Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Business Ethics Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to resources related to the areas of business and corporate ethics.  The study of business ethics is an interdisciplinary study, drawing on philosophical, religious, business, and legal areas of study.  Users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library,  (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Related Guides:  Economics, Other CSRC Resources


Books: Reference Books: Circulating Indexes and Databases
Web Resources Selected Journals Associations


Reference works may include encyclopedia or dictionary entries, as well as bibliographies related to the area of business ethics.  These materials may be found in the Reference Room, located on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library.

Blackwell Encyclopedia Dictionary of Business Ethics. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1997. 
Ref HF 5387 .B55 1997

Encyclopedia of Management. Detroit: Gale Group, 2000.  (See the entry on ethics in business, page 281.) 
Ref HD 30.15 .E49 2000

Marketing Ethics: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography of Articles. Chicago, IL: American Marketing Association, 1993. 
Ref H41 .I58 2001



These are just a few of the titles available in the Mississippi State University Libraries' monographic collection.  To locate additional titles, consult the Galaxy Online Catalog.
Caroselli, Marlene. Business Ethics Activity book: 50 Exercises for Promoting Integrity at Work.  New York: AMACOM, 2003.  HF 5387 .C347 2003
 
Davidson, D. Kirk. Moral Dimension of Marketing:  Essays on Business Ethics.  Chicago, IL: American Marketing Association, 2002.  HF 5414 .D38 2002
 
Fleming, Jerry. Profit at Any Cost? Why Business Ethics Make Sense.  Grand Rapids, MI: Baker, 2003. HF 5387 .F58 2003.

Harvard Business Review on Corporate Ethics.  Boston, MA: Harvard Business School Publications, 2003.      HF 5387 .H3748 2003

Machan, Tibor (ed.) Business Ethics in a Global Market.  Stanford, CA: Hoover Institution Press, 1999.             HF 5387 .B87238 1999

Messick, David M. and Ann E. Tenbrunsel (ed.) Code of Conduct: Behavioral Research into Business Ethics. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1996. HF 5387 .C6 1996

Shaw, William. Ethics at Work: Basic Readings in Business Ethics.  New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.  HF ON ORDER

Sternberg, Elaine. Just Business: Business in Action.  Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. (2nd ed.)             HF5387 .S717 2000

Trevino, Linda K. Managing Business Ethics: Straight Talk About How To Do It Right.  Hoboken, NJ: Wiley 2004. (3rd ed.).  HF 5387 .T734 2004  

Academic Search Premier
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.** 

Provides indexing and abstracts to almost 8,000 journals, with over 4,400 offering full-text access.  Academic Search Premier is a general database, covering a wide range of subjects. Subject indexes may also assist in researching topics related to business ethics.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
ATLA is a collection of religion and theology journals, with coverage dating back to 1949.  Selected titles are available online.
 
Business Source Complete
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Provides indexing to over 3,000 business journals, with full-text access to over 2,700 journals.  The database also includes country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and Icon Group.  Selected company reports from Datamonitor are also available.
JSTOR
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Provides online archive of back issues in the social sciences and humanities. 
Philosopher's Index
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Provides indexing and abstracting for books and journals in the field of philosophy
 


Applied Ethics Resources on the World Wide Web
http://www.ethicsweb.ca/resources/
A meta-site providing access to a wide variety of web resources.  Covers all areas of ethics, inluding: business, research, science/technology, and animal welfare.
 
Case Studies in Business Ethics
http://www.inc.com/guides/growth/20806.html
Sponsored by Inc. Magazine, this website provides access to related business cases with an emphasis on the ethical challenges facing companies.  
  
Online NewsHour: Corporate Ethics
http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/business/ethics/
Developed by the PBS news show NewsHour, this website documents both the special report on business ethics developed by Jim Lehrer and provides continuing news coverage of ethical issues in the business community.  Links to news segments take the user to the text of the news segment and, for most stories, provides access to either the streaming video or RealAudio version of the story.
 

The titles below are available online through Business Source Complete, JSTOR or other online providers.  Note that many other titles in the Mississippi State University Libraries' collection will also contain material related to business ethics.  For additional journal articles, see the Indexes and Databases section above. 

Council for Ethics in Economics
http://www.businessethics.org/
Membership organization promoting ethics in economic life.  Website includes links to other resources, online publications, and information about council activities.
International Association for Business and Society
http://www.iabs.net/
Academic society dedicated to the study of business and society, with an emphasis on the role of corporate responsibility.  The website provides information about the annual conference, links to association publications, and resources of interest to business instructors.
 
International Business Ethics Institute (IBEI)
http://www.business-ethics.org/
A private nonprofit educational organization, IBEI seeks to raise the public awareness of ethical issues and to work in collaboration with private enterprise in the promotion of ethical practices.  The website provides information about related publications, useful "ethical quotes", an online business ethics primer, and related web links.

 

This page created and maintained by Dr. Deborah Lee, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 4/14/04.