Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Aquaculture Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources for aquaculture.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Aquaculture, otherwise known as fish farming, fish culture, or mariculture, is the controlled rearing of fish, shellfish, and some aquatic plants to supplement the natural supply.


Locating Print Resources Encyclopedias & Handbooks  Indexes and Databases
Internet Resources Professional Organizations

 

Search the Online Catalog to find books and journals at Mississippi State University Libraries.  From the catalog main page choose keyword search.  On the resulting page choose subject keyword from the pull-down menu.  The following are examples of subject headings relevant to aquaculture.  For additional relevant subject headings, consult the Library of Congress Subject Heading volumes near the Mitchell Memorial Library Reference Desk.

  • Aquaculture
  • Pond aquaculture
  • Shellfish culture
  • Fish culture
  • Mariculture
  • Algae culture
  • Cage aquaculture
Selected Periodicals
North American Journal of Aquaculture 
Includes papers on new research and practical experience in all areas of intensive and extensive fish culture. Topics include nutrition and feeding, broodstock selection and spawning, drugs and chemicals, health and water quality, and testing new techniques and equipment for the management and rearing of aquatic species.
Aquaculture Economics and Management 
Provides aquaculture economics and management related papers, especially those of an applied nature. Coverage includes aquaculture inputs, aquaculture production, farm management, processing, distribution, marketing, consumer behaviour, pricing, government policy, modeling, international trade, transfer of technology, international cooperation, and environmental impacts.
Aquaculture  
An international journal devoted to research on the exploration, improvement and management of all aquatic food resources, both floristic and faunistic, from freshwater, brackish and marine environments, related directly or indirectly to human consumption.
Aquacultural Engineering  
Concerned with the design and development of effective aquacultural systems for marine and freshwater facilities.
Aquaculture Research  
Regularly publishes papers on applied or scientific research relevant to freshwater, brackish, and marine aquaculture. Covers all aquatic organisms, floristic and faunistic, related directly or indirectly to human consumption. International in scope.

 
FAO yearbook: Fishery Statistics CommoditiesRome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. 
Ref SH1.Y4 1987-2001.
Presents world annual production and international trade of fishery commodities. 

Handbook on small-scale freshwater fish farming.  Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. 
Ref SH159 .H454 1994
Covers pond, pen, and cage location, construction, and management.

Inland aquaculture handbook.  Austin, Texas : Texas Aquaculture Association, 1990.
Ref SH135 .I56 1990.  
Topics include catfish, crawfish, water and pond management, health management, business management.
Stickney, Robert R.  Encyclopedia of aquaculture.  New York: Wiley, 2000.  
Ref SH20.3 .E53 2000
Useful to those involved in aquaculture itself, or those concerned with resource use and the environment. Provides bibliographies. 
 
Journal articles provide the most up-to-date information on a topic.  Search the following databases to find citations to articles relevant to aquaculture.  In some cases only a citation or abstract will be available.  In other cases, it will be possible to access the full-text of an article online.
Academic Search Premier
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Multidisciplinary database containing peer reviewed and popular magazine articles.  Many articles are full-text.
 
AGRICOLA (available through EBSCO )
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
AGRICOLA, Agricultural Online Access database, contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.  NAL also provides free access to AGRICOLA.
  
Aquaculture Abstracts
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
Focuses on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields and provides comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackish water species.  Information on instruments, technological developments, culturing techniques, and new methods of husbandry are significant features. 
 
Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
The only abstracts devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.
Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
This database covers studies involving the application of molecular biology and molecular genetics to marine and aquatic organisms.  Also covers U.S. patents.
 
American Fisheries Society
http://www.fisheries.org/afs/
The oldest and largest professional society representing fisheries scientists.  AFS promotes scientific research and enlightened management of resources for optimum use and enjoyment by the public.  It also encourages a comprehensive education for fisheries scientists and continuing on-the-job training.  The AFS publishes some of the world's leading fisheries research journals.  
International Association of Aquaculture Economics and Management
http://www.uq.edu.au/aem/
A non-profit organization, IAAEM's major goal is to promote socio-economic research and information exchange on aquaculture through encouraging and fostering collaboration among economists, social and other scientists in aquaculture; encouraging international cooperation in research, teaching, and publication; sponsoring symposia, conferences, meetings, and other academic activities.  
World Aquaculture Society
http://www.was.org/main/FrameMain.asp
An international non-profit society with over 3,000 members in 94 countries.  The primary focus of was to improve communication and information exchange within the diverse global aquaculture community. 
 
Aquaculture Network Information Center
http://aquanic.org/
A gateway to the world's largest collection of aquaculture resources.  Resources include publications on species and systems and discussion groups.
Aquaculture Resources--National Agricultural Library
http://www.nal.usda.gov/afsic/afsaqua.htm
Contains links to aquaculture related internet sites, documents, and aquaculture related associations.
Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Aquatic Life
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/aquatic.html
Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.
Fisheries Global Information System
http://www.fao.org/fi/website/FIRetrieveAction.do?domtopic&fid16000
Provides access to the FAO Database on Introductions of Aquatic Species, which includes records of species introduced or transferred from one country to another.  This site also includes links to statistics, maps, and publications.
GPO Access Resources by Topic: The Environment
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/topics/environment.html
GPO Access resources from the U.S. government have been organized into various categories based on the feedback received for the site.
Scirus
http://www.scirus.com/srsapp/
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.  Can limit by information types, file formats, content sources, and subject areas.
Southern Regional Aquaculture Center
http://www.msstate.edu/dept/srac/
One of five regional aquaculture centers established by Congress.  

 

This page created and maintained by Jessica Buehring, Reference Services Librarian.
Created 07/01/04.