Book Reviews Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources to locate book reviews. Below you will find a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
Academic Search Premier
**For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
Academic Search contains book reviews from a variety of popular and scholarly publications. To search for a book review enter the author's last name and also keywords from the title.
Book Review Digest. Bronx, New York: H. W. Wilson. 1907--present Ref Z1219 .C96 (low shelves)
This yearly publication indexes the reviews of English-language books, both fiction and non-fiction, from nearly 100 popular periodicals. Book reviews are organized by the author's last name. A comprehensive index covering from 1905 to 1974 is also available.
Book Review Index. Detroit, Michigan: Gale Research Company. 1965--present
Ref Z1035.A1 B6 (low shelves)
Published yearly, this index contains reviews from both scholarly and popular periodicals. Entries are arranged by the author's last name. To save time a comprehensive index from 1969 to 1979 can also be used.
H-Net Reviews http://www.h-net.org/reviews/
H-Net is often the best place to look for a review on a recently released book. The reviews on this free site cover books related to the humanities.
JSTOR
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
JSTOR is an excellent source for scholarly publications in the humanities and social sciences from time periods not covered in these other sources. Use the author's last name and keywords from the title on the search screen. Also check the box indicating reviews.
National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index, 1905-1974. Princeton, New Jersey: National Library Service Company, 1975. 1905-1974
Ref Z1035.A1 N3 V.1
A cumulative index of a number of book review sources, this set can be helpful if the date of the book's publication is unknown.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. Gloucester, Mass. : P. Smith, 1963, c1882. 1802-1906
Ref AI3 .P7 1963 (low shelves)
Covering both U.S. and British periodicals from the 19th century, Poole's has book reviews in two locations. For fiction, reviews are listed under the author's name and for those with a subject, the book review can be found under the subject heading.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Minneapolis, Minnesota. : H. W. Wilson. 1890--present
Ref AI3 .R47 (low shelves)
Book reviews can be found under either the author or the title main entry. From 1976 to the present there is a separate "Book Review" section at the end of each volume.
America: History & Life
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
Book reviews from scholarly journals covering American life are cited in AHL. The majority of book reviews indexed in this source start after 1980. For additional help searching for book reviews in this database see: How and Where to Find History Book Reviews (PDF File).
An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. Williamston, Michigan: P. Thomson. 1960-1990
Ref Z1035.A1 I63
Entries in this index come from a variety of disciplines. Both popular and scholarly books published in English and other languages are included.
Art Index. New York: H. W. Wilson. 1929-1997
Ref N Z 5937 .A78
Since 1973 book reviews can be found in a separate section at the end of each volume. In preceding years, the reviews are listed by author of the book and review.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
Adding "review" to a advanced search mode will retrieve reviews dating back to 1977.
Brewster, John W. Index to Book Reviews in Historical Periodicals. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press. 1973-1974
Ref D Z6205 .B73
Over 100 scholarly journals, including foreign-language books, are indexed in this two volume set.
Eichelberger, Clayton L. A Guide to Critical Reviews of United States Fiction, 1870-1910. Metuchen, New Jersey.
Ref Z1225 .E35
This two volume set lists reviews of United States books published in British, Canadian, and United States periodicals.
Humanities Index. New York: H.W. Wilson.1974-1995.
Ref AI3 .H85
Each volume of this index has a Book Review section.
Literary Writings in America: A Bibliography. Millwood, New York: KTO Press, 1977.
Ref PS Z 1225 .L58
Book reviews in this source which covers from 1850 to 1940 are listed under the reviewer and the author of the book.
Ward, William Smith. Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797: A Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1979.
Ref Z2013 .W36 1979
Reviews are listed alphabetically under the name of the author of the work being reviewed.
________. Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820: A Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1972.
Ref Z2013 .W36 1972
Reviews are listed alphabetically under the name of the author of the work being reviewed.
________. Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1821-1826: A Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1972.
Ref Z2013 .W36 1977
Reviews are listed alphabetically under the name of the author of the work being reviewed.
Wile, Annadel N., ed. C. R. I. S.:Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Washington, DC: Carrollton Press, 1977.
Ref D Z6205 .C18
Entries in this multi-volume set are arranged by topic, keyword, and author indexes.
ABC Pol SCI: Advanced Bibliography of Contents: Political Science and Government. Santa Barbara, California: ABC-Clio. 1969-1999
Ref JZ7161 .A214
Book reviews can be found under the subject heading, book review.
Education Index. New York: H. W. Wilson. 1929-present
Ref L Z5813 .E23
For reviews from before 1959 use the subject heading book review. From 1959 to 1974 reviews can be found under the authors name. Starting in 1979 reviews can be found in the separate section at the back of each volume.
Social Sciences Index. New York: H. W. Wilson. 1974-1997
Ref H Z7161 .S652 (low shelves)
Reviews can be found in the separate "Book Review" section of each volume.
SocIndex with Full Text
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
Enter keywords from the book's title and add book review as the publication type.
Wile, Annadel. C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974. Washington, Carrollton Press, 1977-1978.
Ref J Z7162 .C75
Entries in this multi-volume set are arranged by topic, keyword, and author indexes.
________. C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Sociology, 1886-1974. Washington, Carrollton Press, 1978.
Ref HM Z7164.S68 C75
Entries in this multi-volume set are arranged by topic, keyword, and author indexes.