It provides access to more than 1.6 million entrees. Full text access is available for dissertations from 1997 to the present. NOTE: these files are extremely large.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Electronic Journals List
- The Electronic Journals List provides the journals that are available online through the MSU Libraries. Journals are organized by title, and dates of availabilities are provided.
- Online Catalog
- The online catalog describes the books, journals, magazines, and other materials in the MSU Library's collection. Use it to find out if the Library holds the sources in the citations collected from the databases above.
SciFinder Scholar
Explore chemical substances by chemical name, chemical structure, formulas, or CAS Registry NumbersĀ®. Find literature relevant to a topic of interest, written by a specific author, or by CA abstract number or patent number. ATTENTION: Currently, MSU only has TWO (2) access ports to SciFinder Scholar.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
WorldCat
- Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Academic Info: Chemistry Resources
http://www.academicinfo.net/chem.html
- A well-organized list of links to Chemistry resources including links to databases (some require subscription) and other libraries' resources.
- Chemistry.org
https://portal.acs.org/portal/acs/corg/memberapp
- This site is the new homepage for the American Chemical Society. It includes information about the organization and its conferences, a site search option and current news items.
- Chemistry Indexes, Abstracts, Bibliographies and Table of Contents Services
http://info.lib.uh.edu/research/subjectList.html?id=8
- Created by the University of Houston, this is a short but well-annontated list of bibliographies of recent resources on a variety of topics including electrochemistry and chemistry education.
- Chemistry Resources on the Internet
http://www.library.ucsb.edu/istl/98-winter/interne1.html
- This site from University of California Santa Barbara contains a list of links to chemistry data sources, awards & prizes, and chemical and equipment suppliers.
- ChemSpy
http://www.chemspy.com
- ChemSpy offers access to databases, current news, tutorials and portals on chemistry topics. Some services are fee-based.
- Links for Chemists
http://www.liv.ac.uk/Chemistry/Links/links.html
- Part of the WWW Virtual Library, this site offers a comprehensive guide to chemistry resources on the internet, including links to funding organizations, chemistry listservs and employment guides.
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
http://www.organicworldwide.net/
- This site focuses specifically on resources for those studying synthetic organic chemistry.
- PSIGate - Chemistry
http://www.psigate.ac.uk/newsite/chemistry-gateway.html
- The Physical Science Information Gateway (PSIGate) provides links and search capabilities for chemistry sites across the internet as well as a tutorial on how to be a better "internet chemist" and get the most out of the world wide web.
- Organic Chemistry Portal - Osiris Property Explorer
http://www.organic-chemistry.org/prog/peo/index.html
- This tool allows chemistry researchers to draw chemical structures and predict the following properties of various substances: "toxicity risk assessment, cLogP, solubility, molecular weight, fragment-based drug-likeness, and overall drug-likeness." The site also contains an online tutorial that explains the prediction results.
- Organic Chemistry Portal - Name Reactions
http://www.organic-chemistry.org/namedreactions/
- This resource contains "information on the most important name reactions and keywords for the field of organic synthesis." Users can browse the alphabetical list of reactions to find relevant entries. Each entry contains a description of the reaction, links to recent literature, and cross-reference links to related reactions.
- Chemistry Conferences.com
http://www.chemistry-conferences.com
- This site allows users to search for chemistry conferences, exhibitions and trade fairs from around the world. Users can search for these events by keyword, date, continent, and subject category.
Academic Chemistry and Biochemistry Departments
http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subjects/chem/chemuniv.html
This site provides information about chemistry and biochemistry departments in the United States. Information such as faculty, degrees offered, curriculum, courses offered, and general contact information are listed.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov
- This website includes a database of full text (starting in 1976) or full-page image (starting in 1790) patent grants, as well as recent patent applications.
- American Society for Testing and Materials. Annual Book of ASTM Standards. (68 volumes) Philadelphia, PA : ASTM, 1994.
Ref TA401 .A653
- This series "...contains approved ASTM standards, proposals, emergency standards and related material." -Foreword. The material is organized by standard number with a subject index at the end of each volume.
- Index and Directory of Industry Standards. (8 volumes) Englewood, CO : Information Handling Services, 1998.
Ref TA368 .I5
- This directory of international standards is indexed by subject and numeric listing as well as being divided up into U.S. and Non-U.S. National Standards.
- Index and Directory of Industry Standards. (8 volumes) Englewood, CO : Information Handling Services, 1998.
Ref TA368 .I5
- This directory of international standards is indexed by subject and numeric listing as well as being divided up into U.S. and Non-U.S. National Standards.
- NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards
http://www.nssn.org/
- "NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards is becoming the World Wide Web's most comprehensive data network on developing and approving national, foreign, regional and international standards and regulatory documents." -- Who We Are. This website provides a search interface for searching standards on a particular topic as well as abstracts for standards and information on the organizations from which they originate.
- Technical Reports
GPO on SilverPlatter
- GPO on SilverPlatter corresponds to the Monthly Catalog and includes works such as monographs, serials, maps and some audiovisuals. To search for Technical Reports on a specific topic, use the Set Limits button to limit your search to Publication Type: Technical Reports. Once you have set this limit, type in your terms in the search box on the search screen.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- GrayLit Network
http://www.osti.gov/graylit/
- "Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) , in collaboration with DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects." --About this Site.
- Chemical Physics Preprint Database
http://www.chem.brown.edu/chem-ph.html
- This joint venture between Brown University and the Los Alamos National Laboratory allows users to submit preprint papers as well as read other preprint research.
- Chemistry Preprint Server
http://www.chemweb.com/preprint
- The Chemistry Preprint Server (powered by ChemWeb.com, a part of Elsevier Science) is another preprint server that allows both submission and searching of all preprint materials. You must create a free account in order to access the server.
This page originally created by Beth Ashmore, maintained by Li Zhang, last updated on 11/26/07.