Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness Research Guide
This guide provides an introduction to some of the resources in the field of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness. These areas are closely related to a number of business and life science subjects. Users are encouraged to consult other research guides in these areas. Below you will find a list of print, online, and internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.
Related Research Guides: Economics
- AGRICOLA (available through EBSCO)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.
-
-
-
-
-
Business Source Complete
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides indexing to over 3,000 business journals, with full-text access to over 2,700 journals. The database also includes country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and Icon Group.
- CAB Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Abstracts and indexes research on agriculture, forestry, environment and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics and rural sociology.
-
-
-
-
- EconLit
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University.**
- A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
- JSTOR
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Provides Online archive of back issues in the social sciences and humanities. Provides full-text access to core economics journals such as the American Economic Review and the Journal of Economic Perspectives.
- Field Crop Abstracts. Wallingford: CAB International Information Services, 1948 to the present.
Ref SB183 .F5
- Monthly publication covering literature in agronomy, botany, physiology, yields and quality of all annual field crops, both temperate and tropical.
-
-
-
-
- World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts. Wallingford: CAB International Information Services, 1959 to the present.
Ref HD1415 .W67
- Monthly publication covering literature in agricultural economics and rural sociology. Abstracts are divided by broad topics, allowing for easy browsing. Includes an author, subject and serials index.
- Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook. Washington DC: International Monetary Fund. Annual.
Ref HF91 .I65
- Provides data on the country and area distribution of countries' exports and imports as reported by the country or their trading partner(s). Gives seven years of data for about 180 countries and two sets of world and area summaries: world and area trade as seen by the reported countries and as seen by the partner countries to those transactions.
-
-
-
-
- FAO Production Yearbook. Rome: Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Annual.
Ref HD1421 .F585
- A compilation of statistical data on basic agricultural products for all countries and territories of the world. Included are data series on area, yield and production of crops, livestock numbers and products, and data on population, land use, irrigation and farm machinery for 1998 to the present. Based on data from the FAO Statistics Division.
- FAO Trade Yearbook. Rome: Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Annual.
Ref HD9000.4 .F58
- Includes commodity trade tables (imports and exports, quantity and values) for the years 1997 to the present. Coverage includes all countries and territories of the world.
- Monthly Statistics of International Trade. Paris: OECD. Annual.
Ref HD91 .O672a
- Provides detailed information into the trading practices of OECD member countries. The data is broken down by economic groupings, by country and by region, and includes seasonally adjusted series as well as calculated indicators.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: G.P.O. Annual.
Ref HA202 .U82 (Ready Reference Desk)
- Contains data on social and economic conditions of the United States. National, state, and regional data or farmland, income, crops, livestock and poultry values, and imports/exports are available. Also available online at: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/.
-
AgNIC: Agricultural Network Information Center
http://www.agnic.org/
- Provides access to agricultural information, as developed by AgNIC partner universities and research centers. Resource pages provide annotated guides to a variety of agricultural topics. Resources may be searched by keyword or browsed via an alphabetical listing.
-
-
-
-
-
American FactFinder (AFF)
http://factfinder.census.gov
- The AFF serves as the online web portal for the U.S. Census Bureau. The AFF allows you to view, print, and download statistics about population, housing, industry, and business data. AFF allows the user to identify U.S. Census Bureau products, create reference and thematic maps, and search for specific data in the 1990 and 2000 Census, as well as the American Community Surveys and the 1997 Economic Census.
- Census of Agriculture
http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp
- Provides access to data such as land use and farm size, livestock and poultry production, market values of agricultural products, and production expenses at the national, state, and county level. Includes online access to the 1992 and 1997 Census of Agriculture, as well as preliminary information from the 2002 Census.
Country Data: Economic Statistics by Country
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/
- Online version of the CIA World Factbook. Data is updated periodically and includes international statistical and demographic information as well as online maps.
- Economic Report of the President
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/eop/
- Includes a pdf version of the most recent Economic Report of the President as well as full-text search engine which allows the user to search reports back to 1996 for terms. Includes statistical tables produced as an appendix to the report.
- Economic Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html
- Provides links to information on current economic indicators produced by a number of federal agencies.
