Other Helpful Resources

News

Spotlight

Agriculture Research Guide

This guide provides an introduction to some of the general resources in the field of agriculture.  Below you will find a list of print, online, and Internet resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains.  Please contact the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library, (662) 325-7667, or Email a Librarian for further assistance with any of these resources or with any questions.

Indexes and Databases Reference Books Web Resources

 
AGRICOLA (available through EBSCO)
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperat ing institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.  NAL also provides free access to AGRICOLA.
 
AGRIS/CARIS
http://www.fao.org/agris/search/search.do
AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology and contains references from over 240 different nations.
 
CAB Abstracts
Available electronically.
** For remote access, you must be affiliated with Mississippi State University. **
Covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Arntzen, Charles J. and Ellen M. Ritter.  Encyclopedia of Agricultural ScienceSan Diego, California: Academic Press, 1994.
This four volume set provides detailed scholarly encyclopedia entries on a variety of agricultural related topics.  
 
Lewis, Robert A.  CRC Dictionary of Agricultural Sciences.  Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2002.
Find the definition of over 15,000 agricultural related terms from the past and present.
 
Yuste, MariaPaz and Juan Gostincar.  Handbook of Agriculture.  New York, Marcel Dekker, 1999.
Filled with wonderful color photographs, this volume answers many basic questions concerning plants and soil sciences. 
General Resources

AgNic
http://www.agnic.org
The Agriculture Network Information Center, provides access to quality online agricultural information, on a wide variety of subjects.

 
Agripedia
http://www.ca.uky.edu/agripedia/
Developed by the College of Agriculture at the University of Kentucky, Agripedia is an online encyclopedia covering all aspects of agriculture.  
  
Browse Topics (Federal Government Resources): Agriculture
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/agricult.html
Provided in partnership with the Oklahoma State University Library, this site organizes Federal Government information by topic as recommended by Government Documents Librarians and other volunteer contributors.  
  
Image Gallery
http://www.ars.usda.gov/is/graphics/photos/
Search over 2,000 agricultural images taken by the Agricultural Research Service.  
 
MSUcares
http://msucares.com/
MSUcares is the combined website of the Mississippi State University Extension Service and the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station.  The site provides access to informative research reports as well as everyday information useful to Mississippians.  
 
The National Agricultural Law Center
http://www.nationalaglawcenter.org/
Based at the University of Arkansas, The National Agricultural Law Center provides a wide variety of research and information concerning agricultural law.  Numerous research reports and other important legislative material can be found on this site. 
 
U.S. Government Information by Topic: Environment, Energy & Agriculture
http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Environment_Agriculture.shtml
USA.gov is the official Web portal for the U.S. government. This site links to U.S. government information resources and services by topic.
Statistics
Mississippi Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/ms/
Find recent and historical data concerning Mississippi Agriculture.   
 
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service 
http://www.nass.usda.gov
This site contains a variety of agriculture related data, both recent and historical.  Also, the Census of Agriculture can be accessed from this site. 
  
Originally created by Sara Morris, created 03/10/04.
This page is maintained by the Reference Department.