-
-
-
-
- Mississippi Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/ms/
- Provides access to agricultural statistics related to Mississippi. Includes access to the official estimates index and county estimates, with five year crop averages. Also provides online access to a number of statistical publications related to Mississippi, such as the Mississippi Weekly Broiler Report.
- USDA Economics and Statistics System
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/
- Contains approximately 300 reports and datasets from the various economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Most datasets are in spreadsheet format and include time series data that are updated yearly.
-
-
-
-
- USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/
- Provides links to state agricultural statistics offices, NASS commodity and price data, and online access to a number of publications, including the annual publication Agricultural Statistics.
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance. Beaumont, TX: Cabell's Publishing Company, 2001. 2 Volumes, 8th ed.
Ref H91 .C334 2001-2002
- Provides basic information for journal titles in the area of economics and finance. Entrees include information on the publisher, acceptance rate of journals, editorial content and contact information
-
- Dictionary of Agriculture. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998. 2nd edition.
Ref S411 .D573 1998
- A comprehensive vocabulary of terms used in agriculture.
Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science. San Diego: Academic Press, 1994.
Ref S411 .E713 1994
- Provides encyclopedic coverage of the agricultural sciences, with 220 separate entrees.
-
-
-
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2001.
Ref H41 .I58 2001
- A 26 volume encyclopedia covering all aspects of the social sciences, including economics. Signed entries are written by prominent economists and include bibliographical references.
- Pearce, David W. The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1992.
Ref HB61 .P4 1992
- A concise economics dictionary, providing brief definitions for core topics.
-
-
-
-
- NAICS Desk Reference. Indianapolis, IN: JIST, 2000.
Ref HF1041.5 .N35 2000 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk.
- Provides an overview of the NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) structure, industry descriptions, and NAICS codes within industry groupings.
-
-
- The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics. London: Stockton Press, 1987.
- Ref HB61 .N49 1987
- The classic reference for economics, this four volume set provides extensive overviews of key economic concepts. Entries are signed by the contributor and include a bibliographical reference section.
- OECD Economic Surveys: Various Countries. Paris: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Call Number Varies--all issues are located in the Reference Room.
- The Economics Department of the OECD Secretariat produces annual reviews of member countries' economies, as well as for selected non-members. Cataloged separately, each issue includes an overview of economic developments, special reports on topics of interest, and extensive statistical information.
-
-
-
- AgriBIZ
- http://www.agribiz.org/
- Meta site providing access to resources of interest to the Agribusiness community.
International Food and Agribusiness Management Association
http://www.ifama.org/
- Provides access to the IFAMA professional site, including organization information and job announcements..
- EconPapers
http://econpapers.repec.org/
- The world's largest collection of online economic working papers. Replaces older services such as BibEC and WoPEc.
-
-
-
- MSU CARES: Coordinated Access to the Research and Extension System
http://msucares.com/pubs/
- Online access and index to the publications of the Mississippi State University Extension Service and the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station.
- Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research
- ** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
- Produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research. Working papers cover a variety of economic topics by leading economists.
- Department of Agricultural Economics
- http://www.agecon.msstate.edu/index.php
- Provides access to the Department of Agricultural Economics at Mississippi State University. Web site includes access to program details, faculty research, and related Mississippi agricultural information.
-
- American Agricultural Economics Association
- http://www.aaea.org/
- The major professional organization for agricultural economists. Provides access to membership and association information, career and educational opportunities and a comprehensive resource page.
-
-
- AEAweb (American Economic Association)
- http://www.aea.org/
- One of the largest economics organizations, the American Economic Association website provides access to information concerning the AEA, upcoming conferences, and publications.
-
- Departments of Agricultural Economics and Extension
- http://www.aeco.ttu.edu/Links/acadepts.htm
- Provides access to a hyperlinked listing of agricultural economics departments, both in the United States and internationally.
-
-
- Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE)
- http://www.aeaweb.org/RFE/
- One of the best places to begin your economics research, RFE is a metasite providing annotated links to a wide range of economics related resources.
-
-
This page created and maintained by Deborah Lee, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Library Instructional Services and the Corporate and Statistical Research Center.
Created 10/23/02.

